Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

State of Origin is dead: just end it now

Knightmare

Let the bogan state gloat for a while. They'll lose the Four Nations final again this year

The Qlders will do their usual routine of playing like world beaters when in Maroon, but turning to shit in the green and gold. Exhibit a, William Slater...

Canard

The Qlders will do their usual routine of playing like world beaters when in Maroon, but turning to shit in the green and gold. Exhibit a, William Slater...

Yes but will our State coach take out the referee with a shoulder barge after a loss like the biggest wanker to ever walk the earth did??

bottle

Another sook.

Origin was here before the NRL was, maybe scrap that and keep Origin.....

f**k you've proven to be the complete imbecile haven't you? Someone posts a reasonable and sensible response and that's your best. Have you posted anything other than trolling and gloating?
At least with XXXX chromosomes you know he's taking the piss and using an excuse to use one of his baby pics.
Why don't you go and find another band wagon to jump on so you can carry on like a juvenile a little more. Make sure to let us know who you;ve supported all your life a week out from the Grand Final won't you.

Mr. Sharky

Time to put an end to this waste of time. It's club football and winning a premiership that counts.

I'd be quite content to see no one from my club selected for Origin if it means they stay fresh for the weekend club rounds.

Origin has just become a great waste of time.

Nice bump. It's a valid argument that's for sure. The on field quality is nowhere near what it was back in the 90's. Maybe they should reduce it to 1 game, which is used purely as a trial for the Australian team.

Then Australia can play us in the middle of the year in a 3 game series, and we can pound them every year.

Aus_Dog

Time to put an end to this waste of time. It's club football and winning a premiership that counts.

I'd be quite content to see no one from my club selected for Origin if it means they stay fresh for the weekend club rounds.

Origin has just become a great waste of time.

As a neutral I enjoy watching it when it is on, but I wouldn't care too much if they canned it

That will never happen though, I think they need to shorten the time between the games tho as it interferes too much in the season. For me a premiership is far more important than Origin. I would be surprised if the players don't feel the same

Canard

TBH I dont give two shits about SOO anymore, what a waste of time. Players should just focus on their club and try and WIN a premiership, which is more important then SOO. If one the players from the dragons where injured during the series, I would be devastated. I feel sorry for the cowboys, their season is most likely over now.

:lol::lol:

220 Thousand people attended three matches, with a 12 Million viewership.

Some petrolhead from NSW doesn't like it.

Dave Smith "Scrap it!"

Canard

Nice bump. It's a valid argument that's for sure. The on field quality is nowhere near what it was back in the 90's. Maybe they should reduce it to 1 game, which is used purely as a trial for the Australian team.

Then Australia can play us in the middle of the year in a 3 game series, and we can pound them every year.

If Quality of game was a reason to not play, then the Cowboys should have forfieted every game prior to 2004, and Parra after 2009.

Mr. Sharky

As a neutral I enjoy watching it when it is on, but I wouldn't care too much if they canned it

That will never happen though, I think they need to shorten the time between the games tho as it interferes too much in the season. For me a premiership is far more important than Origin. I would be surprised if the players don't feel the same

I wholeheartedly agree, shorten it to one game and alternate it between Sydney and Brisbane each year. It interferes way too much with the premiership season and if you ask the players what they'd prefer to win, they'd tell you they'd rather win the premiership.

Mogsheen Jadwat

lmao at the idiots wanting to shorten it to one game

HEY LET'S TAKE A 500 MILLION DOLLAR SPECTACLE AND CUT IT BY 67%

- LU idiots

Someone

I have no problem with the NRL keeping its money maker at 3 games a year. but the draw needs to be altered, probably shortened in the middle to accommodate for it. I'm sick of weekends of footy with only 4 games and no world class players playing.

In saying that I wouldn't care if it got arsed either.

Mr. Sharky

I have no problem with the NRL keeping its money maker at 3 games a year. but the draw needs to be altered, probably shortened in the middle to accommodate for it. I'm sick of weekends of footy with only 4 games and no world class players playing.

In saying that I wouldn't care if it got arsed either.

:thumn:b:Well said mate.

RoosTah

Honestly, Origin is a massive cash cow, so it's going no where. But that said, given how much money it makes, we could probably afford to cut a month out of the NRL.

Mr. Sharky

Honestly, Origin is a massive cash cow, so it's going no where. But that said, given how much money it makes, we could probably afford to cut a month out of the NRL.

The NRL probably should return to the days of a 22 round competition. 26 (24 with 2 byes) is downright absurd.

LatK7

:lol::lol:

220 Thousand people attended three matches, with a 12 Million viewership.

Some petrolhead from NSW doesn't like it.

Dave Smith "Scrap it!"

All that needs to be said.

Origin couldn't be further from dead.

Aus_Dog

Origin was so popular through the late 80's and 90's due to it being so close and no side winning more than 3 series in a row. It dropped off a bit in popularity when NSW dominated during the early 2000's (couldn't fill stadiums) even though they also never got more than 3 in a row they were still very dominant.

Even Mal at that point said "Origin is dead" if I remember correctly

Origin is far from dead, but in a 2 horse race you need it to remain close for interest to be sustained long term as one side if continuing to lose can see ppl switch off

some11

Someone doesn't want their plodder captain being humiliated again.

"Just one of those nights" :lol: