Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2018 home game allocation

hutch

Nailed it mate!

4pm Saturday at ANZ kills it though. Play it that time at CSG and it packs out. I reckon we'll be lucky to get 15k at ANZ

It will get a bigger crowd at anz than it would at cambo or leichhardt, especially in round 1 imo.

Tiger Ted

Some of turdescos best games have been early in the season.That performance in the opening rounds v manly in wet conditions @ leichhardt a few seasons ago was sublime.

Chances r this will also b Cronk's debut game for the bondi effluent.

Front-Rower

A touch off topic but the big sports breakfast news segment this morning reported that if Cronk did go to the Roosters that Mitchell Pearce would be the one let go.

Clifferd

Some of turdescos best games have been early in the season.That performance in the opening rounds v manly in wet conditions @ leichhardt a few seasons ago was sublime.

Chances r this will also b Cronk's debut game for the bondi effluent.

No clue how Roosters can fit him under the cap but you know how it works.

Tedesco on a mil+
Cronk would have to be on atleast market value which would be around 800-900k

Good thing they released SKD, Watson, Guerra and Evans who I reckon only just add up to Teddys contract value

Clifferd

A touch off topic but the big sports breakfast news segment this morning reported that if Cronk did go to the Roosters that Mitchell Pearce would be the one let go.

Oh well that makes a little sense though. Still stupid that they're willing to ruin Pearces career to get 1 year out of Cronk?

Tiger Ted

It's interesting & unsurprising that the rorters r clearly aware of the obvious re Pearce's ineptitude whereas the moronic NSW selectors & the imbecile Laurie Daley were not !

The bondi effluent r ruthless in there endeavours to b successful & win competitions.They have a take no prisoners attitude re recruitment & retention.We have been the opposite to them when it comes to the lack of rugby league savvy of our namby-pamby administrators !

super_coach

If Cronk goes to the Roosters I think I'm done with Rugby League. How is it that they can openly rort the salary cap and completely get away with it?

Thats why the salary cap as it is now has to be scrapped and a new system introduced where clubs can pay players anything they want..BUT players are given a points grading and every club is limited to X amount of points and they have to fit their 30 contracted players within the points. Okay coming up with how you would award points might become tricky, but at leat it is a level playing field, everyone has the same amount of points.

The present system might work if you excluded TPA's and all contracts were made public, but that is not going to happen and you can't stop a player from doing a nike add..and that is how Brisbane,Chooks and others get around the salary cap.

Anyway will it happen...probably not, the people calling the shots have to much to loose

Crazyperpman

Thats why the salary cap as it is now has to be scrapped and a new system introduced where clubs can pay players anything they want..BUT players are given a points grading and every club is limited to X amount of points and they have to fit their 30 contracted players within the points. Okay coming up with how you would award points might become tricky, but at leat it is a level playing field, everyone has the same amount of points

Makes way too much sense to ever be considered.

super_coach

Makes way too much sense to ever be considered.
Been beating this drum for years, sent the odd email off to HQ but all I ever get is a polite reply.

The salary cap was introduced for a number of reasons, but the main reason was to even out the comp and spread the playing talent around. In a way it has done the opposite, some teams have just their cap to spend and the odd TPA, where other clubs, have their cap, their full allotment of TPA's and are in the position to direct endorsement towards their marquee players that don't come under the TPA umbrella.

The argument will always be, if you can't beat them join them, but that is not always possible and some teams for a number of reasons have a big advantage over others. In a perfect world it would be nice to think all 16 teams have a real chance of making the 8 and than anything is possible, but that is not the case under the present system. We will end up like the EPL soon where every year the comp is dominated by a handful of clubs.

Sorry for the rant..but all I want is a level playing field or something very close to it

Tiger Ted

Been beating this drum for years, sent the odd email off to HQ but all I ever get is a polite reply.

The salary cap was introduced for a number of reasons, but the main reason was to even out the comp and spread the playing talent around. In a way it has done the opposite, some teams have just their cap to spend and the odd TPA, where other clubs, have their cap, their full allotment of TPA's and are in the position to direct endorsement towards their marquee players that don't come under the TPA umbrella.

The argument will always be, if you can't beat them join them, but that is not always possible and some teams for a number of reasons have a big advantage over others. In a perfect world it would be nice to think all 16 teams have a real chance of making the 8 and than anything is possible, but that is not the case under the present system. We will end up like the EPL soon where every year the comp is dominated by a handful of clubs.

Sorry for the rant..but all I want is a level playing field or something very close to it
Ur not ranting as ur stating fact & as a fan of a team like ours that doesn't have the financial or political wherewithal of clubs like he rorters or the Broncos it sucks.

The NRL hierarchy r a pathetic self serving bunch of fraudsters.The spineless pissants @ the NRL r no different to governments whereby he who pays the piper like politis & big business calls the tune !

super_coach

Of course another flaw of the present system is teams at the bottom have to pay massive overs to entice players so they burn up more cap and can purchase less players. So their ability to rise up and compete is that much harder. You can go down the junior path in hope that you might find some real class but as we have seen this year, the odds are a predator club will snatch them when they are ready for the big time

My hope for us is Cleary turns us into a champion TEAM so we can compete against a team of champions

Das Hassler

Wouldnt it be neat if bona-fide juniors were exempt from the salary cap while they stayed with their junior club...a lower salary cap was applied to imports only...that way the elite juniors could be paid any amount the club could procure from anywhere. There would be a helluva lot less migration of players ...seasons wouldnt be ruined by everything going on for ( the perpetual and always more important ) next season and the clubs would reclaim their tribal identities with the fans.
Only half serious with about 10 seconds of thought but still sounds ok after a full minute
Edit.....and i'm sure the chooks would love it

macnaz

Why isnt Harry allowed to provide Third Party Payments to us. ?.?
Because he was a former sponsor ? OR BECAUSE he is a Billionaire and would make that merkin Politis look like a paper boy when real money can be thrown around to buy a team ...
f**king joke !!

Melbourne and Parra twice in 8 weeks what the f**k haha

11 games v top 8 sides in the first 14 weeks

6 games v top 4 sides in first 8 weeks lol

Melbourne (who always start the season on fire) twice in first five weeks

Two 5 days turn arounds coming back from NZ

What the actual f*#k?!?

BrotherJim05

Thats why the salary cap as it is now has to be scrapped and a new system introduced where clubs can pay players anything they want..BUT players are given a points grading and every club is limited to X amount of points and they have to fit their 30 contracted players within the points. Okay coming up with how you would award points might become tricky, but at leat it is a level playing field, everyone has the same amount of points.

The present system might work if you excluded TPA's and all contracts were made public, but that is not going to happen and you can't stop a player from doing a nike add..and that is how Brisbane,Chooks and others get around the salary cap.

Anyway will it happen...probably not, the people calling the shots have to much to loose

Unfortunately this wouldn't work. One of the key reasons we have a Salary Cap, which everyone forgets, is that the NRL pay the players not their clubs. Many NRL clubs aren't even profitable, and that is without having to pay their players a single cent. Majority of NRL revenue is from TV rights deals so the NRL makes hundreds of millions but most clubs make squat.

If you move to a model with no salary cap (but lets say the NRL still give each club X to put towards players) then the rich clubs will DOMINATE. Ironically we would be the dominating club as Harry T could easily throw in his pocket change and we could buy the Australian Test team overnight.

In my armchair critic opinion the only model that will work is a draft system. e.g. If Cronk decided to play on in 2018 then Knights would have first preference, then Titans, then us etc. You would have players trying to rort the system with "home sickness" and having to move close to home, but if you were very strict then it could work. In addition to this, if a player came through the junior system of a club then that club gets first priority.

Vozzy

Wow 2 away games against Melbourne in the space of 4 weeks. Todd Greenburg can stick that draw where the sun dont shine. Why cant you play every team once before playing teams once. We also play parea twice in the space of 4 weeks.

super_coach

Wow 2 away games against Melbourne in the space of 4 weeks. Todd Greenburg can stick that draw where the sun dont shine. Why cant you play every team once before playing teams once. We also play parea twice in the space of 4 weeks.

If this draw is for real and I guess it is, we are in for a battle. The only thing is, the best time to play the gun teams is early in the comp before they get match hardened. Usually the first 6 weeks of the comp there are plenty of upsets