Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Just end it

snout

State of origin.

A concept which started - and flourished- in the 80's when QLD players went to NSW to make their name and were forced to play for NSW.
All of a sudden players we never saw like Miles Lewis Cornescu and Meninga were seen 3 times a year as two states went head to head.

Loved it.

Thing is - once the Broncs entered the comp we now see these players every week.

The concept should've ended then.

Is there any other elite competition in the world which takes its best players mid year and flogs the shit out of them before sending them back to their clubs?

The Cowboys year is over.
Done.
Dusted.
They ill make the semis and be hard to beat each week but without Thurtson?.....ppffhht.

He was weeks away from being right but came back against Parra in Darwin.
Got bashed and then plays this meaningless mid year comp. why?
His state needed him.

The states a winner.
QRL is a winner.
Channel 9 is a winner.
Qld fans are winners.

Trouble is...his club who pay him a mil a year to win the comp have lost him.
For the year.
His employers are the losers.
And their fans.

All for what?
A 3 game competition.
3 games!...at the expense of a 26 round competition.

Paul Green must be shattered.
JT wouldn't have come back early and he would have been there til the end of the season.

Are they compensated?
Is there insurance?
Can they sue?

Will a club eventually ban their players from this interference into the main competition?

What if we did.

What would the result be?

We'd skate through this period at full strength.
Our players would have their minds on THIS comp.

However, financially theyre 30K worse off a game which raises all sorts of problems.

Play the firkin thing after the GF.

Or just firk it off all together.

carinashark

Agree, but maybe we could limit how many from each club. We suffered against Manly with so many used, and risked. I don't like pre season comps either. get the game out into the bush. Just play more games away at country centres instead. God knows they need it in the country towns. But we all know how much the ARL / channel 9 make out of it so no way they will let it go.

webShark

Cant agree.

There is not enough interest in general rounds to stop Origin.

Maybe compo for clubs or break for Origin.

Most overseas sports dont get such pathetic crowds.

We have benefitted from having few absentees for Origin over the years. Cant complain now.

At least Origin is compelling.

Players can get injured in multiple ways outside Origin.

The atmosphere at Origon is electric.

Sharks yesterday had no atmosphere. More noise at U11 netball.

Different rules from the whistle blowers during the Origin too.
Both sides get away with a lot of shit in SOO whereas back in the ordinary rounds all they have to do is fart and the whistle shrieks.

One game/season played the week after the GF. Rewards players in better performing clubs. Train on squads for others. Doesn't interfere with main comp. Acts as a selection trial for any following international matches.

I like it on the night...until we lose

But yeah it f**ks the good teams

Manly are touted as giant killers after beating us
Yet our best 5 players were absolutely flogged.

And they'll be all missing again next week?

Inferno

Unless the players are prepared to take a 25% paycut there is no way Origin as a yearly contest will ever be removed.

It is the Crown Jewel of the entire NRL playing calendar.

The NRL should cut an event watched by sold out crowds and millions on TV so that Wests Tigers v Titans can draw 8000 instead of 6000
Ya reckon?

the scheduling is bog

Wednesday nights suck

Make it a bye week and have it on a Saturday night

Stake Removed

Either SOO played on stand alone weekend, that means players can play on weekend before no club effected.

Or go to original rule when origin came in NSWRL only used it, players would play on weekend, and then ruled out for origin on wednesday if not fit, the reverse that happens now, they play SOO first then ruled out after that injured for clubs.

Maccas4177

Only exciting things was Lewis sprint & the marriage proposal.
You'd think when the team announcement was read out, and in particular Feki's 100th game and Graham's 150th were mentioned that there'd be some sort of cheer or clap. Nothing. Nada, Zip.
Was pathetic actually.
I imagine these dudes can hear what's going on from the change room. If I was a player and heard a massive cheer when my name was read out it would pump me up for sure.