Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

MugaB

I quite enjoy this battle of the big cats going on.
It's quite a genuine hate going on. Non manufactured hate is great for rugby league. Good work!
I like the tigers by the way, just not their admin!
But the team, coach and fans are all great, heaps of passion, and genuine good folk from all around sydney, to me justin pascoe is just a moron, and has fkd that team over and over again, he did it at the panthers, i reckon he goes, theyll make top8, within a few years, thats a guarantee, everyone points to Ivan for their long expensive roster, but all that needs to get signed off, im not sure joey leilua is ivans fault, or that paps is clive Churchill medal winner, as much as love to see the tigs succeed it won't happen with that fkwit running things

flippikat

like i said Souths do a better job of being the all round "SYDNEY" and are training 2mins away from the SFS!

Nevermind where Souths TRAIN, the key thing is where they PLAY. I'd argue that determines a club's supporter base as much as anything else - maybe even more.

You don't get crowds along to a training session.

RedVee

Just to put everything into perspective, here is a rough guide to Sydneys region
So when i see folks talk or mergers, or relocation, i laugh coz its fans that have zero clue about the sydney landscape aswell as distance, all they see is this clubs standings within the ladder or recent sucess, etc
All teams have major sponsors, and grants so regardless they get money whether they are in sydney or darwin, to say they wouldn't survive elsewhere from their catchment is stupid, and only serves the richer teams that don't want to have to move elsewhere.
My opinion is we need to serve sydney best as we can not have small rich clubs that don't offer the league anything back other than their own existence

View attachment 43505
And while this isn't definitely proof, and just a sketched out map of Sydneys regions and borders, whilst most of it exaggerated, like manly in the north shore and stretching to the hawksbury. it still highlights, that bottle neck of clubs in the inner southeast,
I would negate the dragons as they play and represent wollongong, aswell as parra, penrith, wests or manly from ever merging, even the sharks have a good footprint. That small blue area there thats the roosters, basically non existent, yet we accept that they are "SYDNEY", and shouldn't be in any conversation about mergers or Relocations, dude they are the First ones to go, like i said Souths do a better job of being the all round "SYDNEY" and are training 2mins away from the SFS!
Needs more Illawarra

MugaB

Nevermind where Souths TRAIN, the key thing is where they PLAY. I'd argue that determines a club's supporter base as much as anything else - maybe even more.

You don't get crowds along to a training session.
we aren't getting a packed ANZ or SFS either for any club, unless its Anzac day and the Saints fans flock to SFS.
Point is, if Souths area IS Redfern, and they play at the SFS instead of Homebush/ANZ, what do we need Roosters at the SFS or "The CITY team" for? When souths already do that

wazdog

As for the Roosters, they're the only club that's entrenched in the central city & eastern suburbs, so they're away from a lot of other clubs - especially since Souths is skewing more west these days. That helps the Roosters if Souths keep looking west (eg staying at ANZ).. but with a huge market north of the bridge there for the taking, the Roosters would be wise to engage with that market not just to broaden their reach, but as a form of "insurance" in case Souths move back to the new SFS & come back towards more of a central city footprint.

From what I've read apparently Souths Juniors are pushing hard for the club to return back to Allianz as it would definitely help them with game day revenue especially now that the light rail is completed. As much as I'd like to go back there full time I don't think it's going to happen given where our current members reside:
  • 9% South-East Queensland
  • 10% Central Coast
  • 30% western Sydney
  • 5% inner Sydney and Eastern Suburbs
  • 3% Western Australia
  • 43% Everywhere else
Next year we are taking games to Dubbo, Central Coast and Sunshine Coast.

The club has identified Green Square, Mascot, Camden and Campbelltown as long term growth opportunities based on increased population and rail connections. The club has held a number of junior clinics in Camden over the last few years.

I'm hoping we move to this structure on completion of Allianz.
  • Allianz (5)
  • Bankwest (5)
  • Regional (2)

flippikat

we aren't getting a packed ANZ or SFS either for any club, unless its Anzac day and the Saints fans flock to SFS.
Point is, if Souths area IS Redfern, and they play at the SFS instead of Homebush/ANZ, what do we need Roosters at the SFS or "The CITY team" for? When souths already do that

That's a good point, and it all hinges on what I was saying earlier - where they PLAY influences their supporter base.

I think Ella Fitzgerald said it best, "It's not where you came from, it's where you're GOING that counts."

MugaB

That's a good point, and it all hinges on what I was saying earlier - where they PLAY influences their supporter base.

I think Ella Fitzgerald said it best, "It's not where you came from, it's where you're GOING that counts."
Like i said, making the very small blue rich club embrace a brand new city like an Adelaide of 1.5 million or Perth of 2 million population, is far better than pretending to be SYDNEY, while just leeching of everyone elses best juniors, and not really contributing to the code, how are they enticing more fans and kids to play? When they only have 4 junior clubs, other than winning comps what use are they, they can do that in Hawaii or the fkn Moon. if a sydney based team moves its knowhow and business knowledge to either of those cities, the codes juniors/participation automatically increases by 6%, why? coz its at this moment 0% coz there is no team doing anything there other than Origin (NSW&QLD) now imagine this team is not a cellar dweller team that struggling to make finals, and knows what a winning culture looks like. I'd say relocating a struggling sydney side to a new city is doomed to fail, but moving a successful one has a chance, who would hate a team thats always winning or at least top4 every year to represent your town?
Or we can just dump the tigers or sharks on you, have at it!

Like i said, making the very small blue rich club embrace a brand new city like an Adelaide of 1.5 million or Perth of 2 million population, is far better than pretending to be SYDNEY, while just leeching of everyone elses best juniors, and not really contributing to the code, how are they enticing more fans and kids to play? When they only have 4 junior clubs, other than winning comps what use are they, they can do that in Hawaii or the fkn Moon. if a sydney based team moves its knowhow and business knowledge to either of those cities, the codes juniors/participation automatically increases by 6%, why? coz its at this moment 0% coz there is no team doing anything there other than Origin (NSW&QLD) now imagine this team is not a cellar dweller team that struggling to make finals, and knows what a winning culture looks like. I'd say relocating a struggling sydney side to a new city is doomed to fail, but moving a successful one has a chance, who would hate a team thats always winning or at least top4 every year to represent your town?
Or we can just dump the tigers or sharks on you, have at it!

The Roosters won't relocate to Adelaide or anywhere else. Why? Just like Penrith, its financial lifeline is the Leagues Club. It is the financial guarantor for the football club, so if they moved to a different State, why would a leagues club continuing funding a football club in another State? it just would not happen.

greenBV4

The Roosters won't relocate to Adelaide or anywhere else. Why? Just like Penrith, its financial lifeline is the Leagues Club. It is the financial guarantor for the football club, so if they moved to a different State, why would a leagues club continuing funding a football club in another State? it just would not happen.
And the flawed model used by most NRL clubs rears its head

The NRL clubs need to develop themselves into sustainable businesses that don't require the the backing of pokie machine funds that could otherwise be going back to the community - if some clubs can do it, the rest should also be able to

If they can't? Well. :scissors:

And the flawed model used by most NRL clubs rears its head

The NRL clubs need to develop themselves into sustainable businesses that don't require the the backing of pokie machine funds that could otherwise be going back to the community - if some clubs can do it, the rest should also be able to

If they can't? Well. :scissors:

Yes, well we can't all be owned by News Ltd or a few of Murdoch's buds now can we?

greenBV4

Yes, well we can't all be owned by News Ltd or a few of Murdoch's buds now can we?
Yeah the broncos are lucky there

Storm have been owned by a private consortium for a while now, and break even/make a small profit without any assistance from pokies, the last of which were sold off 2 years ago

Thats while being in a saturated sports market south of the barassi line - If Sydney clubs can't replicate this in the sports heartland then there is obviously something wrong with the status quo of clubs in Sydney

RedVee

Pokies are legal, as are Leagues Clubs. People are quick to take a high moral stance on this issue - btw I do not play the pokies - but were quiet when Crown Casino were sponsoring a club/s.

each club are allowed to find their own model so forget this ‘must get rid of Leagues Clubs and pokies’ bs.

unforgiven

Jezus Christ, this is rubbish talk, no one is moving anywhere, and if one had to go surely its a club that offers less to their respective area, thats the roosters, yes they are successful, but they wouldn't leave a hole in the sydney catchments, where every other other sydney club does, souths basically IS moore park, and unless roosters move to the north shore, then they present absolutely nothing to sydney, other than their self proclaimed name, be EASTS or be nothing, calling yourself "Sydney" when there's another 7.5 teams in sydney already is just being a tryhard, no fans, no juniors, no catchment, not nessesary in sydney, move them to Adelaide, same colors as the rams anyway.

P.s almost 19k members for penrith, not sure where you get 13k pal

The 13k is your crowd ave not members. Look, honestly I don't want Panthers to move, I actually live in Penrith it was more of an example that you can make arguments for all clubs when someone raised moving the Wests Tigers.

MugaB

I dare say Politis would keep it afloat without the leagues clubs funding it, but wouldn't let any movement of the club happen, hence why i suggested also to move north into north shore for not only for junior development, but in name aswell, creates a juxtaposition to the rivals of South Sydney. Only issue is the bear's would want something in return, (my guess is admission into the NRL via Gosford), ive heard of Politis advocating for the return of the bears, which then shifts the media driven relocation focus back on MANLY to add value in its position, Sydney RL politics!

MugaB

The 13k is your crowd ave not members. Look, honestly I don't want Panthers to move, I actually live in Penrith it was more of an example that you can make arguments for all clubs when someone raised moving the Wests Tigers.
Still not buying the crowd average, i suppose it depends on the year youre refering to, or the span of years, and if its this year forget it, doesn't make a difference to me as veiwership also counts, i live in parra, but go for penrith, next door neighbor is a broncos fan, he watched every loss this year at the tollgate, crowds are good, but are just one piece of the pie.
Wests should never merge, relocate or anything else, other than change to permanently gold home Jersey, with an away white, as tigers are mostly orange and occasionally white, ask any kid when have they ever seen a black tiger.
Their foothold in Sydney is huge not just in geographical presence but in local support, having both magpie fans and tigers fans will do that, memberships don't translate generally anyway, due to the casual veiwers that only watch or interstate fans, plus you need to have an income that can support having a yearly membership, folks might only ever become a member for only several seasons, then not renew, as they cant afford to spend it

RedVee

I thought that Balmain should have merged with North’s.

With Wests Tigers I was seduced by the romance of the 2 battlers getting together to thwart the rumoured mismatches with Wests/Canterbury and Balmain/Parramatta.

An ‘up hours’ from the battlers to those trying to twist their arms.

MugaB

I thought that Balmain should have merged with North’s.

With Wests Tigers I was seduced by the romance of the 2 battlers getting together to thwart the rumoured mismatches with Wests/Canterbury and Balmain/Parramatta.

An ‘up hours’ from the battlers to those trying to twist their arms.
To me both mergers make sense, only one that didn't was northern eagles, its was too hard to merge hatred with relocation an hour north, the equivalent of merging saints and sharks, but then based in wollongong, it just wont happen, or souths merging with roosters then playing in campbelltown.
Balmain/Ashfield i saw straight away, colors too, but its slowly breaking down coz instead of embracing the macarthur area fulltime, and keeping the balmain colors, they've swung the other way, focusing on concord and staying black.
The traditional magpie mindset!
Steelers and Dragons works too, just the distance causes issues but half and half seems to keep illawarra invested, plus not sure it could sustain a fulltime club nowadays, a link to sydney helps there via the dragons, kinda wish the dragons added a bit steel in their logo, maybe a metal monster truck type dragon, remain mostly white, scarlet, and trim of Silver or grey.

images.jpeg-38.jpg
unnamed-2.jpg

Only other potential merger would i see working, is that of sharks and easts but Politis won't let Easts go anywhere. That would become a superpower East Sydney Sharks,