Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Matt Moylan proved he is a half.

betcats

Come on betcats it doesnt get any more straw clutchy than relying on a dead rubber game where we played mediocre and fluked a win coz QLD didn't care

I disagree, its a fact that Maloney has played 7 in an origin game and we won that game. Maloney then shifted to 7 on Wednesday and despite not having a controlling, organising halfback we still looked very good. You guys are suggesting it cant be or wont be done(Moylan and Maloney being paired together) but it already has been done and that was with Moylan having never played in the halves at this level, give him a year in the halves and I don't think the NSW selectors would have any problems pairing Maloney with Moylan if form or injuries demand it.

I don't think it's any major problem tbh I just don't rate dead rubbers as useful indicators of form. It won't happen now unless forced by injuries. Next year is a different story - 31 isn't too old for Maloney to keep going if we win the series so again it becomes a 3 way battle for 2 spots.

Knowing our luck one or both of the halves will get injured or suspended anyway forcing our hand

Who else have we got, should 2 of the above 3 go down?

Cleary's not rising at the same rate as hoped but may get there in the next year or few.
Adam Reynold's form has nosedived and is made of a particularly brittle type of glass
Hodkinson is a potato
Sezer is a never-was

Austin could hack Origin, despite his form not peaking at the moment.
Josh Reynolds has.. enthusiasm...
Chad is solid.

betcats

I don't think it's any major problem tbh I just don't rate dead rubbers as useful indicators of form. It won't happen now unless forced by injuries. Next year is a different story - 31 isn't too old for Maloney to keep going if we win the series so again it becomes a 3 way battle for 2 spots.

Knowing our luck one or both of the halves will get injured or suspended anyway forcing our hand

Yeah I get what you are saying re dead rubbers, it was more about showing that the NSW selectors/Daley obviously think Maloney can play 7 if need be.

I agree I think it will be a three way battle for the two spots. If we win this series and Pearce and Maloney are in form next then it will be very difficult for Moylan to dislodge either of them, he would have to be absolutely killing it. I'm not to worried about Moylan getting picked, if he keeps playing 6 for Penrith then he will get his shot for NSW eventually if not next season.

betcats

Cleary's not rising at the same rate as hoped but may get there in the next year or few.
Adam Reynold's form has nosedived and is made of a particularly brittle type of glass
Hodkinson is a potato
Sezer is a never-was

Chad is solid.

I was just going through this in my head, wait and see what happens with Bird at the broncos next year but other than him you have just mentioned all our other options and from them I think only Bird has the ability to keep Moylan out of the team long term and that is if he plays in the halves. Cleary will get there eventually but he is a couple years away.

Pedge1971

In reality we are probably as happy as anyone else, it is just weird how a lot of Penrith fans think Moylan should be in the team ahead of Pearce. I am pretty certain Pearce is largely there on Peter Sterling's insistence. If these fans think they know more than Sterling does about halfback play then I of course would stand corrected.

Peter Sterling? Never heard of the f**ker!

soc123_au

Hodkinson is a potato
Sezer is a never-was

Chad is solid.
Cleary is coming along fine. Probably best to let him finish puberty before throwing him at 7 in origin though. Injuries or otherwise. Dont want to see him f**ked like Pearce & Mullen were. If Pearce was left out of Origin for a few more years things could have been very different. It would be impossible not to be mentally scarred by the criticism he has copped. I would be very surprised if he ever manages a dominant performance in origin (in NSW favour) and its mostly not his own fault. Could be worse I guess, he fared better than Mullen did.

Pearce, BBQ & Moylan are the best bet until 2020. Austin or Reynolds would be a train wreck unless they find some form & durability.

SBD82

Cleary is coming along fine. Probably best to let him finish puberty before throwing him at 7 in origin though. Injuries or otherwise. Dont want to see him f**ked like Pearce & Mullen were. If Pearce was left out of Origin for a few more years things could have been very different. It would be impossible not to be mentally scarred by the criticism he has copped. I would be very surprised if he ever manages a dominant performance in origin (in NSW favour) and its mostly not his own fault. Could be worse I guess, he fared better than Mullen did.

Pearce, BBQ & Moylan are the best bet until 2020. Austin or Reynolds would be a train wreck unless they find some form & durability.
I'm sure I'm missing something obvious, but...

How'd Maloney get the nickname BBQ?

Noise

I'm sure I'm missing something obvious, but...

How'd Maloney get the nickname BBQ?

He was telling a story on the footy show that involved him having "some personal time" and instead of using the term having a wank he used BBQ

Cockadoodledoo

Cleary is coming along fine. Probably best to let him finish puberty before throwing him at 7 in origin though. Injuries or otherwise. Dont want to see him f**ked like Pearce & Mullen were.

Agree with this. Cleary is only in his second season of First Grade and is still just 19 years old. You are going to get inconsistency, especially when he has had multiple 5/8 partners. Now that Moylan looks like he will remain at 5/8, Cleary should get stability in the halves partnership and he should flourish in the years ahead. Nothing wrong with the way he is going at all.

OldPanther

After 1 game.

ahaha

People who say this don't understand football.

He played origin last year. He has been playing first/second receiver for us regularly for a year now. Whenever he does it we start looking like a good team and scoring points. Even with intermittent time in the position he had as many try involvements this year as Pearce last time I checked (just before origin) which was what the commentators kept telling us was why Pearce was so good this year. In a team who's forwards were, at the time, rubbish compared to the what the best NSW halves had to play behind.

Yeah I get what you are saying re dead rubbers, it was more about showing that the NSW selectors/Daley obviously think Maloney can play 7 if need be.

Of course it is a viable option but it is obviously not the preferred option at the moment.

If we win this year, I can't see Maloney not getting picked next year regardless of form so maybe 2019 is the time for Moylan.

I don't know why Panthers fans think we are so bothered by Moylan playing at 5/8 and playing well. Good luck to the kid. If he does do what others have suggested here and usurp Pearce from his position next year or any other then so be it. Defending Pearce against unwarranted criticism is not the same as hoping that Moylan doesn't reach his potential.

People who say this don't understand football.

He played origin last year. He has been playing first/second receiver for us regularly for a year now. Whenever he does it we start looking like a good team and scoring points. Even with intermittent time in the position he had as many try involvements this year as Pearce last time I checked (just before origin) which was what the commentators kept telling us was why Pearce was so good this year. In a team who's forwards were, at the time, rubbish compared to the what the best NSW halves had to play behind.

lol.

He's played 2 games @ 5/8 in his career.

He's proven nothing @ 5/8.

Calm down.

When he's played a couple of seasons defending in the front line week in week out, and done so successfully then he's proven something.

Great player though, if Keary reverts to toofless playstyle he'd be welcome @ Easts, that's for sure.

betcats

Of course it is a viable option but it is obviously not the preferred option at the moment.

If we win this year, I can't see Maloney not getting picked next year regardless of form so maybe 2019 is the time for Moylan.

I don't know why Panthers fans think we are so bothered by Moylan playing at 5/8 and playing well. Good luck to the kid. If he does do what others have suggested here and usurp Pearce from his position next year or any other then so be it. Defending Pearce against unwarranted criticism is not the same as hoping that Moylan doesn't reach his potential.

Mate no one was talking about origin in this thread until your fellow chooks Danish brought it up with a tongue in cheek comment, which was responded to by myself with a similar silly comment and then we had a few roosters fans popping up getting serious about the whole thing.