Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2021 R22 Fri - St Geo Illa 16-34 Penrith @ Suncorp

Round 22: St Geo Illa v Penrith

• St George Illawarra Dragons

Votes: 3 17.6%
  • Penrith Panthers

Votes: 13 76.5%

Votes: 1 5.9%

Munted

Will be closer than we all think, Penrith still not clicking.
Hopefully Burton plays like last week and we can finish off what we start.

shear_joy9

Will be closer than we all think, Penrith still not clicking.
Hopefully Burton plays like last week and we can finish off what we start.
Who’s expecting a flogging? It’s pissing down with rain, Panthers have a bench of nsw cup players, only have one decent prop in Leota who’s only good for 20min and are missing their gun winger and hooker.

this is setup to be an absolute bludger of a game

Munted

Who’s expecting a flogging? It’s pissing down with rain, Panthers have a bench of nsw cup players, only have one decent prop in Leota who’s only good for 20min and are missing their gun winger and hooker.

merkins in this thread mate.
Tragic Dragons fans expecting a gaping.

blaza88z

I reckon they'll play this one in the middle third, bit wet suddenly, probably favours Penrith as they won't have to try and execute slick backline plays

OzDragon

I could be wrong, Dragons fans may disagree, I haven’t seen a lack of effort from them it’s just not happening for whatever reason. I like Anthony Griffin, I think he may be worth persevering with beyond 2022 but a few of his team selections are a little baffling perhaps. Nor least selecting Jack Bird in front of Matt Dufty at fullback. Matt has his issues but can score or create tries which perhaps Jack Bird isn’t likely to achieve. Still a mathematical chance of making the eight and yet leaves out a player who may actually provide X factor and deliver points. I’m sure hook knows better than me but I sorta kinda don’t get it.

As it stands I’ll be happy with the two points, I don’t think it will be a blow out, I think it will be a closely fought contest.
community-shirley.gif

This Year?

If the Dragons do win, I am bookmarking that Dragon's thread where the banter was strong in the Dragon's sub forum
200.gif

mxlegend99

Ivan has certainly done some questionable things.

Firstly... Why risk Nathan? Win or lose. Who cares? Changes nothing week 1 of finals but losing him for good can.

Secondly... Drop Staines when To'o is already out. Sure his form was down and May had a strong game. But then drops May aswell? Bit odd to drop 2 specialist wingers for centres.

Naden had played one game on wing this year. Critter has played none and is shifted away from right centre for the biggest ball hog in our team to make sure our right winger doesn't see the ball unless he gets a kick return.

It partly looks like experimenting before the finals which is fine. But Nathan shouldn't be risked til Round 25 and should be on bench for most of that game. Week 1 of finals we should start him on bench for initial hit out too. We have a second chance if it loses us the game. We dont have another chance in Nathan's shoulder though