Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Are you a fan of the game or the club/culture?

nick87

Same. Pure coincidence that both our teams are shit....

There's not many televised sports I don't like. I just see NRL as something to distract me during the NFL season.

It's becoming more & more apparent that NFL is the far superior game. Challenges you mentally, rather than a base game like RL which is all brawn, no brains.

:lol: I suspect you're fishing but in all honestly, i get up at 3am through to 5am during the NFL season to watch games, and half the time my team isnt even involved in the early games. I wouldnt do that NRL. I'd do it for the Raiders... i enjoy watching NFL more than NRL. I enjoy watching the Canberra Raiders more than anything else in sport.

AFL is a great sport to watch unless it's terrible conditions (AFL in the wet is far and away the worst. NFL on demand, NBA on demand via their league passes. For me, it's easy to find something more interesting than a neutral NRL game

I Bleed Maroon

If I didn't have any real love of the game itself, I wouldn't watch every game of a round. Even the absolute stinkers like Canberra v Cronulla. God damn that was an awful display.

BuffaloRules

Will watch most games of live NRL and never miss my team play...

Won't watch it delayed anymore...

In respect of other sports, it's pretty much just cricket & NFL these days...

Can't watch AFL, Yawnion or Soccer ( other than Soccer World Cup which I love)

Someone

Pretty much club. Will watch every Eels game even if we are a massive chance of getting flogged.

Will watch any blockbusters or games that I think will be good, some teams I just cant f**king watch though.

other sports I watch vary from the time of year, ill watch abit of EPL & A-league during the summer, NFL if its on but I wont go out of my way to watch it unless its the superbowl, V8 Supercars around Bathurst time through to Sydney, and I really only enjoy test match cricket.

If I didn't have any real love of the game itself, I wouldn't watch every game of a round. Even the absolute stinkers like Canberra v Cronulla. God damn that was an awful display.

Man I am a die hard sharks supporter and even I couldn't watch that game. It was truly pathetic: A mate of mine and I watched it and heckled for a while, but even we couldn't keep it up.

Someone

I stumbled across this years GF on FOX last night....sat back and watched most of it.

Its good to be able to watch a game stress free occasionally not featuring my team...nice change from the hell that is being a WT fan

I love watching grand finals.

I wont watch an AFL game all year but il sit down and watch the big dance. Love the all or nothing emotion.

Kiwi

Club

Use to be game first, but got worn down by how bad the refs, video ref, judiciary ect are and how they keep getting worse. Over the bullshit.

Canard

Amazing, most members here aren't big fans of the game.

Wonder why you would go to the trouble of joining just to tell people you don't like the game much?

Or is this just some "I'm cool" hipster thing?

Kiwi

Amazing, most members here aren't big fans of the game.

Wonder why you would go to the trouble of joining just to tell people you don't like the game much?

Or is this just some "I'm cool" hipster thing?
Or maybe people like the game but because of all the crap instead of game first it's now club first.

maple_69

Ask the same question during the season when all these Dragons etc fans still have optimism rather than cold hard confirmation that their team sucks.

Penrith first. I'll normally watch Penrith and one or two others a week. I follow the sport closely outside of Penrith even though I might not watch more than a quarter of the games.

Don't have much time for any other sports during the season but I follow the NHL closely during the off season and test cricket of course. EPL has lost my interest.

Or maybe people are just drama queens spurred on by rubbish media.

Game closely followed by club.

club
game has a lot of issues on died that annoy me

it also isn't the game i enjoyed as a kid.

if the sharks weren't in it i wouldn't bother. id say

POPEYE

After 50 years I've progressed to watching players as individuals, what they contribute to a team and how they are coached . . . a club is just who they do it for and the game is just the vehicle

God-King Dean

This.

If we had a media organization who heaps praise on the sport (like the AFL media), everyone would say the game. Some of these supposed issues in the game, aren't issues at all.

Don't let News Limited do your thinking for you.

POPEYE

On that subject a good mate of mine is really only interested in what Parramatta do and the only newspaper he reads is the Telegraph, to say we follow the game through different eyes other than the obvious is an understatement. He however is a member of the vast majority which is testimony to why the Telegraph even exists

natheel

I love all league

start of the year i'll watch all games but then it whittles down to maybe 12-14 clubs by round 10 that i prefer. Usually the bottom sides i don't like watching.

I used to enjoy watching Raiders games and Tigers but not anymore (may change this year)
Didn't watch a whole deal of Cronulla games last year due to the ASADA shit

but i always watch Parra regardless

Canard

This.

If we had a media organization who heaps praise on the sport (like the AFL media), everyone would say the game. Some of these supposed issues in the game, aren't issues at all.

Don't let News Limited do your thinking for you.

I think these points have nailed it.

The constant negativity from the games print and television media have really influenced people's opinion to the point whereby they can't seem to form an objective opinion.

I also think there is a tendency for people to overreact to minor things also.

There is no sport in the world that gets just poor treatment from its "own" media.

Club first, then game.

I must say my interest diminishes slightly if the Tigers are not involved, but I do enjoy watching two other teams play a good contest simply for the fact I can enjoy the game without the emotional investment.

Chook

I don't have a Rugby League tat, I have a Roosters tat.

It's club first, its always club first.

Chook.