Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gideon Mosby

Lethal25

Friend of a friend of a friend........anyway you get the drift. Says Dragons have signed this kid from the Cowboys. Apparently has scored a bucket load of tries this season.

Anyone else hearing anything?

Highlights from the Townsville Stingers V Sydney Roosters U18s national final. Plus Under 18 man of the match winner Gideon Mosby-Gela (Townsville Stingers)

http://www.qrl.com.au/news/2014/05/18/u18_national_final_highlights.html

image.scale.thumbnail.400.400.jpg

• Date of Birth: 27-12-1996
  • Height: 180
  • Weight: 80
  • Position: Fullback, Wing
  • Rep. Honours: Qld U16, Qld U18, Qld Schoolboys, Australian Schoolboys
  • Junior Clubs: Cairns Kangaroos
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...not-at-your-club/story-fnp0lyn3-1227334567164
COWBOYS
Injuries
Jason Taumalolo (Knee) Round 15
On the Cusp: The Cowboys are well stocked for outside backs but they’ve got a good’un in Gideon Mosby-Gela. A lightning fast winger with the North Queensland Under 20s, Mosby-Gela has been on a tear in 2015 on the end of an expansive Cowboys backline. He’s nabbed 12 tries in eight matches so far this season and also ripped defences apart for 10 linebreaks. The Townsville club have a host of good players filtering through their Under 20s, but Mosby-Gela is one of the best of the lot.

Weipa Dragon

The mosby mob are from Torres Strait islands and a mad footy family. Heaps of them. We had another gela; Aquila who ran around a couple of years ago. Anyway, Gideon apparently was only one of a couple of queen slanders in this years Aussie schoolboys and killed it. He comes from Sam thaidays school; kirwan, the big footy school in Townsville. Anyway, hope it's true, he is a gun. Old mulholland has his scouts out.

nrlnrl

He scored 2 more tonight against Souths to make it 31 this season. Maybe he's the reason they're not re-signing Justin Hunt.

boardlumps62

Cant seem to get link of highlights to work on my device. But did find sprint race featuring the lad 2014 state schoolboys is quick 100m 10.45secs from memory.

The Nick

The mosby mob are from Torres Strait islands and a mad footy family. Heaps of them. We had another gela; Aquila who ran around a couple of years ago. Anyway, Gideon apparently was only one of a couple of queen slanders in this years Aussie schoolboys and killed it. He comes from Sam thaidays school; kirwan, the big footy school in Townsville. Anyway, hope it's true, he is a gun. Old mulholland has his scouts out.

Hey Weipa I used to live up in FNQ - the amount of raw talent up that way is amazing, particularly the TSI and PNG guys who so many are naturally built for the game. It baffles me that more NRL clubs don't tap into the talent pool up there, even the Cowboys development systems seem pretty lacking up that way.

Cagey Mac

Cant seem to get link of highlights to work on my device. But did find sprint race featuring the lad 2014 state schoolboys is quick 100m 10.45secs from memory.
That's about half a second of the world record for an 18YO and pretty bloody quick

hardbaby

Yeap Mosby Creek runs through the back of the resort I run at Bamaga, Cape York. The kid is a pure athlete.

hardbaby

Hey Weipa I used to live up in FNQ - the amount of raw talent up that way is amazing, particularly the TSI and PNG guys who so many are naturally built for the game. It baffles me that more NRL clubs don't tap into the talent pool up there, even the Cowboys development systems seem pretty lacking up that way.

I'm still up at the tip. The scouts do target the area but there are issues with relocation. A lot of the kids struggle when they move and don't kick on.

nrlnrl

That's about half a second of the world record for an 18YO and pretty bloody quick

If they sign him, he'd supply some much needed pace in the outside backs ( if you're worried the time sounds dodgy, please remember that half a second would equal about a 5 metre margin )

boardlumps62

Sorry guys my mistake try 10.95 over 100m still quick and with the right sprint trainer wind him up. Hope we not getting ahead of ourselves but we need speed on flanks for sure. What other attributes has he got. And always a problem as suggested bring these young blokes to the big smoke. Still reckon he looks like Ben Barber.

The Nick

I'm still up at the tip. The scouts do target the area but there are issues with relocation. A lot of the kids struggle when they move and don't kick on.

I played footy in both Cairns and Canberra and I just always felt like the development pathways were far more prevalent in Canberra.

Just an observation, but I always felt like FNQ had far more raw talent, whereas Canberra players were simply better coached (talking at the grassroots level, not NRL).

Obviously location plays a massive part - Townsville is so isolated from the rest of the NRL, whereas Canberra is 3hrs from Sydney.