Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured Signings

Nice Beaver

Not really, I believe Mitchell Pearce is on about $800K, give or take. I would think Cleary would approach his manager and give an honest assessment of the situation. Manager "Nathan, what do you think you are worth?" Cleary "I reckon I am 75% the player Mitchell Pearce is".

Come on be fair.

Add the $90k that Piss defrauded from thr NSWRL.

TheFrog

Nathan Cleary would recieve double that on the open market. Quite literally some club like the Knights or Tigers would offer him 6m over 5 years.
Yep the Knights did something very similar with Andrew Johns back in '05 when he threatened to go to Union or some such shite. Result: Johns injured half the season and Knights take spoon.

Clubs would easily throw $800k+ at him.
Some clubs would, no doubt about that. The clubs that perennially finish in the bottom 8. I'd suggest the Broncos, Storm or Roosters wouldn't though.

mxlegend99

Not really, I believe Mitchell Pearce is on about $800K, give or take. I would think Cleary would approach his manager and give an honest assessment of the situation. Manager "Nathan, what do you think you are worth?" Cleary "I reckon I am 75% the player Mitchell Pearce is".
Why would Cleary compare himself to a player who hasn't even tested the market? Pearce would be the least relevant half when a player was looking at a new contract.

Every player will use Ben Hunt as the market value. He signed on massive overs and has driven up expectation of other players.

Yep the Knights did something very similar with Andrew Johns back in '05 when he threatened to go to Union or some such shite. Result: Johns injured half the season and Knights take spoon.

Some clubs would, no doubt about that. The clubs that perennially finish in the bottom 8. I'd suggest the Broncos, Storm or Roosters wouldn't though.
You name 3 clubs that pay under table. As Gus will here....its just how it works

redVinme

I dont understand how there is all the talk for maloney. Hes contracted for next year and as far as i was aware clubs and managers cant even approach him until nov1? So how can all these clubs be chasing him

Pedge1971

That's very observant of you ol' mate, a little late though, along with others I've said the same thing since he left the Warriors to help Nick with a premiership. Anyone with or without a family with only a decade to set himself up would be stupid not to go where the sun shines best . . . some players stay where they are and get paid in the dark

Come in spinner.

Pedge1971

Manager: but you are twice the player Ben Hunt is........

Pedge1971

How so? Broncos paid 800k pkus a centre and are rumoured to be reasy to offer Ash Taylor 1 mill plus a aeason. Roosters have paid 1 mill plus for Tedesco and have never been afraid to throw a bit of money at an obvious talent.

Melbourne I agree.

Jason Simmons

How so? Broncos paid 800k pkus a centre and are rumoured to be reasy to offer Ash Taylor 1 mill plus a aeason. Roosters have paid 1 mill plus for Tedesco and have never been afraid to throw a bit of money at an obvious talent.

Melbourne I agree.

Bird is a centre at the moment, NSW don't play him there and I doubt the Broncs will either.

I'd be surprised if anyone had the faintest idea of what we could offer Ash Taylor. I'd be astonished if the Broncs had a million a year to offer him on cap...

Nice Beaver

Melbourne I agree.

Add Daaaarius in for $900k a season on his new deal.

And what have they paid the overhyped 6? That was another $900k a season wasn't it?

Add Daaaarius in for $900k a season on his new deal.

And what have they paid the overhyped 6? That was another $900k a season wasn't it?

No... $900k would be market value so Broncos would only be paying $600k for each of those guys and $200k of that would be 3rd party.

If you aren't giving up at least 30% of your market value then you aren't worthy to play for the broncos.

Pedge1971

Bird is a centre at the moment, NSW don't play him there and I doubt the Broncs will either.

I'd be surprised if anyone had the faintest idea of what we could offer Ash Taylor. I'd be astonished if the Broncs had a million a year to offer him on cap...

Ok. Broncos fan. That sums up the initial bullshit post.

Where do you think Bird will play?

Waynes ego and a weakness in the position will mean Broncos will pay whatever it takes to get Ash Taylor. The kid will be worth every cent. Hard to spin home sickness when he plays his footy on the Goldie.

Cockadoodledoo

Why would Cleary compare himself to a player who hasn't even tested the market? Pearce would be the least relevant half when a player was looking at a new contract.

Every player will use Ben Hunt as the market value. He signed on massive overs and has driven up expectation of other players.

tbh I thought I would have needed better bait.