Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels in the media

Why then have we been perennial chokers since 1986?
Bad luck?

Well there are technical reasons which most of us are aware of like playing roster, coaches, staff, recruitment and retention, but copying Gus's rhetoric like soft underbelly has no technical meaning, its just rhetoric.

1998, 1999, 2001, 2005, 2007, 2009 and the last two years were all teams that were more than capable of winning the competition yet because of our piss weak mentality/soft underbelly we didn’t.
It’s not rhetoric it’s fact.

It’s better than your explanation. There is a mental side of the game and we are shit at it. Has nothing to do with the reasons you’ve provided especially when we had the right balance in our roster.

so now you're saying its mental ? what happened to our underbelly ?

you're entitled to you opinion so what ever, its really not that big a deal, but there is no part of a Rugby League team that has an underbelly, its just media rhetoric

Isn’t it the same thing Twiz? A soft underbelly is mental weakness.

well soft underbelly has no definition and mental weakness is another media term

what is it supposed to mean ?

I think lack of confidence might be more accurate description but as to whether that is the case, only the players can answer that

well soft underbelly has no definition and mental weakness is another media term

what is it supposed to mean ?

I think lack of confidence might be more accurate description but as to whether that is the case, only the players can answer that
I always thought it was the same thing. I didn’t think it meant that the team lacked a 6 pack.

98 semi ?

none of them are still playing mate,
99, 2001, 2005 even in the 09 GF we only started to play footy once we knew we couldn’t probably win. 2017 We shat the bed horribly against the Cows, in 2019 Melbourne lapped us and this year we went out backwards after blowing heathy leads.

The faces change but the result remains the same.

99, 2001, 2005 even in the 09 GF we only started to play footy once we knew we couldn’t probably win. 2017 We shat the bed horribly against the Cows, in 2019 Melbourne lapped us and this year we went out backwards after blowing heathy leads.

It’s all rhetoric.

84 Baby

Some faces still remain and if the claim is it’s been happening for decades then we know who to blame. Those f**ken merkins need to harden the f**k up

1998, 1999, 2001, 2005, 2007, 2009 and the last two years were all teams that were more than capable of winning the competition yet because of our piss weak mentality/soft underbelly we didn’t.
It’s not rhetoric it’s fact.
They were all weak because they lacked experienced leaders on the field. Not because a single person needed to get the sack.

The problem isn't the players in the team, it's the players not in the team that means we couldn't compete with the big boys. And this year I reckon we shat the bed because our edge defence was torn apart by injury.