Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Blacklock Offers Wesser His Sympathy

Written by:League Correspondent

<table cellspacing=0 cellpadding=2 width="100%" align=center border=0> <tbody> <tr> <td colspan=3></td></tr> <tr> <td valign=top width="100%" colspan=3>
blacklock-jul03.jpg
Spurned by Queensland's Origin selectors, Rhys Wesser has been comforted by a man who knows how he feels, St George Illawarra winger Nathan Blacklock.
Blacklock declined to reveal what advice he gave Penrith's flashy fullback but his manager, Shaun Martin, confirmed on Wednesday Blacklock contacted Wesser with some words of encouragement.
"He wants to keep what he said to him (Wesser) private," Martin said.
"He's not keen to get into it publicly."
Blacklock always found himself on the outer when Origin came around despite being rated the most dangerous attacking player in the game.
When Blacklock continually missed Origin selection, fellow Aboriginal star Anthony Mundine suggested it was due to racial bias.
While overlooked for NSW, Blacklock did enough to impress the national selectors and played two tests for the Kangaroos in 2001.
There's no suggestion Wesser has been overlooked for any reasons other than normal selection criteria, but he may end up following the same path as Blacklock, with Kangaroos coach Chris Anderson recently saying the Penrith star was under consideration for his squad to take on the Kiwis later this month.
Blacklock's frustration with the Blues was one of the reasons he became disillusioned with rugby league after leading the NRL try-scoring list for three successive seasons between 1999 and 2001.
During that period NSW used Darren Albert, Matt Geyer, Adam MacDougall and Jamie Ainscough as its Origin wingers, Queensland winning two of the three series' despite losing five of the nine games.
Blacklock has scored an amazing eight tries in four games since re-joining the Dragons mid-season following a Super 12 stint with the NSW Waratahs.
Wesser's failure to win a spot in Queensland's 17-man squad for next Wednesday night's Origin III at Suncorp Stadium caused a storm south of the Tweed.
The howls of protest were even louder than those which followed the perceived snubbing of Canberra fullback Clinton Schifcofske after the Maroons were comprehensively outplayed in Origin I last month.
As the the NRL's leading try scorer with 17 tries, critics claimed Wesser deserved an Origin call-up.
NSW prop Robbie Kearns was one of several Blues players surprised Queensland did not opt for Wesser's try-scoring genius when they named their side this week.
"It's a bit weird in the sense that he (Wesser) is one of the form players of the competition," he said.
"Some of the games I have seen him this year, he's one of those freaks the game needs."
But clearly the Queensland selectors did not want to add another fullback to its 17-man squad which already contained north Queensland's electrifying but under-sized Matthew Bowen and Australia's top-rated No.1 Darren Lockyer.
They obviously preferred to stick with specialist wingers Matt Sing and Shannon Hegarty, neither of whom deserved to be dropped on form.
The other alternative, moving the world's best fullback Lockyer to five-eighth or even halfback to accommodate the lightning-quick Wesser, was never going to happen under coach Wayne Bennett. http://www.leagueunlimited.com/
</td></tr></tbody></table>

imported_midas

What,s the big deal ? Wesser is a fullback and Qld have the world,s best fullback,so Rhys has to wait his turn.
Blacklocks case was different inasmuch as his defence was regarded as inadequate and still is by most.
Even this year Blacklock has scored 8 tries but opposing wingers have put 8 on him which is hardly likely to impress the selectors.

the opposing wingers have put 8 on him? what games have you been watching?

his defence has been managable which is the most you can ask of him at the moment.

bottom line is this stat - saints average score without blacklock is 18.5, with blacklock it is 34.5. that's 16 points a game and the difference between winning and losing.

if blacklock was with the team from the very beginning of the season saints would be leading the comp right now.

midas: "...this year Blacklock has scored 8 tries but opposing wingers have put 8 on him ..."
Blacklock scored 8 tries and set up a plenty of others. His mere presence on the field gives the opposition headaches.

In defence, he has saved a number of tries...

Which 8 tries has Blacklock conceded?

As for Wesser, I would have thought he was an even chance for Qld winger.

imported_midas

MacDougall scored a hattie,Merritt a single,Donald a hattie,and Frawley a single.
That makes eight.
His attempted tackle on Frawley was pathetic and did not do his future rep chances any good.
You guys are trying to endow him with qualities he does not posess.He is a brilliant,unpredictable player, he can make tries out of nothing but cannot tackle.
Personally ,I would pick him anyway as both NSW and Australia appear to have enough on their respective opponents to compensate for an occasional defensive lapse and Blacklocks pure entertainment value would offset that.
However if selectors have a thing about his defence then I can,t argue with that.
As for Rhys Wesser ,I would have given him a run on the wing but the selectors have chosen wingers with more experience and pretty good form whereas Rhys has no experience or form on the wing.

imported_midas

realraul
In his pevious life ,Blacklock played four seasons (or more) with you guys and you didn,t manage to lead the comp at the end of any of those years.Lets not get too carried away.

imported_midas

I think if Anderson was a Blacklock fan then Nathan would have more than 2 Aussie jerseys in his wardrobe.
There was a rumour around that Anderson said "Never again" after Blacklock butchered a try against the Poms.

midas, you're comparing that Newcastle game in your stats? It shows that you pay too much attention and the Ch9 crew. Either that or did not watch the game very closely at all.

I watched it back a number of times and saw Newcastle constantly stacking the flanks... it was a good game plan and one that the centres were slow were react to... one of those centres for that match was Brent Kite who was hopelessly out of position all night. He failed to follow coaches' instructions and was dropped the following week.

Blacklock was often faced with 3 or 4 attackers and no cover defenders to assist. Have another look at the match as backrower Lance Thompson kept trying to race over to do the work of his centres.

You also fail to notice the tries that he has saved and the others he has set up.

I'm not here to say that Blacklock is a great defender... imo, he's an ok defender as wingers go and certainly better then a few other backs in the competition.

I can see when he misses a tackle but I can also see when one of the forwards misses a tackle. To say he lets in as many tries as he scores is just typical Blacklock bashing... based on hearsay.

If he signned to Parramatta next year, your mob would be calling it a major signing.

midas: "There was a rumour around that Anderson said "Never again" after Blacklock butchered a try against the Poms."
LOL. Interesting rumour... where'd you hear that?

imported_midas

the Anderson rumour was just that-a rumour ,but I heard it from a guy who is close enough to Anderson to get vilified along with him this year.
Honestly,if he came to Parra ,I would seriously question Smiths sanity because wingers don,t win comps.
I would much rather Parra sign Luke Bailey.If they have to rort the salary cap to get hjim then so be it.

Thanks for the reply, midas... but was it a reply...? no it wasnt... buts thats ok.

Smith won't be signing any Saints' players.
Players who being let go are often helpedin finding new clubs. atm, all roads lead to South Sydney and no one is about to do our mate Smithy any favours. BTW... that was another rumour. ;)

btw midas, Parra are chasing Blacklock and have offered hm 50K more than Souths have.

Saints havent made an offer yet....

...another rumour.

imported_midas

Now that,s one I haven,t heard.If it,s true (which with the greatest respect,I doubt) then I would seriously question Smiths sanity.He,s signed 3 forwards but realistically,we need another couple.Once you,ve got the pack right,the halves right and centres right ,then wingers become a bonus.
Still,he,s a crowd-pleaser and in view of Parra,s sagging attendances,that would be a good thing.
Maybe he had a chat with Preston Campbell and came to realise that true happiness is only possible in the Golden west.

imported_midas

looking at your assessment of the Dragons v,Knights game ,one question that needs to be asked is why did the Knights stack the flanks?
Was it because of inexperienced centres ?Was it because they felt the Dragons right-winger was suspect in defence? Or was it a combination of both ?
Anyway ,whatever the reason ,it worked and maybe they are the sort of questions that representative selectors ask.

Well Saints were without their regular centres that day. But not I'm pulling your leg or talking up Blacklock for entertianment value. I watched the game over and there was a problem out on the flanks. The problem was that Blacklock was almost constantly confronted by 3 blokes to tackle. It wasnt his doing.

Channel 9 in their wisdom questioned his defence but fair dinkum,we can't take what they say as gospel. I prefer my own eyes and believe or not, the blinkers are off on this occasion.

BTW, I find it a little hard to believe the Blacklock to Parra rumour as well but for different reasons.

In his pevious life ,Blacklock played four seasons (or more) with you guys and you didn,t manage to lead the comp at the end of any of those years.Lets not get too carried away.

if you look at the games the saints lost this season the thing which cost them was poor finishing. certain scoring opportunities were botched let alone capitalising on half chances. blacklock has shown that these won't be wasted anymore and if he was in the team most of those losses would have been wins.

and he hasn't let in 8 tries. maybe one or two.