Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured and Confirmed Signings with added crap - XXVI

My mate who rekons Hiku all but signed and Lafai off to dragons now reckons Gould has stuck his finger in the pie and stirred the pot. Penrith now a good chance to take Lafai meaning Dragons have upped the Anti of Hiku.
Reckons we will know tomorrow!

Another mate who is a solicitor reckons Hoppa deserves compensation - We screwed him.He agreed to a contract and then we took it off him. His value was worth more at that time then when he had to re - negotiate.

It appears you've nailed it with this info except for the fact that Gould wants Hiku and not Lafai, I've been told the penrith offer is big, real big ..... Don't be surprised if they pull it off

Also, the Hoppa V eels saga continues I'm told could get even more uglier ..

caylo

It appears you've nailed it with this info except for the fact that Gould wants Hiku and not Lafai, I've been told the penrith offer is big, real big ..... Don't be surprised if they pull it off

Does that mean we may have potential unused cap space waiting for an outcome? I think a decision from the nrl needs to be forthcoming irrespective of the final outcome of the court case.

If the Panthers are super keen on Hiku i think we need to go all in foe Lafai. We need one more strike back, Morgan or Moss are not good enough as a starting backs at this stage IMO.

http://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/se...u/news-story/49a8775cb7787f391c850d0915b0b0b4

Eels, Dragons and Panthers in race to sign Manly’s Peta Hiku
December 7, 20157:02pm

Paul CrawleyThe Daily Telegraph

THREE weeks ago Peta Hiku arrived home from New Zealand’s Test series in England to discover he was no longer wanted at Manly.

But the versatile Kiwi will sit down to make the most important decision of his career, with Parramatta, St George Illawarra and Penrith now desperate to win the race for his signature.

And in what is shaping as a dramatic end-of-season game of NRL musical chairs, some of the game’s most influential figures are trying to pull off pre-Christmas deals.

While the Eels and the Dragons have already publicly confirmed their interest, Hiku’s New Zealand-based agent Stan Martin on Monday night refused to reveal the identity of the third club.

But The Daily Telegraph understands it is the Panthers, and the persuasive powers of Phil Gould should never be underestimated.

Whether that will be enough to break the bond Hiku already has with Parramatta’s former Manly connection of Brad Arthur, Kieran Foran, Anthony Watmough, Clint Gutherson and James Hasson remains to be seen.

It is understood Hiku had a good relationship with Arthur when he was the assistant coach at the Sea Eagles, and the opportunity to play again with the highly respected Foran has the Eels the raging hot favourites.

Hiku also toured the Dragons’ training base last week where he could play either centre or fullback, while the Panthers are cashed up following Jamal Idris’ recent decision to take a break from the NRL.

Martin confirmed Hiku has the three offers in front of him and is expected to make his decision on Tuesday or Wednesday.

It follows Monday’s announcement that former Eel Will Hopoate has now officially joined the Bulldogs, while the remaining piece in this intriguing off-season puzzle is Tim Lafai who requested a release from the Bulldogs just prior to Hopoate’s announcement.

But where Lafai ends up will most likely be determined on Hiku’s decision, with Penrith and St George Illawarra also keen on the former Bulldog who wants to play left centre.

When The Daily Telegraph first got wind of Manly’s decision to allow Hiku to test the open market last month, Martin was adamant Hiku had no knowledge of the decision given he was still in England on the Kiwis’ end of season tour and had two years to run on his current contract.

But in a matter of weeks the unwanted Sea Eagle has emerged as the most wanted free agent in the game.

And after only celebrating his 23rd birthday last Friday, he will have good reason to celebrate as soon as he puts pen to paper.

Martin last week told The Daily Telegraph: “I was really surprised when Peta came back from playing three Tests with New Zealand to a club where he is on a pretty good contract and the new coach (Trent Barrett) says I’m not sure if you are going to make my top side and if

you want to move on, you can,” Martin said.

“But that’s footy and we’ll move on and it might work out better at the end of the day, you never know.”

Which is more proof you just never know your luck in this crazy game of musical chairs that is the NRL.

If penrith get him id say Moylan is going into the halves. That opens up a spot.

Lafai or Hiku would compliment our team. But if Morgan-Falou-Toutai-Moss-French-Shrule-faraimo -fuimano have to step up then so be it. There is another guy in under 20's who apparently goes ok on the wing. There will also be other guys become available before season starts.

Can someone post me our side in 2013 from the last 2-3 rounds.
I would like to compare it too our possible Wenty side this year. I think our wenty team maybe stronger. By memory the halves Kelly/Roberts with MK at hooker and fullback was Mullaney- What a spine...

Matty Bhoy

I would like to compare it too our possible Wenty side this year. I think our wenty team maybe stronger. By memory the halves Kelly/Roberts with MK at hooker and fullback was Mullaney- What a spine...

Dark days. I shuddered reading that.

He won't go to Penrith. The old Manly brigade will lure him to us. I reckon we are after Lafai aswell just quietly.

Does that mean we may have potential unused cap space waiting for an outcome? I think a decision from the nrl needs to be forthcoming irrespective of the final outcome of the court case.

If the Panthers are super keen on Hiku i think we need to go all in foe Lafai. We need one more strike back, Morgan or Moss are not good enough as a starting backs at this stage IMO.

I think Faraimo is more likely than Morgan or Moss.

He won't go to Penrith. The old Manly brigade will lure him to us. I reckon we are after Lafai aswell just quietly.

Would that mean taka is not rated in the centres or Gordon could end up as a back up in wenty?
I would that gutherson will get a spot and Semi gets one.

1Gordon
2Semi
3Taka
4Hiku/lafai
5Gutherson

Round 24

Round 25

Round 26

Over those final three rounds we looked like this:

Fullback:
Mullaney/Sio/Hayne

Outside backs:
Sio/Toutai (x2)
Morgan (x2)/Sio
Toutai/Roberts/Harrison
Radradra (x3)

Halves:
Roberts/Maitua (x2)
Kelly (x3)

Hooker:
Keating (x3)

Middle forwards:
Mannah (x3)
Lussick (x3)
Allgood (x2)/Joe Paulo

Edge forwards:
O'Hanlon (x3)
Maitua/Moimoi (x2)

Interchange:
Paulo Jr (x3)
Terepo (x3)
Joe Paulo (x2)/Edwards
Moimoi/none/Ualesi

We had so few first graders that we only used three interchange players in round 25, which is the only one of the three games we won.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nrl...ture-controversy/story-e6frf3xc-1227637111133

James Roberts requests release from Gold Coast Titans following forged signature controversy

Travis Meyn Exclusive
Gold Coast Bulletin
December 07, 2015 10:38PM

THE Gold Coast Titans are set to lose James Roberts to a rival club after the Dally M centre-of-the-year requested a release from the club.

Roberts informed Titans CEO Graham Annesley last night he was keen to explore his options due to the contract forgery saga which has plunged the Gold Coast into another crisis.

Roberts effectively became a free agent last month after former football manager Scott Clark admitted to tampering with the 22-year-old’s $300,000-a-year contract.

Clark resigned over the matter and lawyers have been assessing the validity of Roberts’ contract.

Roberts last week indicated he was keen to stay at the Gold Coast but the speedy centre chose to not accept a revised two-year offer from the Titans last night.

Roberts will now test the open market, where he is sure to garner plenty of interest and if he leaves the Gold Coast it would be a massive blow to the club’s rebuilding plans under coach Neil Henry.

He is considered to be the fastest player in the NRL and last season equalled the club’s tryscoring record with 16 four-pointers.

Roberts’ adviser, Jeremy Donovan, said the former Panther and Rabbitoh would do what was best for himself and his pregnant partner.

“We’ll be considering any opportunities that will be best for James and his family,” Donovan said.

Roberts joined the Titans midway through 2014 after being cut by the Panthers.

He had an outstanding 2015 season, spending time in camp with the NSW Blues team and being earmarked as a future Origin player.

Roberts told The Courier Mail last week he felt betrayed by the club but was keen to stay at the Titans.

“I was disappointed about the situation but I’m not angry at the club,” he said.

“I’m settled and happy at the Titans so I’d like to stay here and hopefully we can work things out.

“At first, I felt betrayed. Someone else signed my name (on his contract) so I didn’t expect that. I was happy to re-sign with the club and to go and do that wasn’t necessary.

“It’s a bit hard trying to focus on training at the moment. But I’m glad I’ve got my uncle Jeremy to point me in the right direction.”

emjaycee

Be good if we could pick-up Roberts. That would mean we'd pick up 2 players from the titans with them forging signatures.

And the NRL is concerned about OUR governance processes - what about the governance processes of one of the clubs you fricken run you numphies!!