Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

SJ.

Penrose Warrior

Should’ve been ten in the bin. Fines and suspensions don’t help us
Exactly. Clear foul play whether it was targeted on a player who was injured or not.

But it's a Rooster so no one minds too much.

I'm sure other sports are bad but I can't think of many in the world that are so unconsciously, or potentially even consciously as biased in its decision making as the NRL

Penrose Warrior

Sorry mate awful typo on my part, Roosters offered 850
Wow. That is a big carrot, when I reckon we'll give him a year and he's done. Obviously committed to NZ and the Warriors, I guess his wife playing netball is part of the picture, too and them having two young ones that are settled here.

Beavers Headgear

Yep family you would think would be the main reason considering what Politis can do you for post footy. Guess the Warriors have had to come to the party with at least 700-750 now though

Not often the Roosters miss, and that’s Gagai, Johnson and Fifita all turning them down

Beavers Headgear

We’ve been told the Chooks discussed offering Johnson an eye-watering $850,000-a-season two year deal only for the Warriors halfback to reject the big-money play because at the age of 33 the playmaker wants to remain at home in New Zealand.

The Johnson approach was made the week before Luke Keary announced his retirement at the end of this season with the money offered the equivalent of Keary’s contract next year.

The Warriors halfback is currently on a deal worth around $550,000-a-season so you’d think the Roosters offer may have turned his head.

But when Johnson informed the Warriors of the Chooks offer he was adamant he wanted to remain at home in Auckland and ended up on a deal worth around $700,000.

The lower tax rate in New Zealand means the Roosters needed to bump their offer up to try and entice the playmaker.

Manu Vatuvei

Bit of scurrilous forum gossip...I personally doubt it will happen, but if the Warriors don't come to the party with a bigger offer for SJ for 2025 (he's been on modest money since 2022 and there's no suggestion it will increase) he might be off to the Roosters. Keary won't be around next year.

I'm not one to toot my own horn (j/k I obviously am) but I'd just like to note my reliability as a source, this wasn't anywhere in the media at the time ;)

Yep family you would think would be the main reason considering what Politis can do you for post footy. Guess the Warriors have had to come to the party with at least 700-750 now though

Not often the Roosters miss, and that’s Gagai, Johnson and Fifita all turning them down
I reckon theRoosters dodged 3 bullets there.

2 are injury prone and Fifita doesnt seem like a player that would want to work particular hard at his game. Wouldnt last 2 weeks at the Storm

SpaceMonkey

Yes and no. No I don’t know of a better option available to us right now, yes I do think in the 6 years and counting since 2018 we should’ve come up with something better than ‘SJ until he drops dead on the field’.
Well, we f**ked him off, it didn’t work, got him back and it kinda did… so I get what you’re saying but we’ve kinda committed to that one at this point.

Penrose Warrior

Well, we f**ked him off, it didn’t work, got him back and it kinda did… so I get what you’re saying but we’ve kinda committed to that one at this point.
I mean, it massively worked last year. If we'd had a top level pack in front of him, we could have been a premiership threat. So he signed on again this year, and the issues have been far reaching, but very little to do with him.

I'd agree we need to look at whether it's viable that he plays on with an ever-increasingly disfunctional body in 2025, and whether there's an option out there that could come in and do a job. A lot easier said than done.

SJ/Volkman will do us for now. That's if Volkman would like to come back.
There is nobody else that's available.
I don't think we will have Jett Cleary first grade ready before he leaves us, I feel this is a waste of time.
Any unhappy half-backs out there? Please stand up.