Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Anyone have any pictures of Martin Offiah in the Red V jersey?

dragons74

Hi all, looking for any pics of Martin Offiah from the 1991 season when he played for the Red V. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Man I loved Offiah. Growing up in NZ its all rugby, Walford and Offiah were the reason I played League and the reason why I support the Red V.
They both knew their way to the try line , both were class acts !
I remember the coach at the time , Masters or Smith ? , saying that they were his pair of Porches . A great compliment to their speed and all round ability .

They both knew their way to the try line , both were class acts !
I remember the coach at the time , Masters or Smith ? , saying that they were his pair of Porches . A great compliment to their speed and all round ability .
I think it was Smith. Back then we got hardly any League on TV over here. Maybe one or two games a week, and they were on delay at 1100pm at night !!!!!!!!!!!! lol. It was only by chance that I saw a game and have been hooked on the Dragons ever since.

Had a look at some old footage of Offiah with us against the chooks on YT today. Man his third try is just pure speed. Im a complete nuffie on the computer otherwise I would post a link lol.

I think it was Smith. Back then we got hardly any League on TV over here. Maybe one or two games a week, and they were on delay at 1100pm at night !!!!!!!!!!!! lol. It was only by chance that I saw a game and have been hooked on the Dragons ever since.

Had a look at some old footage of Offiah with us against the chooks on YT today. Man his third try is just pure speed. Im a complete nuffie on the computer otherwise I would post a link lol.
Yes , your right , it was Smith . Sounds like your tele. was similar to mine up here at Kandos ( country area nsw ) .
As kids we used to sneak into the pub and watch the game . The Publican didn't mind as long we behaved ourselves and didn't try to buy ourselves a beer .

Como Connection

Yes I do, when Ricky and him scored the double each that day.
They both signed the picture to my son Chris.
Will organise something.
CC

WOW ! WOW ! Fooking WOW ! Couldn't that bloke run ?
He was as quick as a leopard , and what about the attack !
Please Willow , email that link to Paul . At the very least it should give him an idea on what real attacking play is all about.

Mr Red

Remember the match race between offiah and Lee Oudenryn over the length of the footy field?
Oudenryn beat him, however I think it was a tainted win. from memory, Oudenrym slighlty jumped the start and then they were shoulder to shoulder and then offiah seemed to slightly stumble and that was enough for oudenryn to win by about half a meter...
On a proper track in lanes I think offiah would have done him..

Remember the match race between offiah and Lee Oudenryn over the length of the footy field?
Oudenryn beat him, however I think it was a tainted win. from memory, Oudenrym slighlty jumped the start and then they were shoulder to shoulder and then offiah seemed to slightly stumble and that was enough for oudenryn to win by about half a meter...
On a proper track in lanes I think offiah would have done him..
I cannot recall the race between the two ,however I do know that he was very fast .
I think that he played with the Gold Coast ? There were some very quick players around then - Brett Dallas who played with the Bulldogs was one of them .

Mr Red

I cannot recall the race between the two ,however I do know that he was very fast .
I think that he played with the Gold Coast ? There were some very quick players around then - Brett Dallas who played with the Bulldogs was one of them .

He started with parramatta, then had stints with both Gold Coast and the Warriors.
Yeah there were some flyers around at that time during the 90's...
Brett Dallas , shane whereat, Darren Albert to name a few..

Saint Angelo

I remember one of the early games Offiah played for the Saints and the TV intro was based on the "Top Gun" theme with 'I feel the the need - the need for speed'.
I think in that game Peter Coyne made a break from inside our own half and he had a choice of Walford on his left and Offiah on his right. It was like making a choice between a Lamborghini and a Ferrari.
Awesome !!!!

Nowadays, our team consists of Datsun 180b's, Gemini's, ford fiesta's, Holden Astra's, You get my point....

You have summed that up beautifully .
Perhaps we could call Ultra Tune and give those heaps a bit more speed ?
And while we are at it lets " Holler for a Marshall " to kick start them !

1st & 10

I remember the Tele had a Back page spread with Walford and Offiah headlined "the black flashes" prior to offiahs debut

Lee Oudenryn Is now a nsw cop , with Rod Silva , Leo Clarke , Scott Morris (Brett and josh older brother) , Paul Simpsons is a detective inspector . Sean hamstead is a good detective

1st & 10

Chook Herron "the early morning sharpes drink delivery man" .

Ah the golden late 80s early 90s . Win games we shouldve lost and lose games we should've won.

Cecil Heron, Damien Chapman, Paul Upfield , Brett Clarke , Darren Higgins, Bruce Honeysett, Ashley Wylde, and Darren South (remember his solo 100 metre try at Kogarah ) etc the names, the memories