Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 1 2015 Team

Y2Eel

But you think Leva f**king Li is first grade standard? Great judge you are.

So lets waste money on someone that has played first grade and failed been at 2 clubs previously or a Jnr with actual try scoring ability..

Yeah we will be better next year without Hayne ..

Just remember you rated Keating....

Y2Eel

We will be better off when we have a decent;

Assuming Hoppa to fullback and Semi stays on the wing..

A combo of Sandow Norman Champion Robinson Takirangi will not win a chook raffle..

We will be better off when we have a decent;

Assuming Hoppa to fullback and Semi stays on the wing..

A combo of Sandow Norman Champion Robinson Takirangi will not win a chook raffle..

but apparently we are much better off without the Special One

So we let young Li go but sign a cat and a plodder like Reece Robinson :lol::lol:

From the sounds of 40/20 this season Li was one of the big improvers in the squad and was worthy of being retained. Why keep a kid with first grade potential when we can sign a recycled failure.

So lets waste money on someone that has played first grade and failed been at 2 clubs previously or a Jnr with actual try scoring ability..

Marmin Barba scored plenty of tries in under 20s and in the same team Daniel Tupou scored f**k all. Under 20s isn't a reliable place to judge talent.

Yeah we will be better next year without Hayne ..

He didn't exactly lift the players around him. And with him gone we will now be able to attract legit hard merkins to the club. This is the catalyst for the culture change we needed.

Just remember you rated Keating....

So did three NRL coaches. He was our starting hooker last time we made the finals. Unfortunately the game evolved and you can no longer have a cheap 40 minute support player and tackling machine starting in the 9 with a 40 minute dummy half runner coming off the bench.

These days you need an 80 minute tackling machine who makes decisions in attack.

So we let young Li go but sign a cat and a plodder like Reece Robinson :lol::lol:

From the sounds of 40/20 this season Li was one of the big improvers in the squad and was worthy of being retained. Why keep a kid with first grade potential when we can sign a recycled failure.

For this reason -

Established backs certain for first grade-Hoppa-Semi.Age 22....Plenty of first grade in them.

Can do a job- Morgan-Toutai-Champion-Takarnagai-Faraimo-Robinson-Hunt.Beu the oldest at 27.Still plenty of life in these guys if called upon will go ok.

Up and comers - Falou-Davis-Goodal-Lavaka-Crooks....

Thats 14 players to fill 10 spots in wenty and first grade.Davis only one still eligble for under 20's.
Im guessing they rated Goodal-Lavaka-Falou-Davis-Crooks as better prospects of young guys coming thru than LI.If all become first graders we can only accomdate 3 long term.And there all probably only 1 -2 years away from either beeing good enough or not making it.
The question is how HIGH to they rate-Davis,Goodal etc... If they really beleive they will be good enough than i understand the logic in who they have signed.I mean why develop LI any further for another club too sign.
May as well have a guy who is ready for first grade NOW when NEEDED till our better prospects develop

Forty20

Li did impress me in the back half of the season after a quiet debut. Great power through contact and a prolific offloader but probably lacking a yard of pace. I would have liked to have kept him at Wenty but if retaining Lavaka and Folau meant losing Li, so be it.

Now as for how I think our line up will be come Round 1, 2015:

1. William Hopoate
2. Semi Radradra
3. Brad Takairangi
6. Corey Norman
7. Chris Sandow
8. Tim Mannah
9. Nathan Peats (c)
10. Junior Paulo
11. Kenny Edwards/Tepai Moeroa
12. Manu Ma'u
13. Anthony Watmough

14. Kenny Edwards/Tepai Moeroa
15. David Gower

Forwards in contention: Daniel Alvaro, Richard Fa'aoso, Darcy Lussick, Lee Mossop, Pauli Pauli, Danny Wicks

Backs in contention: Beau Champion, Ben Crooks, Bureta Faraimo, John Folau, Fabian Goodall, Halauafu Lavaka, Ryan Morgan, Reece Robinson, Vai Toutai

Spine players in contention: Isaac De Gois, Ryan Matterson, Kaysa Pritchard

Other merkins: Mitchell Allgood, Justin Hunt, Luke Kelly, Cody Nelson, Joseph Paulo, Peni Terepo etc

1 wing, 1 centre and 2 prop positions are available by my reckoning. I honestly think it will come down to trial form but as of now I am leaning towards Champion and Goodall taking the spots in the backline. The forwards are much harder to pin down in my opinion but I think Fa'aoso (pending how his neck holds up) will probably get a spot.

I don't think De Gois and Pritchard don't have much of a chance in nabbing a bench utility spot and will simply have to count on injury to Peats to break into the team. Matterson is an equally long shot at this stage but he also could be viewed as a middle half (unlikely) which could see him take a place on the bench.

have the club said they are not re-signing Li ?

or is every one just assuming we aren't ?

Y2Eel

Marmin Barba scored plenty of tries in under 20s and in the same team Daniel Tupou scored f**k all. Under 20s isn't a reliable place to judge talent.

He didn't exactly lift the players around him. And with him gone we will now be able to attract legit hard merkins to the club. This is the catalyst for the culture change we needed.

So did three NRL coaches. He was our starting hooker last time we made the finals. Unfortunately the game evolved and you can no longer have a cheap 40 minute support player and tackling machine starting in the 9 with a 40 minute dummy half runner coming off the bench.

These days you need an 80 minute tackling machine who makes decisions in attack.

Marmin was never going to get it together to make it in first grade...

Topou you could tell was going to crack it..

Well only DA and Kearney Sticky told him to go....

I tend to agree with Robinson on the wing we lack experience in that position, play him until a Jnr is better...

Jodeci

Marmin was never going to get it together to make it in first grade...

Topou you could tell was going to crack it..

Well only DA and Kearney Sticky told him to go....

I tend to agree with Robinson on the wing we lack experience in that position, play him until a Jnr is better...

Can you stop talking sense mate

Your embarrassing yourself.

Li lacks the physicality for first grade. Faraimo is at least physically powerful.

Leva Li might have made good metres and thrown plenty of offloads in the NYC, but a big part of that was enthusiasm, and an even bigger part was the quality of the defence he was facing.

To compare Li and Faraimo right now, Bureta would have scored 40 tries if he had played under 20s this year plus carried the ball for 300 metres every single week.

I'm not saying Faraimo's a first grader, but he's got a lot more going for him than Leva Li.

I think Goodall will become a first grade winger for sure (though not necessarily rep class), and maybe Folau and Lavaka will become first graders too. But I would be shocked if Li ever makes a single NRL appearance in his career. In fact I'd be surprised if he even plays NSW Cup next year.

Y2Eel

Li lacks the physicality for first grade. Faraimo is at least physically powerful.

Leva Li might have made good metres and thrown plenty of offloads in the NYC, but a big part of that was enthusiasm, and an even bigger part was the quality of the defence he was facing.

To compare Li and Faraimo right now, Bureta would have scored 40 tries if he had played under 20s this year plus carried the ball for 300 metres every single week.

I'm not saying Faraimo's a first grader, but he's got a lot more going for him than Leva Li.

I think Goodall will become a first grade winger for sure (though not necessarily rep class), and maybe Folau and Lavaka will become first graders too. But I would be shocked if Li ever makes a single NRL appearance in his career. In fact I'd be surprised if he even plays NSW Cup next year.

You are not comparing them you are making figures up...

I doubt Faramio is looked as a lng term prospect. I reckon goodal and davis are.Falou id say club are not sure about but wanting too see in 12mths time same as Lavaka