Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Scott Drinkwater

watatank

Drinkwater 181cm & 87kg
Dufty 179cm & 83kg

Not much difference in size , yet Scott doesn't seem to have the same issues.

I think Dufty needs to learn the following in CC:
1. When he returns the ball, he need to run at pace back to the line. At the moment he runs at quarter speed. Also, he needs a use his step much more often, this will stop him been monstered.
2. When he meets the defensive line, he is in too much of an upright position, he needs to fight to get lower so they can't push him back so easily and slow the next play the ball.
3. He needs to learn to follow the ball laterally across the field so he is in position. He gets caught out too often with the ball shifted across the field and breaks are made. Even allowing for he's speed, he arrives late and make it difficult to make a good tackle attempt. Case in point the miss on Pongia on the weekend.
4. Seeing his running style, he's not actually stretching out so if he gets in the open, he could learn to stretch his running style to have more pace.

The club needs to get some outside help for him. I wonder if Billy Slater would be open to having a few sessions with him.

So basically he needs to get stronger. He may also need to get bigger but that's neither here nor there. Also needs to learn most aspects of fullback play. Maybe he's just not that good.

j0nesy

I think we need to wait and see how Pearson and Lomax perform over the next few weeks. If they go well as I dare say I think they will, then our focus will turn to a couple of top line centres who can also play wing and fullback. DWZ, Roberts and Oates are a few players coming to the market they may just fit the bill. Field may also be a candidate if he can build up his body over the next off season.

Mate, you lost me here. So if our fullback/centre and winger/centre performs well then we need to look at getting a couple more fullbacks/wingers/centres?

watatank

That is the ironic part.We sign up talented players who's clubs have played them in the NRL instead of our own talented players who have not been given that opportunity.

We just try to find value in underrated/undervalued players and rely on that. Just end up with a lot of average players. We can talk about the juniors we let go too but you could argue that they were relatively borderline/fringe NRL talent too.

Melbourne lose Slater but develop Hughes, Papenhuyzen and Drinkwater behind him.

Mate, you lost me here. So if our fullback/centre and winger/centre performs well then we need to look at getting a couple more fullbacks/wingers/centres?
At the moment Pearson is untried at SGI as an NRL winger. I believe he will go well so let's just wait and see. If he does go well, he is one releatively cheap winger that we can stick with.

This will be Lomax's first full game as our NRL fullback. Same as above if he goes well then we have Lomax, Dufty and Field contending for that job. Hopefully Lomax wins that spot mainly because of his size and good defence.

Mary likes Pereira on the left wing and Saab is coming through. Let's hope Saab gets a run this year. Mary also likes Aitken and Lafai as our centre pair. I myself would prefer a couple of players of a higher standard at centre.

So it would be good if players in our backline can play a couple of positions at least as backup for injury or rep games. I believe Pearson can play wing and centre, if Lomax goes well, he can play fullback and centre. Versatility is very valuable when backup players are not at NRL standard.

At the moment Pearson is untried at SGI as an NRL winger. I believe he will go well so let's just wait and see. If he does go well, he is one releatively cheap winger that we can stick with.

This will be Lomax's first full game as our NRL fullback. Same as above if he goes well then we have Lomax, Dufty and Field contending for that job. Hopefully Lomax wins that spot mainly because of his size and good defence.

Mary likes Pereira on the left wing and Saab is coming through. Let's hope Saab gets a run this year. Mary also likes Aitken and Lafai as our centre pair. I myself would prefer a couple of players of a higher standard at centre.

So it would be good if players in our backline can play a couple of positions at least as backup for injury or rep games. I believe Pearson can play wing and centre, if Lomax goes well, he can play fullback and centre. Versatility is very valuable when backup players are not at NRL standard.

Don’t think we need players to be able to play a couple of positions just specialize in one. Lomax centre or fullback up to Fg standard and with Pearson I think he will flop too many handling errors but hopefully he proves me wrong

boardlumps62

Have a serious look at Knights smashing Chooks without their two top halves. Seems familiar with our effort missing a few top players. They just scored again and I backed the Chooks. And don't worry we need players who can play multiple position in outside backs with speed size ability and some smarts eg ponga for smarts.

Crush

You seen there team ? And the young signings they have made ? As I said IF they play to there potential they will be I believe the team to beat
I reckon if the Roosters play to their potential they might be the team to beat. And they will, because they are a fantastic club. And Cowboys won't because they aren't.....

Saint_JimmyG

I think you are thinking of George Eatfood Rose.

Josh Drinkwater was supposed to be the best thing since sliced bread. He wasn't.

I remember fans getting all uppity when (then coach) Steve Price didn’t elect to use JD even though the club didn’t have a genuine halfback, so Nathan Fien was preferred.

Stoopid Pricey.. Only he’d pick a World Cup winning halfback over an untried rookie..