Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

I took a punt and purchased a property when coronavirus first hit last year in April. About 100- 150k was wiped off in weeks as people wanted to sell up fast. I thought f**k it.
Within 3-6mths it bounced back from that. And then gained another 20-25% in the last 12mths.
I had a real good feeling about it.
I’m truly happy for you and once the renovations are complete I’ll get one of my wife’s horny cousins to bring you some home made burek and buttermilk.

I took a punt and purchased a property when coronavirus first hit last year in April. About 100- 150k was wiped off in weeks as people wanted to sell up fast. I thought f**k it.
Within 3-6mths it bounced back from that. And then gained another 20-25% in the last 12mths.
How very Sydney of you to have a real estate flex !

My house has gone up 400% in the 10 years since I bought it. Who cares really, cos so has everyone else's.

A true flex is someone's mate who pocketed $30m for a block near the western Sydney airport, when it was only worth $3m by valuation.

^^^^ Reminds me of the ABC podcast "Russia if you are listening". They tell a story of how Putin built the infrastructure for Sochi Winter Olympics. He'd award the jobs for highways and stadiums to companies owned by the Oligarchs worth 5 times more than the normal build price to keep them onside and probably cop a return earner.

How very Sydney of you to have a real estate flex !

My house has gone up 400% in the 10 years since I bought it. Who cares really, cos so has everyone else's.

A true flex is someone's mate who pocketed $30m for a block near the western Sydney airport, when it was only worth $3m by valuation.

Sometimes I think you're OK. Then other times I think your bit of a dickhead.
Right now I lean toward Dickhead

I’m impressed Strides. That’s exactly what I think will happen. Who says this is just a footy forum? We are now providing solid financial tips for all the battlers out there, the working class and struggle street.

Carramar seems like a lifetime ago. 😉
crypto for the pissants, I mean peasants

Right but look at the crippling debt you had to take on to buy last year. If you had bought in the 90s your debt would've been f**k all compared to your income.

Eelogical

Keep hoarding your nuts for winter ya bunch of squirrels. There's a big Straya out there if you haven't noticed.

Right but look at the crippling debt you had to take on to buy last year. If you had bought in the 90s your debt would've been f**k all compared to your income.

You are assuming a lot of things here thou. Firstly is mortgage size. 2nd is hourly rate of a sparky.
An interest rate of 1.95% vs 10% in the 90s And a sparkies wage has atleast gone up 2.5- 3 x also since the 90s.
Then add the cost of motor vehicles and tools are more reasonable these days.

Keep hoarding your nuts for winter ya bunch of squirrels. There's a big Straya out there if you haven't noticed.

Some people find travel slightly boring and a bit of a pain in the arse. No offence intended to anyone and you love it and I think that's great. I've travelled around the world. In the end it felt like I was just eating,drinking ,chatting and rooting in different locations. I lost complete interest in it.

Sure I will still travel again but I feel more excitement and rewarded from gaining knowledge. Learning something new. Completing a renovation at home. Improving my cooking skills. Getting better at guitar each week or just a few beers with friends and family.
Doing these things makes me feel like I am moving forward in life and achieving goals.I get a sense of importance. Puts a smile on my face.

I wish I could just cruise around and do f**k all and enjoy it. But it isn't me. It almost feels like a big waste of time when I could be getting better at something.