Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

Can't blame them for trying. It's up to the NRL, ARU and FFA to make sure it doesn't happen.

Absolutely.

Interestingly McLachlan admits in the article that they've got a pretty small voice in it. Sounds to me like a concession they're unlikely to get what they want.

colly

the AFL are corrupt and will be paying off some politicians
The f**king arrogant VictorianS Fron the article McLachlan says, WE bring our own Turf........
"The plan would be to lay it down early in the week and then pick it, put it in a truck and take it home. It would be a couple of hundred thousand dollars cheaper to truck the turf in. The turf in Victoria belongs to us, it’s in a farm north one hour north of Melbourne' f**kw#t said

So pick up the NSWANZ turf> Dump it out the back, lay their own, play ,scratch it up again and f**koff. What about the NRL games. So we get a f**ked up toss about turf for our games . This is so f**ked I can hardly believe the NRL authorities would let this be.

Maybe pay wall?
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...m/news-story/97b5b8b51baffd4ca33777b42fc7c771

Timbo

People who are blowing their top - the NRL would do the same thing in other states. They're currently doing all they can to get the new Perth Stadium opened with a league game, after they (in conjunction with the ARU and FFA) made sure it was a design that could have seats 'bumped in' for rectangular codes.

It's not arrogance, it's smart business and looking after your product. The only sport that really does it well in this country is AFL.

axl rose

The AFL are still petitioning the NSW government to keep ANZ multipurpose.

“The NSW government know that we would like it to stay as an oval for things like a Sydney v GWS Preliminary final,” McLachlan said.

Funny how they completely rig the comp with salary cap concessions and what not so they know the finals fixtures years in advance.

Do cricket fans all over Sydney sook that a day out to a test match involves a walk or bus up a short hill and that Sydney's showpiece oval should be in the arse end of nowhere so that some people can get home slightly quicker?

M2D2

Considering that unless its the Ashes the SCG never sells out and that cricket is an all day sport which enables the stretching out of its 46k leaving and entering the area and its just over half of what the ANZ sells out at, ill just assume your geniused rhetoric of ignoring the fact that moore park is not capable of having a 65k+ stadium due to its infrastructure will continue.
Its location(both far away from transport and its CBD location) and its infrastructure(only buses/lightrail) from Central is extremely poor with no train station or bus network.

Are you being stupid and thick on purpose or does it come naturally to you?

M2D2

Mods why are trolls allowed to run rampant on this website?
black-kettle.jpg

Do cricket fans all over Sydney sook that a day out to a test match involves a walk or bus up a short hill and that Sydney's showpiece oval should be in the arse end of nowhere so that some people can get home slightly quicker?

I think we can all agree that ideally the closer to a major train station the better.

Footy is a product like all others, the more accessible it's is the more product you'll sell.

No point complaining that people are lazy, it's just a market reality.

And just because ANZ doesn't have much surrounding it doesn't mean it's "in the arse end of nowhere", it's clearly more accessible for most of Sydney.

Jamberoo

The f**king arrogant VictorianS Fron the article McLachlan says, WE bring our own Turf........
"The plan would be to lay it down early in the week and then pick it, put it in a truck and take it home. It would be a couple of hundred thousand dollars cheaper to truck the turf in. The turf in Victoria belongs to us, it’s in a farm north one hour north of Melbourne' f**kw#t said

So pick up the NSWANZ turf> Dump it out the back, lay their own, play ,scratch it up again and f**koff. What about the NRL games. So we get a f**ked up toss about turf for our games . This is so f**ked I can hardly believe the NRL authorities would let this be.

Maybe pay wall?
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...m/news-story/97b5b8b51baffd4ca33777b42fc7c771
VictorianS? We still doing that are we? Charming. No wonder most people outside NSW and Qld think that RL is full of dumb bogans.
Most Victorians wish there was no GWS, or AFL games @ ANZ anyway. We don't really care about AFL ''conquering'' NSW and Qld. We just want the best for our team. The AFL is national and its job it to grow their game. McLachlan is South Australian. Don't blame Victorians for the actions of the AFL and don't blame the AFL for the current position of the NRL. The blame for low crowds and poor stadiums lie with the NRL and its clubs.
Given that 90% of Sydneysiders prefer RL to AFL, but the Swans/Giants have the biggest crowds and memberships tells me that there needs to be a revolution soon or RL risks fading into irrelevance the way RU has. That Melbourne Storm is now the fourth biggest club (in terms of crowds and memberships) is an indictment on every other club - all of which are in RL heartland. The way things are going, maybe Sydney won't need any new rectangular stadiums.
Sorry for following more than one code of football.
Sorry for being Victorian. At least WE have our shit together.
Go the VictorianS, VictorianS, etc.

VictorianS? We still doing that are we? Charming. No wonder most people outside NSW and Qld think that RL is full of dumb bogans.
Most Victorians wish there was no GWS, or AFL games @ ANZ anyway. We don't really care about AFL ''conquering'' NSW and Qld. We just want the best for our team. The AFL is national and its job it to grow their game. McLachlan is South Australian. Don't blame Victorians for the actions of the AFL and don't blame the AFL for the current position of the NRL. The blame for low crowds and poor stadiums lie with the NRL and its clubs.
Given that 90% of Sydneysiders prefer RL to AFL, but the Swans/Giants have the biggest crowds and memberships tells me that there needs to be a revolution soon or RL risks fading into irrelevance the way RU has. That Melbourne Storm is now the fourth biggest club (in terms of crowds and memberships) is an indictment on every other club - all of which are in RL heartland. The way things are going, maybe Sydney won't need any new rectangular stadiums.
Sorry for following more than one code of football.
Sorry for being Victorian. At least WE have our shit together.
Go the VictorianS, VictorianS, etc.
Victorian alert