Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured/Confirmed Signings and More Crap XVIII

If Seph and Gower are at the club in 2016 and Pauli isn't my opinion on BA would change very fast.

what are overs???

We'll never know the figure, but if he signs elsewhere for 2016 and beyond we'll know it means he was asking for more than we wanted to pay.

How do you know what we are going to pay for him??? What are overs for a guy who is potentially one of the best forwards in the comp??? We are paying around 400k for a massive plodder like Darcy Lussick, you had no problems with us paying that money when your Buddy Kearney signed him.

How do you know how much Lussick is on?

I agree Lussick is almost certainly on overs (he's on a lot more than Manly wanted to pay) but we had to pay overs for players in 2012 when we signed Lussick, just to get some quality into the squad. We don't have to pay overs any more which is why I don't think we will. Do you understand nobody pays overs unless they have to?

There are other clubs who are desperate for a strike forward and they are likely to offer Pauli more than us.

You also were glad we got rid of Hayne as well, perhaps you won't be happy till we fill the side with Salty plodders???

I hope we sign a half with proven leadership ability, and I have no doubt we'll have to pay overs for one. It's probably the only position where we should pay overs.

So if we're going to pay over $1M for Keiran Foran we don't want to also pay that much for Israel Folau or $500k for Pauli Pauli.

You need 2 x factor players in your squad.It may mean back ending and suffering later on but if it means winning a comp every 7-8 yrs rather than finishing top 5 every year than your better off. Build a team-back end-try and win comp in that 2 yrs period,Suffer for 2 yrs rebuild and go again. Seems the only way to do it.

I agree 100%

My point is we don't know how much Pauli or anyone else off contract is asking. But the club does. If they let him go it's stupid to criticise without knowing all the facts, and we'll never know all the facts. So shut your shit mouths.

Craig Johnston

I really rate Reece. He will be the surprise package of the season. Can do everything Ken Sio can do but with more strength and pace and a whole lot cheaper too.

not really ken sio was consistent at least with yardage and helping out from kick returns, this is a real weakness for robinson.

natheel

not really ken sio was consistent at least with yardage and helping out from kick returns, this is a real weakness for robinson.

honestly i think Toutai will help in the kick return area. Won't be surprised if he gets the centre/wing position that is vacant at the moment

1. Hopoate
2. Robinson/Toutai
3. Champion
4. Morgan/Toutai
5. Radradra

Defensively is where Vai needs most improvement. He is a decent attacking player, plenty of pace and strength. I hope he does well. BA see's something in him as he kept him and let Sio go

I agree 100%

My point is we don't know how much Pauli or anyone else off contract is asking. But the club does. If they let him go it's stupid to criticise without knowing all the facts, and we'll never know all the facts. So shut your shit mouths.

I thought you knew how much every one was on

half_back

I thought you knew how much every one was on

The problem with Pauli is that word potential. He currently has a number of deficiencies in his game that make him a greater liability than contributor. He could develop into a special player although he may plateau. He has had these same deficiencies his entire junior career. Therefore signing him is a calculated risk for all clubs. Unfortunately for him our stocks on edge are very good with a number of promising juniors also coming through behind Edwards, Moeroa and Ma'u. That would make it highly unlikely we would get in a bidding war for him if another club who wasn't stocked there offered more based on his potential. Then there is the other element noted in today's papers in possibly reducing the interchange for 2016 and beyond. The DT notes it is about reducing the size of players. This obviously would affect a possible market for someone like Pauli. I'm on the fence with this one. Love to see him stay and develop, although get the sense Pauli won't be satisfied biding his time in Cup to develop. We have greater needs as a team that shouldn't see us throw too much at him based on potential and too much depth at the position.

Joshuatheeel

Just give pauli some time, yeah he is a bit lazy in defence and can be quiet on occasions but the kid was only bloody 19. In his NRL game time this year he did some bloody brilliant stuff, things you can't coach.

I see him as a middle player more then a edge player. I reckon he will be re-signed and given time to develop as a player with his combination of size, speed and skills don't come along very often. I also reckon pauli would probably accept less to stay.

Don't forget the kid was only 19!!

Joshuatheeel

The problem with Pauli is that word potential. He currently has a number of deficiencies in his game that make him a greater liability than contributor. He could develop into a special player although he may plateau. He has had these same deficiencies his entire junior career. Therefore signing him is a calculated risk for all clubs. Unfortunately for him our stocks on edge are very good with a number of promising juniors also coming through behind Edwards, Moeroa and Ma'u. That would make it highly unlikely we would get in a bidding war for him if another club who wasn't stocked there offered more based on his potential. Then there is the other element noted in today's papers in possibly reducing the interchange for 2016 and beyond. The DT notes it is about reducing the size of players. This obviously would affect a possible market for someone like Pauli. I'm on the fence with this one. Love to see him stay and develop, although get the sense Pauli won't be satisfied biding his time in Cup to develop. We have greater needs as a team that shouldn't see us throw too much at him based on potential and too much depth at the position.

I reckon He is more a middle player where his defence wont be as bad. Also you mentioned 3 edge forwards, you do realise manu and edwards are 27 and 26 next year and pauli only 21?

Pauli is the type of player we need in the middle, a big body with plenty of skill. Plenty on here talk about how we need a big prop with skill and we should go and buy one. Yet we have one and we are willing to give up on him before he even turns 21!! Look at all the other top middle players and check how they were going at 20?

yy_cheng

Defensively is where Vai needs most improvement. He is a decent attacking player, plenty of pace and strength. I hope he does well. BA see's something in him as he kept him and let Sio go

Bad hands and most likely heaps cheaper than Sio

Good post.

I reckon He is more a middle player where his defence wont be as bad. Also you mentioned 3 edge forwards, you do realise manu and edwards are 27 and 26 next year and pauli only 21?

That means those two have at least four years of footy left in them. We also have Moeroa who is younger than Pauli and a much better defender.

Pauli is the type of player we need in the middle, a big body with plenty of skill. Plenty on here talk about how we need a big prop with skill and we should go and buy one. Yet we have one and we are willing to give up on him before he even turns 21!! Look at all the other top middle players and check how they were going at 20?

We will surely be willing to keep him on and let him develop but that means paying him outside the top 17. The question is whether he will be willing to stay for that much when other clubs are offering top 17 money and opportunity.

Joshuatheeel

We will surely be willing to keep him on and let him develop but that means paying him outside the top 17. The question is whether he will be willing to stay for that much when other clubs are offering top 17 money and opportunity.

If we continue to develop junior talent like we have been, letting us fill our squad with some cheap junior back ups we could afford to pay a player or two on potential with out it having a massive affect on our cap. While we shouldn't be paying stupid money to keep pauli purely on potential we could afford to put a competitive offer to him (top 17 money) if other clubs come hunting. Sometimes risks are required and I am sure the coaching trust will know if we should take one on pauli

Pauli could turn into another Tony Williams.
What yet another talented Parra junior to go on and win a comp with someone else???

I see Pauli as more a middle forward anyway, he's too big to defend on the edges.

The cowboys have stuck by Taumalolo and now he is 21/22 they are starting to see dividends, Pauli played nearly a full season of NRL at 19/20. Yeah lets do what we normally do invest time and money in a young junior and let another club poach him for them to reap the rewards of our hard work. We will continue to remain a breeding ground for successful clubs to poach and nothing more.

caylo

What yet another talented Parra junior to go on and win a comp with someone else???

I see Pauli as more a middle forward anyway, he's too big to defend on the edges.

The cowboys have stuck by Taumalolo and now he is 21/22 they are starting to see dividends, Pauli played nearly a full season of NRL at 19/20. Yeah lets do what we normally do invest time and money in a young junior and let another club poach him for them to reap the rewards of our hard work. We will continue to remain a breeding ground for successful clubs to poach and nothing more.

Taumalolo is more explosive then Pauli, I think Pauli needs to be on the edges to get more one on one with little guys and use his offload. Taumalolo is an absolute beast while Pauli is quiet soft still, I would say Kelepi would be a better comparison to Taumalolo