What's new
The Front Row Forums

Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brendan Hall

Hi all,

Souths (who doesn’t ‘hate’ the Roosters) and general NRL fan here.
I’ve been collecting footy cards since I was 6 (1982) and make up full sets and sets of players (ie Mortimer, Sterling, Pearce etc). I’ve got hundreds of sets of players. One guy I have is Brendan Hall - he always had a card from 1987-1995, so to get a card you had to be good OR a club man.

So, out of interest, as he played in an era when Easts weren’t entirely the best, but must have been loyal, what kind of player was he? Is there memorable game(s) where he was a stand out? Was he a fan favourite? Anyone know what he does now? There’s not much on the internet about him so thought maybe some of you could enlighten me.

H.H

Juniors
Very good player. Debuted for us in '86 and had a break out year in '87 when we got within a game of the GF.

Real nuggety build, could hit like a forward. Underrated running game, ball skills probably not classic 5/8 standard but yeah a top player and tough as old boots as Artie used to say.

As for stand out games, I recall about 5 weeks into the '87 season we played the Tigers in a top of the table clash at Leichhardt. Our smaller forward pack belted them and even though he was 5/8, I clearly remember being there (I was 16) and him being right amongst it, dishing it out along with the likes of Gillmeister, Patterson and co.

horrie hastings

First Grade
Yes Brendon Hall was a very good player for Easts, as HH said he debuted for Easts in 1986, played a few games late in the season of 1986 and then 1987 was his break out season but it was such a year for Easts that year just about everything clicked and they had many exciting close wins.