Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Buying A New Barbeque

I've seen those, and while the idea is good, I find that it's just not the same. There's something about gas-powered coal BBQs that differenciates it from regular coal BBQs in terms of taste.

Don't get me started on jiffy firelighters though, they're terrible.

no you haven't, this is a home made conversion and it works very well

soc123_au

no you haven't, this is a home made conversion and it works very well

It would have to work ok, once the coal is lit its lit. I will concur with BF that charcoal tastes better than gas (When you have the time), but how you light the charcoal is irrelevant.

Generalzod

I'm in the market for a new gas barbeque and want to spend $800 - $1200.

I'm just wondering where the best place to buy one from. From looking around in the last couple of days, Bunnings and Barbeques Galore seem to be the only places where I live that have anything like a decent range.

The problem with Barbeques Galore is they charge like wounded bulls and are a few hundred dollars dearer than Bunnings for a comparable item.

What I'm after is a 4 burner model with a side burner and a 240V rotisserie. Something that won't disintegrate after six months of moderate use. No Weber style thank you - they are limited in what you can do with them.

Any suggestions on a brand and model matching what I'm looking for?

Thanks in advance.

If you do buy a gas bbq get it with ceramic beads or briquettes...

Lambretta

Being a pom, I am naturally handicapped when it comes to BBQ'ing

but after 20 years of practicing I have found that a Weber Kettle is amazing to cook with but an absolute pain in the arse to set up and then you have to let the coals burn out, so it's not practical. They cook amazingly but you only have a tiny cooking surface. Definitely one for the purists

4 burner BBQ's are ok, but really, they're a bit shit. Super practical and easy to use, but they just lack something

I currently have a Ziegler and Brown which is BBQ Galores own in house copy of the Weber Q. In size, it's between the mini Q and the standard Q. It's brilliant to use - but not up to your size.

If the Weber Q (large one) is anything like the Z&B in the way it cooks (and by all accounts they're almost identical) I'd recommend the Weber Q - just try and find the biggest one you can.

They really are worth the spend.

Parra

I prefer decent stainless hotplates and grills over cast.

Buy a hooded BBQ and add around $150-200 for decent stainless plate/grill replacements for the cast. They will outlive the BBQ.

I find side burners useless. Rottiseries are useful though.

No reason you can't have a gas BBQ, a kettle and an american style hot-smoker /bbq. Horses for courses.

It would have to work ok, once the coal is lit its lit. I will concur with BF that charcoal tastes better than gas (When you have the time), but how you light the charcoal is irrelevant.

exactly right and charcoal grilled steak is so much better than gas cooked, which is why I added the mesh, and its so much quicker

Parra

For those who like to cook over charcoal - have a go at dirty steak. It's easy. And fantastic.

Tips (despite what you'll see on videos) :

- get the charcoal well alight. Be patient and don't go early
- Dry the steaks with paper towel before you cook (this is a standard whenever you grill or BBQ a steak)
- Do not coat your steak in oil. Ever
- Don't season at all for dirty steak
- 2.5 minutes per side. That's it.

soc123_au

That is how steak should be cooked. I never season it until it's cooked, the salt draws the moisture to the suface & you lose the juiciness.

Dogs Of War

I currently have a Ziegler and Brown which is BBQ Galores own in house copy of the Weber Q. In size, it's between the mini Q and the standard Q. It's brilliant to use - but not up to your size.

If the Weber Q (large one) is anything like the Z&B in the way it cooks (and by all accounts they're almost identical) I'd recommend the Weber Q - just try and find the biggest one you can.

They really are worth the spend.

Ziegler and Brown uses heaps more gas than the Webber, and price wise there is not much between them. Both use heaps less than your standard BBQ.

I think thats something to take into account. Because your ongoing cost will be gas.

I prefer decent stainless hotplates and grills over cast.

Buy a hooded BBQ and add around $150-200 for decent stainless plate/grill replacements for the cast. They will outlive the BBQ.

I find side burners useless. Rottiseries are useful though.

No reason you can't have a gas BBQ, a kettle and an american style hot-smoker /bbq. Horses for courses.

Agree with all of this...good plates make the difference and side burners are a waste of time.

I have had my weber for 2 years and just changed the first gas bottle. I'd estimate I had done about 12-15 2hr+ roasts and about 20-25 steaks/snags at about 10min.

Best barbecue I have had, it cooks very even. I have a normal hot plate but just use the original. I bought some weber wood chips to get a smokey flavour, they didn't seem
To work.

I have the Middle sized weber q and it's good for a 2.5kgroast but you wI'll struggle to fit veges in for more than 2people.

The middle range I would say does 4-6 people for a barbecue quite well.
I love it.

That is how steak should be cooked. I never season it until it's cooked, the salt draws the moisture to the suface & you lose the juiciness.

From what I have heard from good chefs is that you can season steak with salt before you cook it and it won't draw anything out. If you leave it sit for a while then it will.

I usually season mine with salt, pepper, garlic and a bit of Worcestershire sauce. Love it done like that.

Munky

but after 20 years of practicing I have found that a Weber Kettle is amazing to cook with but an absolute pain in the arse to set up and then you have to let the coals burn out, so it's not practical. They cook amazingly but you only have a tiny cooking surface. Definitely one for the purists

You don't just close all the vents to stop the oxygen flow to the fire? I also use a chimney to start my coals, really couldn't be easier. I also find disposable gloves are great for handling coals prior to firing them up, makes it so you don't get the black shit under your finger nails.

For those who like to smoke their meat I highly recommend these guys:

http://www.aussiebbqsmoke.com/

Excellent product and some handy tips.

I'm in the market for a new gas barbeque and want to spend $800 - $1200.
You don't have to spend that much for a good bbq.

Just check out the basics, ie the structure and the base. Make sure the burners are cast iron and close to the plate, and have modern sparky starters that are easy to operate. A sensible drip tray system is the go as well. You have to clean it regardless of the situation, just look at it make sure it is practical and well designed. And please... if it is a movable bbq, don't go near anything with small wheels or a flimsy frame.

I have two bbqs on my decking, one is a clam shell grill with a circular burner, got it from a camping store. The other has a wide hotplate with 4 burners underneath. I just put them next to each other and they serve us well.

Camping shops have the right gear imo.

And gas is the way to go, and this is from someone that built brick bbqs. Life is too short for chopping wood.

Incorrect

A few months ago my old 4 burner gas bbq started showing it's age, knobs started falling off, burners were starting to fail, so I had to look around. I'd had it for maybe 6 years and got a heap of use out of it so I couldn't complain.

So I did some research, I didn't want to spend too much, nothing like the 800-1200 the OP indicated he's looking to spend. This time around I was keen to try a charcoal bbq, so naturally the Weber Kettle was the obvious choice. As has been pointed out though, the kettle bbq is not always convenient espcially if you want to whip up some quick bacon and eggs on the bbq on a Sunday morning... So I toyed with the idea of getting a Weber Q instead and forgoing the charcoal experience. I rented a holiday house a couple of years back that had a Q and it was a great bbq.

In the end though, the lure of the charcoal cook won out and I went with a Weber Kettle. A couple of weeks later I went to BBQ's Galore and bought myself a small 2 burner Gas bbq to complement the Kettle and which was on sale (was $250, down to $150), so I ended up spending $450 in total. So now I've got the 2 burner for the bacon and eggs, mushrooms and chipolatas on a Sunday morning and the Weber Kettle for the steaks, fish, roasts etc when I've got time. I also bought a griddle for the weber so I can do things like baby octopus etc.

I love the whole charcoal cooking process, it's good fun trying new things when you start knowing the subtleties on how to control your heat and the whole direct/indirect cooking methods. Get some hickory chips to throw on the coals to get that smokey flavour. Nothing better than having the lawns mowed, kids sport done come Saturday afternoon, preparing the meat then heading out the back with a beer, turning on the radio to listen to the footy/cricket and firing up the coals for Kettle.

Parra

A few months ago my old 4 burner gas bbq started showing it's age, knobs started falling off, burners were starting to fail, so I had to look around. I'd had it for maybe 6 years and got a heap of use out of it so I couldn't complain.

I agree with your post - but I'd question this part. I expect to get many more years out of my BBQ's. I currently have a six burner that is around 13 years old - all of it spent in the weather with not even a cover. Just the hood. The chassis is finally crapping out & I have replaced a couple of burners, but it still works. Stainless body & plates - all they need is a wipe down. Empty out the water after it rains and it's good to go.

veggiepatch1959

Geez...I'm still confused.

The Weber Q range has been given the flick due to its lack of size for party size BBQs.

Had a talk to the missus' niece yesterday and she recommended a few 4/5 burner jobs.

She works at Barbeques Galore and said "don't buy from us...we're too dear."

Go to Bunnings she told me.

Thanks for the advice everyone!!