Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Buying A New Barbeque

veggiepatch1959

I'm in the market for a new gas barbeque and want to spend $800 - $1200.

I'm just wondering where the best place to buy one from. From looking around in the last couple of days, Bunnings and Barbeques Galore seem to be the only places where I live that have anything like a decent range.

The problem with Barbeques Galore is they charge like wounded bulls and are a few hundred dollars dearer than Bunnings for a comparable item.

What I'm after is a 4 burner model with a side burner and a 240V rotisserie. Something that won't disintegrate after six months of moderate use. No Weber style thank you - they are limited in what you can do with them.

Any suggestions on a brand and model matching what I'm looking for?

Thanks in advance.

soc123_au

I went from the style you are looking at to a weber Q & would never go back. I also have a traditional weber.

In the 4 burner style Beefeater were always decent quality. Not sure if they still exist though.

I have the Weber-Q.

If you're looking to doing huge BBQ's they may not be the go as the surface is tiny compared to some four burners getting around. If it's just for the family barbie though I highly recommend. Got mine natural gas ready. No gas-n-go, easy to clean and it bakes a good cake.

veggiepatch1959

Just been checking out the Weber Family Q3100 for around $719.

I will have to go and see one in the flesh to see how big they actually are. It seems they only come with a grill plate and not a hotplate.

soc123_au

You can get a hot plate for them. I was sceptical when I first looked at them, but if you use it as directed they are a ripper of a BBQ.

Bulldog Force

Just gotta say coal >>> gas. Coal BBQs taste so much better. Sure they are a bit harder but f**k it pays off. Gas doesn't even come close.

you can still use charcoal on gas BBQ

I have 12mm wire mesh over the gas burners and I put the charcoal on the mesh, use the gas to get the charcoal started and its generally ready to start char grilling in about 10-15 minutes, much quicker than using fire starters which can take about an hour before the charcoal is ready

JJ

Weber (not kettle style) or Broil King...

Pay a bit extra, worth it I reckon

abpanther

Make sure you get a BBQ with cast iron burners, not that stainless steel shit you see from the cheap BBQs at Kmart.

Also, make sure the burners aren't too far away from the grill/plate, otherwise you'll be wasting lots of gas trying to cook your meat.

veggiepatch1959

Just checked out the Weber Q3200 at Barbeques Galore. It has a higher hood than the Q3100 and a hood thermometer - RRP $699.

The accessories are quite expensive - $70 for a half hotplate and $199 for a 240V rotisserie. Some other accessories are simply priced through the roof.

I was mildly surprised at the grill size - thought it would have been a bit smaller.

Still undecided at which way I will go as I'm not sure it will be big enough. I tend to cook for a cast of thousands at times. :p

Bulldog Force

you can still use charcoal on gas BBQ

I have 12mm wire mesh over the gas burners and I put the charcoal on the mesh, use the gas to get the charcoal started and its generally ready to start char grilling in about 10-15 minutes, much quicker than using fire starters which can take about an hour before the charcoal is ready

I've seen those, and while the idea is good, I find that it's just not the same. There's something about gas-powered coal BBQs that differenciates it from regular coal BBQs in terms of taste.

Don't get me started on jiffy firelighters though, they're terrible.

soc123_au

You would be surprised how much you can get in them. Everything cooks quicker than a standard 4 burner as well. So doing batches isn't a big issue.

Dogs Of War

Just checked out the Weber Q3200 at Barbeques Galore. It has a higher hood than the Q3100 and a hood thermometer - RRP $699.

The accessories are quite expensive - $70 for a half hotplate and $199 for a 240V rotisserie. Some other accessories are simply priced through the roof.

I was mildly surprised at the grill size - thought it would have been a bit smaller.

Still undecided at which way I will go as I'm not sure it will be big enough. I tend to cook for a cast of thousands at times. :p

http://www.outdoorsdomain.com.au/charcoal-spit-roaster/

You could probably just get one of those for the rotisserie. Bonus is that it's portable. We have taken something similar camping before.

What do you want to use the hotplate for? You can just buy an oven roasting tray and put that on the grill and it will do the same job.

soc123_au

I also for once concur with BF. I have a weber kettle as well as the Q for when I have the time to use charcoal.