Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

Well I played cricket for 16 years before my first real serious game of golf, so a lot of covet drives early doors. But I’m not a huge hitter of the ball the boys say my back swing is not big or fast enough and I need to get height into my tee shots. So they did suggest a flex 10.5 % Driver. My mate has Srixon and he reckons they are pretty good. My other mate bought some Cleveland’s and I’ve had a bit of a hit with his irons and they are also very good.
Flex is the whippiness of the shaft...lol. They come in regular, stiff or extra stiff...lol. If you aren't a big hitter then you should go with regular or stiff. I reckon you'd be fine with stiff if you are relatively athletic.

...lol [COUGH]

The 10.5 refers to degrees of loft. Strong golfers with lots of club head speed normally go with lower loft to keep the spin down but 10.5 is pretty standard.

Based on your response you don't appear to be an equipment obsessed knobhead like I am so I'd go the clearance or second hand route. The technology in clubs maxed out years ago so even clubs that are 5 years old are pretty good.

2nd swing golf are f**ken awesome. Thats where I'd be looking to start with.

Suggest drivers and woods - Taylormade M2, M4 and M6; Ping G400 Max, G410 Max; Callaway Mavrik Max or Epic; Cobra F9.

Irons - Srixon z585, z565 or z545; Ping G400 or G410; Taylormade M2, M4 or M6; Callaway Rogue; Cobra F9.

Wedges - Cleveland CBX.

I’m pretty sure I told you guys to buy Shiba. Inu coin. Gaz, can you check please?
You did and I watched it in my Coinspot wallet. The thing is that the 200% surge occurred by FOMO idiots who are reading between the lines Qanon style. An innocuous post by Tesla guy about a new puppy and *boom*, merkins think he dropped a huge hint. Am I wrong or are there some fundamentals behind the coin ?

We've had this discussion.
Crypto is high risk high reward. We understand this. People happy to have a go at the luck dip will. Good luck to the ones who get rich from it.

Many just have zero interest in it. Some people value their time and money to much and don't have a lot spare to take these risks.
What would I happily risk? Maybe 5k. But even if it went up 5 x to 25k it is hardly life f**king changing.

Unless I had 2 or 3 million spare and was happy to lose 200k I couldn't be arsed

Actually if I had that much spare I would rather try my luck with short price betting. Teams paying 1.35 or less. Maybe put 2 in a multi.

Bandwagon

Crypto is high risk high reward. We understand this. People happy to have a go at the luck dip will. Good luck to the ones who get rich from it.

Many just have zero interest in it. Some people value their time and money to much and don't have a lot spare to take these risks.
What would I happily risk? Maybe 5k. But even if it went up 5 x to 25k it is hardly life f**king changing.

Unless I had 2 or 3 million spare and was happy to lose 200k I couldn't be arsed

I can't get my head around the idea that it's not simply become an industry by which to sell speculative financial instruments running on FOMO.

Sure there's technology attached, but how is it inextricably tied to anything? Technology is adaptable, it doesn't need to be locked to a particular coin.

Yes merkins are making money, yes it can be a store of wealth, but it's certainly not a better solution to a problem for which there weren't already solutions. In fact it's only that it's value has increased through speculation that any of that is true.

You did and I watched it in my Coinspot wallet. The thing is that the 200% surge occurred by FOMO idiots who are reading between the lines Qanon style. An innocuous post by Tesla guy about a new puppy and *boom*, merkins think he dropped a huge hint. Am I wrong or are there some fundamentals behind the coin ?

Shiba is a hustle. Either set and forget it or day trade. Either way you will make money if you are smart and see the trends.

I agree with you mate. It’s not the be all and end all. I’ve lost some short term money but long term I’ve made because this stuff is still in its infancy but one thing is for sure. It’s isn’t going away in our lifetime.

I have a mate who is a small property developer in Brisbane. When I put in $1k on something he puts in $50k. He loves me because he is a day trader and basically used his crypto profits to finish off a nice place that he recently sold. There is however risk and he is willing to take it. I wouldn’t which is why I only ‘invest’ a fraction of what he does.

I can't get my head around the idea that it's not simply become an industry by which to sell speculative financial instruments running on FOMO.

Sure there's technology attached, but how is it inextricably tied to anything? Technology is adaptable, it doesn't need to be locked to a particular coin.

Yes merkins are making money, yes it can be a store of wealth, but it's certainly not a better solution to a problem for which there weren't already solutions. In fact it's only that it's value has increased through speculation that any of that is true.
The technology is the blockchain. The main ones are etherium, Bitcoin and Cardano. The blockchain is a peer to peer technology reliant on trust between people. It’s too far gone for someone now to just come up with something better. They have been developing this stuff for several years. Most coins use the etherium network and they serve a purpose. Mostly smart contracts. Not just a monetary transaction. The coin is not really a coin but a percentage or part enabler of the technology.

Bitcoin will be what all coins are pegged to. Like the gold standard in the old days. Because it’s truly finite it cannot be manipulated by not adhering to the rules like just printing more money like what the Yanks are doing.

The Yanks are now in a pickle because they know they can’t pay their loans which is why they are pressuring the senate to raise their debt ceiling. A bit like increasing your home loan from 30 years to 50 years so the repayments reduce. The countries that they owe it are mostly American which creates a knock on affect on their economy. The second most? You guessed it China. Which is why they create havoc in the world so that they can agitate them into not calling for their money.

When the inevitable happens and the market crashes in the old days people would panic and start putting their money in stable stocks like gold. Now they will be putting it in Bitcoin. Which is digital gold. The new store of value.

yeah this is a joke thing ...... but its one of the store of value cryptos - as opposed to tokens that have a use

re: store of value .... what the fundamentals behind gold? ..... its rare .... what else?

yeah this is a joke thing ...... but its one of the store of value cryptos - as opposed to tokens that have a use

re: store of value .... what the fundamentals behind gold? ..... its rare .... what else?
It’s considered valuable.

Soren Lorenson

How do you actually get money out of it? Like as in, when you sell it, does the profit come back as money in your bank account?

Nobody in their right mind would use a random crypto as a store of value. You could loose all your cash overnight without notice.

Here is a metaphor that best describes the crypto market.

fainting-goat-22.gif

Nobody in their right mind would use a random crypto as a store of value. You could loose all your cash overnight without notice.

Here is a metaphor that best describes the crypto market.

fainting-goat-22.gif
yes I realise shib is not somewhere to store value as it currently stands .... bitcoin is obviously the place for that as things currently stand .... I just mean it fits into that pool of "cryptos" which aren't a token for an explicit purpose

Shiny. And its been around for 1000s of year. The oldest form of currency. It has history which makes it stable. Like property.
If a new mineral come out people would be sceptical also. Gold has a value that's been placed in it like everything else by us. Same as a property.

If everyone got together and said I am not purchasing property the market would crash.