Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Can we learn something from super rugby?

Making fun of the ARU's situation isn't fixing our game.

The lack of top level pathways is a real issue which Sydneysiders just don't get. Every player in Brisbane rejected by the Broncos has to weigh up travelling to another state to play, whether to play another sport instead or to stop playing altogether. In Perth they have to weigh up travelling across the continent on the chance that they make the grade. It needs to be fixed sooner rather than later.

How many people would play the game in Sydney if their only NRL team was the Roosters and the closest rivals were Newcastle and Melbourne?
You have just made the case for having another NRL club in Qld.

taipan

Making fun of the ARU's situation isn't fixing our game.

The lack of top level pathways is a real issue which Sydneysiders just don't get. Every player in Brisbane rejected by the Broncos has to weigh up travelling to another state to play, whether to play another sport instead or to stop playing altogether. In Perth they have to weigh up travelling across the continent on the chance that they make the grade. It needs to be fixed sooner rather than later.

How many people would play the game in Sydney if their only NRL team was the Roosters and the closest rivals were Newcastle and Melbourne?

Not a case of making fun, simply showing you can have money in the Bank and waste it, by firstly not looking after your heartland and going into expansion just because you think he time is ripe in non heartland areas.

IOW the NRL who are financially backing presently the Titans and Knights (to be sold),lending money to the Dragons and the Tigers ,which needs reimbursement.Putting money toward the Nth Qld stadium.Spending from 2018 an extra $100m pa on grassroots are being prudent and not spending money they don't have.Money is going into Fiji/PNG/women's rl/indigenous programmes/Men of League/health and well being programmes.

There's a pie ATM which is not the $2bn TV deal one til 2018, which has to be spread around.There is never enough .
We should have negotiated far bigger Tv pies in the past,instead d of being continually screwed, leaving us short on money dearly needed.

" The lack of pathways Sydneysiders don't get" Anyone who follows rl,knows grassroots is not getting the financial support they need and that includes Sydney teams.

If the Broncos hadn't decided to stuff things up in 1995 with being the SL instigator and cost the code around $25-$30m they had in their bank A/c, then perhaps another Brisbane side would have been operating.
The News Ltd Broncos wanted no competition as part of the peace deal.Perhaps look in your own backyard.

Rugby union has learnt a painful lesson with expansion ,ditto A league (GC and Nth Qld/CC/Newcastle.And the AFL with the Lions and the expensive exercise that is the Suns/GWS.
The NRL has a team in NZ.The AFL doesn't, the NRL has SOO the AFL/ARU/A League don't.
The ARU can't get on FTA .
This was the same mob John O'Neill stated in 2002 they would be no1 code in the NThn States and no 2 in the Sth/West states.So I will make fun of union,because they reaped what they sowed.

I want a 2nd Brisbane side so as I don't have to put up with the Broncos every week on friday nights.Also a Perth side.But not at the expense of current NRL clubs.

Lockyer4President!

C'mon now. That reads like something a bot would mash together.
There is more money in the game now than ever before yet NRL has fewer pathways for players in Brisbane and Perth than it did twenty years ago. Why?

You have just made the case for having another NRL club in Qld.
Yes. It's not just the pathways either. It's the $ from sponsors and fans the game is missing out on, some of which will flow to competing sports.

taipan

C'mon now. That reads like something a bot would mash together.
There is more money in the game now than ever before yet NRL has fewer pathways for players in Brisbane and Perth than it did twenty years ago. Why?

Yes. It's not just the pathways either. It's the $ from sponsors and fans the game is missing out on, some of which will flow to competing sports.

You obviously are oblivious as to what is outlaid and needs to be repaid in addition to what has been expended.
Of course there is more money, and there is higher expenditure.Guys now either get $1m 0r $600-$1m .

20 years ago the NRL did not have to bail out and own clubs like the Titans and Newcastle and continue to cover their costs.

Ask yourself where would the code be if the $30m had been available circa 1995 for development and/or expansioinseatd of being eaten up by a SL war of Ribot and Morgan's making.
Fewer pathways in Brisbane.BS .The GC has been added to the ranks for a start.The QLD Cup is going gangbusters.
Perth would not provide extra revenue for the tv last time as Ch9 alluded.Their current unemployment rate now the highest in the country.ATM having the Farce and Pirates there would be a sh*t fight for fans.
Too much XXXX mate.

If there is so much sponsorship around WTF did we not get a major for the Kangaroos.Every idiot who plays up off field means less sponsorship opportunities.

And fans would be missing out if they lost their team ,so as to please PR.You are deluded if you believe everything is rosy with the other codes and their expansions.Far from it.

Lockyer4President!

Are you self aware? Do you read the posts you're responding to?

The game had Brisbane2 and Perth 20 years ago. There is an order of magnitude more money in the game these days yet those pathways have not been re-opened despite player, fan and sponsor interest.
Why?

Fewer pathways in Brisbane.BS
Uh huh. I'm particularly interested to see how you managed to work this one out.

taipan

Are you self aware? Do you read the posts you're responding to?

The game had Brisbane2 and Perth 20 years ago. There is an order of magnitude more money in the game these days yet those pathways have not been re-opened despite player, fan and sponsor interest.
Why?

Uh huh. I'm particularly interested to see how you managed to work this one out.

LOL just LOL it's all about money .I am fully aware of what rugby league had prior to 1995.
Are you historically with it on SL? Or are you just plain oblivious to facts? Appears to be both.

You are painfully unaware the ARL had millions in the Bank prior to SL.All sucked up by greed.Packer insisting the ARL use up their funds ,to support him backing ch9.The code had money built up from cigarette sponsorship prior.

FYI I attended the first SL meeting at Shark's Leagues club ,when they decided to go to SL.I also attended the first SL game in Sydney SFS Sharks v Canberra from memory.I was pro SL ATT.

And after the 20 years and after the SL peace deal.And who owned the Broncos after the peace deal and wanted exclusively Brisbane access. Poor old Crushers had SFA chance to get established.Maybe if the Reds had told SL to get stuffed and remain with the ARL,they might be still here.
There was stuff all money around after the peace deal signed.News wasn't going to fork out more and the ARL had zero.

SL and ARL players were still receiving as per their contracts huge sums until their contracts expired.Both News and the ARL were committed to honour those contracts.

The famous Tv deals contracted after the peace deal.Woopee the NRL got a record $500m for 6 years with Gallop frothing with excitement,then a couple of months later the fumblers get $780m for 5 years, and so it continued.
Whilst News half owned the game,the code got screwed

I'm also aware of the later Tv deals contracted, the increase in players' wages and admin costs.Costs don't stay still.They may do so in Old.

I'm also clearly aware grassroots is not getting the financial support it needs.
Hence one of the reasons Grant (a Qlder BTW) is committing $100m pa from 2018 to grow the grassroots.

If you believe you are lecturing me about money available ,good luck.Ignoring the News/Broncos influence hardly surprising.

You have a choice spend $100m pa on grassroots or $100m pa on expansion clubs or flick a couple of NRL Sydney clubs.Yes there is money in a future fund, and so there should be.

The new comp for u20 players takes the pressure off them, with studies and being near families if possible.The health issues over the last few years of players are more important than your glib plenty of money available comment and supposed lack of pathways.

And TBH I'm not happy with the lack of expansion, but I understand where we were and where we are and what happened in between.

Brisbane and Crushers,now Brisbane and GC.Still two opportunities ATM.

I'm all ears ,spell out to us which Sydney NRL clubs you either want relocated or removed in order to expand based on the current NRL financials and to build pathways in Brisbane and Perth?

Lockyer4President!

The longer these posts get the more nonsensical they become...

Brisbane and Crushers,now Brisbane and GC.Still two opportunities ATM.
Are you aware that a) Brisbane and the GC are different cities and b) there was a GC team when we had two Brisbane clubs. That was three clubs providing pathways for ~2M people. Now there are two clubs (merely a couple of dozen professional positions) for nearly 4M people.

Also on this, the GC team was reintroduced ten years after the original GC club was killed. If that's possible then why haven't Brisbane2 and Perth been reintroduced?

No vision, no strategy and constantly underselling itself. Rugby league has a long and proud tradition of failure and the more things change the more they stay the same on our sport.

Afl revenue is $158mill a year more than NRL, why? That is why they can expand into a proper national comp with rivallary in the major cities and still bankroll their over serviced over saturated home market.

taipan

The longer these posts get the more nonsensical they become...

Are you aware that a) Brisbane and the GC are different cities and b) there was a GC team when we had two Brisbane clubs. That was three clubs providing pathways for ~2M people. Now there are two clubs (merely a couple of dozen professional positions) for nearly 4M people.

Also on this, the GC team was reintroduced ten years after the original GC club was killed. If that's possible then why haven't Brisbane2 and Perth been reintroduced?

And how far apart are these two cities travel wise? We saw the stuff ups with 3 SE QED teams ;The Crushers shagged soon after a ball kicked with ancient rl players and ru tryhards.The Broncs were never going to make it easy for the Crushers,even now they are hardly thrilled at new competition.
Great pathways.
The Chargers at least had money in the Bank and offered a pathway.

You need to keep up with the latest news or the UFC brawl between Grant and the 16 NRL clubs.Participation numbers are apparently down and Grant wants to switch promised funding to that are and screw the NRL clubs.

If the code hadn't got the money ATM to satisfy grassroots and 16 NRL clubs that now exist ,how on earth can they expand into new areas with this sh*t fight going on.
The money's not there Yogi Bear,

taipan

No vision, no strategy and constantly underselling itself. Rugby league has a long and proud tradition of failure and the more things change the more they stay the same on our sport.

Afl revenue is $158mill a year more than NRL, why? That is why they can expand into a proper national comp with rivallary in the major cities and still bankroll their over serviced over saturated home market.

$158m made up of what?

It's like being at Sydney Airport with all your perpetual whining.It's hard to distinguish an Airbus from a Boeing.

The NRL(Grant) and the 16 NRL clubs are currently in a sh*tfight because there is not the money to do what each wants to do and has been promised.They are also holding money aside for a future fund .

Fumbleball had the money via TV deals and memberships and crowds ,well before rugby league kicked their a*se into gear.They also had administrations who sucked up to Govts and got money allocated to new stadiums.Our admin sat on their butts .exepecting things to happen.Only now are we getting a decent stadium set up .
They also played the Robin Hood trick robbing the rich AFL clubs and giving it to the poor clubs.Hardly a genius move.And the fumbler clubs are still $90m in debt, with many poker machine backed.
And the AFL hasn't got two clubs which need to be sold ,to recoup at least $20m

We also had NRL clubs that relied solely on being saved by poker machine money ,which source is running low.

And despite all the crap,the NRL has a far more competitive competition than fumble ball,with different premiers each year and all bar the Knights capable of beating higher placed teams.
Expansion can water down your competitiveness .As shown also in union in this country.

Reality check if the money is not there and ATM it's not, if you had bothered to check the news of late, then expansion is the last thing that needs exploring.
Priorities are:
The CBA
The salary cap
Funding for grassroots
Sale of 2 NRL owned clubs
Then expansion.
Written spoken and authorised by Captain Obvious.

$158 mill difference a year, why?

The NRL has effectively faked up the chance of expansion by rushing into a ridiculous mou funding with clubs that will see a massive increase in club grants of up to $7million a club a year plus. No wonder it doesn't have enough money!

Looking at the figures just now I can see why there is no hope of expansion and it's got nothing to do with the fact the nrl's likely revenue of over $500mill a year by 2018 couldn't have afforded it.

taipan

$158 mill difference a year, why?

The NRL has effectively faked up the chance of expansion by rushing into a ridiculous mou funding with clubs that will see a massive increase in club grants of up to $7million a club a year plus. No wonder it doesn't have enough money!

Looking at the figures just now I can see why there is no hope of expansion and it's got nothing to do with the fact the nrl's likely revenue of over $500mill a year by 2018 couldn't have afforded it.

I'm asking what the $158m is made up from?

First it was Grant and Smith who spent money to save the Titans,whatever that has cost so far ,its taken out of the kitty.Ditto Knights.
You and I have lauded Smith for standing up to News fair enough, but it was Smith who appointed expensive nuffies costing the admin $5m pa, who have now left the organisation.That is money that could have been spent on 30 DOs,or insurance on country rl players, anyone's guess.

Don't throw all the blame on the clubs and we have had some dumbo club admins in the past(hello Eels,Sharks and Titans etc).Blame Grant for opening his gob and making last year an undertaking to provide clubs with 130% of the salary cap.He did this without knowing what the cap would be, without the CBA being decided, thinking the Titans and Knights would probably be sold, and then told grassroots club regos were down and realising the NRL would be taking over the digital side from Telstra in 2018.

Like a bloke(big noting) at the pub offers to shout his half dozen extremely thirsty mates, then realises he's only got enough money for two beers.

Your last para is BS ,expansion has all to do with money.If there is no money to support grassroots against competition,if you cannot fund your current clubs adequately how can your afford expansion short term.

Fumbleball had the money, which you continually concede and now you say it's not nothing to do with the NRL's"likely" revenue of $500m a year .

You probably were unaware for starters the NRL has to fund completely the digital side from Telstra from 2018.No doubt unaware people in the bush/regionals/and cities are screaming for grassroots funding.You bitch about lack of DOS in WA.It all costs.

Revenue goes up so does costs.You either look to reduce costs, or try secure funding from additional resources or offload to buyers, assets you didn't want to own (Titans and Knights).

Only one NRL club to my knowledge made money this year.That situation has to be reversed.

I think it's fair to argue every man Jack here wants a national comp with a Perth and Brisbane 2 added.But there is a lot of roadblocks (like ISIS mines) that have to be cleared first.

Lockyer4President!

And how far apart are these two cities travel wise? We saw the stuff ups with 3 SE QED teams ;The Crushers shagged soon after a ball kicked with ancient rl players and ru tryhards.The Broncs were never going to make it easy for the Crushers,even now they are hardly thrilled at new competition.
Great pathways.
The Chargers at least had money in the Bank and offered a pathway.

You need to keep up with the latest news or the UFC brawl between Grant and the 16 NRL clubs.Participation numbers are apparently down and Grant wants to switch promised funding to that are and screw the NRL clubs.

If the code hadn't got the money ATM to satisfy grassroots and 16 NRL clubs that now exist ,how on earth can they expand into new areas with this sh*t fight going on.
The money's not there Yogi Bear,

Can we just agree on some basic things?
-There is more money in the game than ever before.
-There are fewer pathways for players in Brisbane than there were twenty years ago.
-There are fewer pathways for players in Perth than there were twenty years ago.
-Brisbane and Perth have grown substantially in the last twenty years.
-The ARU has an equal amount of pathways in Brisbane and Melbourne as the much larger and better funded NRL.
-The ARU has more pathways in Perth than the much larger and better funded NRL.
-Brisbane, the undisputed home of rugby league in Australia, has the same number of professional player pathways as Melbourne, a city that is generally apathetic or even hostile towards the NRL.

Nothing you disagree with there, surely. Yet according to you it's impossible to fix this situation or even match the much smaller ARU in Perth. This is despite the fact that the Gold Coast also had their club taken from them and just ten years later it was reinstated.

I'm an optimistic person, instead of telling us how 1>2 or sharing more well known SL era trivia maybe you'll surprise everyone this time and address the actual topic.

$158m made up of what?

It's like being at Sydney Airport with all your perpetual whining.It's hard to distinguish an Airbus from a Boeing.

The NRL(Grant) and the 16 NRL clubs are currently in a sh*tfight because there is not the money to do what each wants to do and has been promised.They are also holding money aside for a future fund .

Fumbleball had the money via TV deals and memberships and crowds ,well before rugby league kicked their a*se into gear.They also had administrations who sucked up to Govts and got money allocated to new stadiums.Our admin sat on their butts .exepecting things to happen.Only now are we getting a decent stadium set up .
They also played the Robin Hood trick robbing the rich AFL clubs and giving it to the poor clubs.Hardly a genius move.And the fumbler clubs are still $90m in debt, with many poker machine backed.
And the AFL hasn't got two clubs which need to be sold ,to recoup at least $20m

We also had NRL clubs that relied solely on being saved by poker machine money ,which source is running low.

And despite all the crap,the NRL has a far more competitive competition than fumble ball,with different premiers each year and all bar the Knights capable of beating higher placed teams.
Expansion can water down your competitiveness .As shown also in union in this country.

Reality check if the money is not there and ATM it's not, if you had bothered to check the news of late, then expansion is the last thing that needs exploring.
Priorities are:
The CBA
The salary cap
Funding for grassroots
Sale of 2 NRL owned clubs
Then expansion.
Written spoken and authorised by Captain Obvious.

Check the annual reports, the $158mill comes from pretty much every revenue generating area they are performing better in.

Your assertion is that $500mill in 2018 isn't enough to afford all those things and expansion. My assertion is extra clubs and games brings in more revenue, thus paying for itself (evidence afl expansion), a more reasonable increase to clubs grants than $7mill a year would have left more in the kitty, $100mill ayear extra on grass roots seems massive in comparison to what any other code leading body is putting in, and I suspect is probably more to do with funding the new second tier competition than actual grass roots.

Can you put a link to the digital issue, what do you mean the NRL has to pay for it?
didn't the new media deal include money from Telstra for digital coverage?

And again no one is suggesting new teams next season, the planning for expansion should have commenced in 2013 with the serious increase in tv money and independent running of the game. As it is either it will be rushed with little planning in 4 or 5 years time or we might start planning then for clubs in 7 or 8 years.

taipan

Can we just agree on some basic things?
-There is more money in the game than ever before.
-There are fewer pathways for players in Brisbane than there were twenty years ago.
-There are fewer pathways for players in Perth than there were twenty years ago.
-Brisbane and Perth have grown substantially in the last twenty years.
-The ARU has an equal amount of pathways in Brisbane and Melbourne as the much larger and better funded NRL.
-The ARU has more pathways in Perth than the much larger and better funded NRL.
-Brisbane, the undisputed home of rugby league in Australia, has the same number of professional player pathways as Melbourne, a city that is generally apathetic or even hostile towards the NRL.

Nothing you disagree with there, surely. Yet according to you it's impossible to fix this situation or even match the much smaller ARU in Perth. This is despite the fact that the Gold Coast also had their club taken from them and just ten years later it was reinstated.

I'm an optimistic person, instead of telling us how 1>2 or sharing more well known SL era trivia maybe you'll surprise everyone this time and address the actual topic.

1) yes:some .Quite bit tied up however in financing two clubs ,and lesser amounts for another two Sydney joint ventures.
2) temporarily yes with the Crushers .
3)Game has at last reports in WA, as many playing now as when Reds in vogue.Perth would still be around if not for SL.That has zero to do with Grant and the current mob.
4) So has Sydney grown in the last 20 years.Number of pathways in Sydney have dropped substantially in that time.Bears,joiint ventures.
5) When citing the ARU in support, you lose credibility.The ARU has 5 Super clubs in this country.They are either basket cases or losing money hand over foot.Grassoots ru is being screwed financially to assist head office.Ask union tragics like Papworth,they say the grassroots(pathways) is being rogered.

6)Move the Storm to Brisbane ,if the money is not available as a last resort..I keep repeating grassroots finance ATM is the problem where the code's admin has stuffed up and neglected.That takes money lots of it.
It's no good having pathways if your grassroots is withering

FWIW I send and have sent money overseas to help expand the code, small though it may be.I am therefore just as keen on expanding a game I grew to love ,moving from that other pompous code,whether it be in WA ,Brisbane or Germany as you or any other rl fan for that matter..

The topic is about can we learn something from Super rugby .I responded accordingly ,then expanded in response to other comments.It happens in debates,maybe that will sink in.

taipan

Check the annual reports, the $158mill comes from pretty much every revenue generating area they are performing better in.

Your assertion is that $500mill in 2018 isn't enough to afford all those things and expansion. My assertion is extra clubs and games brings in more revenue, thus paying for itself (evidence afl expansion), a more reasonable increase to clubs grants than $7mill a year would have left more in the kitty, $100mill ayear extra on grass roots seems massive in comparison to what any other code leading body is putting in, and I suspect is probably more to do with funding the new second tier competition than actual grass roots.

Can you put a link to the digital issue, what do you mean the NRL has to pay for it?
didn't the new media deal include money from Telstra for digital coverage?

And again no one is suggesting new teams next season, the planning for expansion should have commenced in 2013 with the serious increase in tv money and independent running of the game. As it is either it will be rushed with little planning in 4 or 5 years time or we might start planning then for clubs in 7 or 8 years.

In 2018 the NRL takes over the running of the digital dept from Telstra ,that was "asserted" by Greeberg.
It was always the case the NRL would eventually run their own digital dept, with all the new techs coming in.

My assertion is and it has been publicly spelt out,all clubs except the Broncs are losing money.Sydney clubs $30 odd million.

My assertion is the NRL has financially paid for two clubs,fiancially assisted two clubs.My assertion is grassroots in this country has been neglected ,in a Trump like description.That takes money heaps of it, where the AFL spends like there is no tomorrow.Grassoots registered club numbers are down.

You complained about the lack of DOs in WA.They are not charity workers.

Smith and he did a few good things, cost the code according to the media (which I cannot prove or otherwise) $300m by flogging off to ch9 and leaving News out.PLus $5m a year for high flyers at head office ,who showed SFA for their efforts.He also spent $500,000 on a SCG feasibility study for as new SFS,which was non returnable if it didn't go ahead.
Plus millions ot assistance to the 4 clubs ,that is too be returned either via sales or loan repayments.

Gyngell stated he did not see any financial of significance with an extra slot.TV stations FTA pay what they can afford, and they are struggling ,and Rupert had his t*ts in a knot the NRL was hardly his love child.

I assert that is $55m per year the code had forgone for a start ,which could have had the Pirates and Banana 2 ready to roll.

I also assert that it is easy to just sit back and say the code earns X,therefore has the funds to do X plus.Without knowing what the new salary cap is, what monies and I understand $100m extra to grassroots,and all the other expenses that are thrown in, even to the extent of insurances,infrastrucuture such as Nth QED new ground.It's pie in the sky stuff guessing the money is there.

There may well have been money outlaid for the NSWRL new Govt assisted funded premises being built at Homebush.

If the money was there, unless the ARLC are p*ssing it up against a wall, grassroots would not be complaining about the lack of support.I know it's all about Perth ,stuff the grassroots.

Here's a consideration, two of the biggest grass roots participation team sports in the country (soccer and netball) get no money from their governing bodies. Maybe RL's lack of growth has little to do with $'S and more to do with a pathetic leadership, self interest at a state level and lack of comprehensive growth plan? When you consider we have both the NRL and pokie dens ploughing tens of millions into grass roots the returns seem inadequate?

I'm all for grass roots funding, I'm all for existing clubs getting a decent slice of the pie, I'm all for chucking god knows how much to get NRL badges on the touch footy website, I just think with the massive revenue increase the game has seen since 2012 it shouldn't have been beyond expectation to put together an expansion strategy for the top level that was developed and IMplimented leading to two or even four new clubs within an announced timeline, thus leveraging more money from the 18-23 tv deal like afl managed to achieve by planning expansion way back when and having the ninth game to sell this time around.

Gygnel raised the value of second team in Brisbane (http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...nrls-pay-tv-negotiations-20151016-gkapk2.html ) but again it should be the NRL dictating the value of a ninth game, do you really think afl went and asked seven if they would pay more money to have another Sydney and GC club in the comp?

By digital department do you mean NRL website? Telstra has just paid for digital rights in the deal so can't be the actual,coverage surely? If it is just the website how much can that cost to run???

Lockyer4President!

1) yes:some .Quite bit tied up however in financing two clubs ,and lesser amounts for another two Sydney joint ventures.
2) temporarily yes with the Crushers .
3)Game has at last reports in WA, as many playing now as when Reds in vogue.Perth would still be around if not for SL.That has zero to do with Grant and the current mob.
4) So has Sydney grown in the last 20 years.Number of pathways in Sydney have dropped substantially in that time.Bears,joiint ventures.
5) When citing the ARU in support, you lose credibility.The ARU has 5 Super clubs in this country.They are either basket cases or losing money hand over foot.Grassoots ru is being screwed financially to assist head office.Ask union tragics like Papworth,they say the grassroots(pathways) is being rogered.

6)Move the Storm to Brisbane ,if the money is not available as a last resort..I keep repeating grassroots finance ATM is the problem where the code's admin has stuffed up and neglected.That takes money lots of it.
It's no good having pathways if your grassroots is withering

FWIW I send and have sent money overseas to help expand the code, small though it may be.I am therefore just as keen on expanding a game I grew to love ,moving from that other pompous code,whether it be in WA ,Brisbane or Germany as you or any other rl fan for that matter..

The topic is about can we learn something from Super rugby .I responded accordingly ,then expanded in response to other comments.It happens in debates,maybe that will sink in.

Okay, so my optimism was misplaced, that's a shame.
I mean, really, look at what you posted. Suggesting we move MEL to BNE, claiming Sydney suffered similar pathway loses to Brisbane and Perth, ignoring the magnitudinal increase in revenue, ignoring the example of the Gold Coast and again continuing to live in the past, sharing more personal anecdotes/useless trivia.
Answer honestly, were you drinking when you posted that? It's as if you're simply not understanding the discussion at all.

I'll reiterate something from earlier in the thread, maybe it'll help if you read it again. As long as the current situation exists where the ARU provides equal or more pathways than the NRL does we'll continue to lose potential players, fans and sponsors. Burying your head in the sand and trying to score some cheap shots on the internet at the ARU's expense isn't fixing our game.

taipan

Not misplaced one iota,.to be a rl fan, you have to be an optimist.I've been a bleeding optimist for decades.

Melbourne to Brisbane was sarcasm mate FFS.In fact I had a email argument with FitzSsimons on that very score, when he stated the Storm would have to relocate to the CC.

The ARU are losing players at grassoots fans and money, how many time does it take .They don't have the money to invigorate their grassroots base.

We are dealing with pathways and you bring up the make up in the magnitude of money.
You are ignoring (probably the Brisbane effect)the lost pathways for players in Sydney and areas such as Nth Sydney with a population near 1 million ,taking in the CC,that went ,losing players,fans ,and a struggling junior league.
Joint ventures reduce pathways ,with one club instead of two.
In fact I attended a Giants game at the old Seagulls stadium between them and the Bulldogs eons ago, much to my wife's disgust whilst on holidays.

Factual shots are not cheap shots .The ARU was brought upon as the example,I begged to differ.

Burying my head in the sand LOL,I played ru for 6 years and rl for one.I care not for union now,I admire their International status ,that is all.

The NRL today has brought in a new rules setup for kids to stop the loss at grassroots level.Work is being done.That BTW costs money.

And assuming because the NRL has received X amount ,as a consequence it can do this ,and that and that again,without knowing the full details and costs involved, is also burying ones head in the sand.If it were that easy, we wouldn't be arguing the point.Eg How much does staffing the new Digital Section of the NRL cost?
We can all be armchair generals sitting on our backsides, but if we don't know the make up of our troops and the positioning of the opposition we may as well retreat.