Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours (signings, sackings & other NRL stuff)

Clifferd

I’m also hearing Naquama is going to the UK(I think ST Helens) which if true must mean we’ve done a deal with a replacement.

If that’s the case good luck to him, I don’t think he’s been too bad this year but it’s not like he’s a game breaker. I just hope we’ve signed a quality replacement

magpie_man

If Kev has indeed landed a gig in the UK good luck to him. Had a good world cup and followed up with a very good start to this season. A champion human being as well, wish nothing but the best for him.

Couldn't have said it better myself.

Valentine Holmes and Curtis Rona are the two that I keep hearing about. I'd be ecstatic if it's true although, in the case of Rona, I'm always worried when a player has had a stint in rah rah that it has eroded their ability to catch, pass or tackle.

gordsy

I've heard Rona is a good club guy and pretty professional. Can't say I get that Impression about Holmes. Hopefully we aren't chasing Mansour, good player but the facial injury doesn't Inspire confidence.

Manly centre Brian Kelly.

Wests Tigers have made a play for Manly centre Brian Kelly as the club spreads its reach into the Macarthur region in its quest to find the next generation of stars.

The Tigers were the most active club in the player market in the off-season and they continue to focus on building their squad. To that end, they are scouring the market for a strike centre and fullback, with Kelly shaping as an option as the former. Kelly is off contract and the Sea Eagles will struggle to keep him due to salary cap concerns and interest from the Cowboys and Tigers.

The Tigers also have the cash for a marquee man to replace James Tedesco and are watching the market with interest. It’s understood Parramatta’s Bevan French and Cronulla’s Valentine Holmes are frustrated that they are not being given a consistent run in the No.1 jersey at their current clubs, while Canterbury is under mounting pressure to move players such as Moses Mbye given his back-ended contract has him earning about $1.9 million over the next two years. While Corey Thompson is currently doing a good job as custodian, Tigers officials are closely monitoring whether French, Holmes, Mbye or any other prospective No.1s become available.

The joint-venture outfit is also focusing on the long term and on Wednesday struck a landmark agreement with the Country Rugby League that will expand the club’s footprint into the Macarthur region. The partnership formalises the Tigers’ long-standing relationship with Group Six rugby league and provides a representative pathway for top talent.

The newly signed memorandum of understanding will result in the regions’ teams being branded as ‘GSR Wests Tigers’ in the CRL’s Andrew Johns and Laurie Daley Cup junior representative, men’s under-23s and Ladies League Tag Country Championship competitions.

It will also expose Macarthur to the Tigers’ NRL coaching and performance staff in what the parties believe is a win for the club and regional football.

Tigers CEO Justin Pascoe said the extension of the relationship would result in quality players provided a pathway to the NRL.

“Wests Tigers and the Greater Southern Region have always supported each other and it’s important for us to provide opportunities for players and coaches in our community,” Pascoe said.

“It was great to see our players in the Andrew Johns and Laurie Daley Cup competing as the Greater Southern Region Wests Tigers this year and it’s important for them to know that they are part of the Wests Tigers pathway.

“We’re happy to be extending and formalising our agreement with Country Rugby League and we look forward to working together to provide additional opportunities and resources for players and coaches throughout the region.”

The CRL has been in contact with Sydney-based clubs about formalising relationships with regional centres in a bid to boost bush footy and provide development pathways. The Tigers are one of the first to formalise such an arrangement, although Penrith is also a standard-bearer for such partnerships. The Panthers recently expanded their footprint into the western corridor in a deal they believe could be a blueprint for saving bush footy.

CRL Greater Southern regional manager Kevin Felgate said the extended Tigers partnership an acknowledgement of the success of the current program.

“It’s fantastic to see the Wests Tigers make this commitment towards supporting CRL’s representative pathways and it’s fantastic for the players and coaches to have a link with an NRL club in their region,” Felgate said.

“The introduction of the Andrew Johns and Laurie Daley Cups was a great success this season and much of that success is owed to the support from NRL clubs like the Wests Tigers.

“The extension of this partnership represents another step in the right direction for players, coaches and trainers throughout the region.”
https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/we...volution-of-their-roster-20180516-p4zfqe.html

Kev to St Helens:

Rumours swirling Ben Barba is ‘coming home’
FORGOTTEN rugby league star Ben Barba is reportedly the big winner of a Wests Tigers star’s decision to move to the Super League.

RUMOURS are swirling forgotten rugby league star Ben Barba will return to the NRL soon.

The Cronulla premiership player has been in red-hot form for English club St Helens and is the front-runner to take out the Super League’s Man of Steel award this year.

The 28-year-old fullback reportedly remains under contract with St Helens through to the end of the 2019 Super League season, however, the former Bulldogs and Broncos star has been linked with a return home to Australia in coming months.

The Australian’s Brent Read told Triple M’s Rush Hour with Mark Geyer on Thursday night Barba has been freed up to get an early release from St Helens by the club’s recruitment of Wests Tigers speedster Kevin Naiqama on a three-year deal.

The 29-year-old has reportedly agreed to terms with St Helens and has been dropped from the Tigers’ starting 17 the past two rounds.

That signing is the key to allowing Barba to return home, Read said.

“There’s lots of rumours around right now about Ben Barba — about whether he’s coming home,” Read reported.

“If Kevin Naiqama goes to St Helens there could be implications there for Ben Barba. Maybe that is as a replacement for Ben Barba. There are a lot of rumours around right now that Ben Barba is coming home. I know his agent is either about to jump on a plane or is in England as we speak so stay tuned. I wouldn’t be surprised if there is some news there in the next few weeks.”

He said a return to Cronulla is one of the more likely destinations as the Sharks continue to struggle to find a perfect fit in the No. 1 jumper with Valentine Holmes only moved to fullback after Josh Dugan’s foot injury.

Aussie rugby league legend Mark Geyer said Barba would be a smart option for the Wests Tigers with Corey Thompson winning the jumper from Tui Lolohea at the start of the season.

“Cronulla is an obvious one there,” Read said.
http://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/ru...e/news-story/21b84bc4bd7cc1ea12ca3f0cf8240201

Clifferd

I still think we need a quality edge forward to replace Rochow. I cringed everytime he ran the ball last night, no penetration at all and as much potency as a wet paper bag

Either put Et there and Einsenhuth to lock or vice versa with Aloiai back on the bench as impact

I still think we need a quality edge forward to replace Rochow. I cringed everytime he ran the ball last night, no penetration at all and as much potency as a wet paper bag

Either put Et there and Einsenhuth to lock or vice versa with Aloiai back on the bench as impact

Aloiai needs to come in as a hard running edge forward. Rowdy does a pretty good job running hard lines, always carrying tacklers and poking his head through the line.

If Liddle isn't going to play 80 minutes, Cleary needs to bite the bullet and get another decent 9 if he does not intend on using Killer to tackle himself stupid in the first 40. I still think Lichaa is an option to explore. Very talented attacking hooker when allowed to play his game.

Trollhammaren

Aloiai needs to come in as a hard running edge forward. Rowdy does a pretty good job running hard lines, always carrying tacklers and poking his head through the line.

If Liddle isn't going to play 80 minutes, Cleary needs to bite the bullet and get another decent 9 if he does not intend on using Killer to tackle himself stupid in the first 40. I still think Lichaa is an option to explore. Very talented attacking hooker when allowed to play his game.

Watched a bit of Dragons v Warriors reserve grade today, and I may be off my dial, but Old Mate M Cherrington did some good things. Looked sharp. We could do far worse I reckon.

It’s got me how Rochow makes the team so easily each week,the telegraph has him missing 46 tackles this season second only to Maloney,in fairness though it doesn’t mention the amount of tackles he has attempted or made.
Holmes,Rona would had pace to our side,Uate is also coming onto the market,I know he is a bit rocks or diamonds but he does have pace.