Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Junior Amone

Parko1310

I actually don’t think getting burton in 2024 is all that ridiculous of a suggestion from possm as maybe some previous suggestions have been. Hunt’s contract ends next year and getting him to re-sign cut price given his age at that stage could be an option. Even if we let hunt go, then the money is there to make a play for Burton. Don’t get me wrong, Amone seems to be coming along nicely but Burton is another level. I’m also concerned about when Hunt does move on, playing Sullivan in the halves with Amone will be a really inexperienced pairing. I think Sullivan and Burton has the potential to be something pretty special. So if the Dragons decide they’re not going to play games with Amone’s management, they have the chance to show a bit of ruthlessness here. Yes, Amone is a talent. But Burton is probably better. Do they let Amone go for an upgrade in his position? I think it’s really something to consider because Burton will only get better.

Walpole

Burton declined to take up his option for 2023 and is going to the market to find out his value. I say sign him. We need some SOO standard players in our spine. Burton 6 and Hunt 7 are what we need in 2023.
Burton is a Bulldog in 2023. Where he is in 2024 shouldn't matter to us because we should have supported and developed Amone into a top class 5/8 by then.

justadragon

I actually don’t think getting burton in 2024 is all that ridiculous of a suggestion from possm as maybe some previous suggestions have been. Hunt’s contract ends next year and getting him to re-sign cut price given his age at that stage could be an option. Even if we let hunt go, then the money is there to make a play for Burton. Don’t get me wrong, Amone seems to be coming along nicely but Burton is another level. I’m also concerned about when Hunt does move on, playing Sullivan in the halves with Amone will be a really inexperienced pairing. I think Sullivan and Burton has the potential to be something pretty special. So if the Dragons decide they’re not going to play games with Amone’s management, they have the chance to show a bit of ruthlessness here. Yes, Amone is a talent. But Burton is probably better. Do they let Amone go for an upgrade in his position? I think it’s really something to consider because Burton will only get better.
i dont even know why we are contemplating this, yes Burton is the better player but he is also way more advanced in his career. nothing is yet confirmed that amone is going to the dolphins, and we really are expecting him to stay at the dragons. we ask for player loyalty but yet we are prepared to punt him if we think that there is something better on the horizon. do you actually know what it would take to get Burton to the dragons and at what sacrifice. for me im sticking to sullivan and amone as our future, and i sincerely hope they stick with us

Dragon David

i dont even know why we are contemplating this, yes Burton is the better player but he is also way more advanced in his career. nothing is yet confirmed that amone is going to the dolphins, and we really are expecting him to stay at the dragons. we ask for player loyalty but yet we are prepared to punt him if we think that there is something better on the horizon. do you actually know what it would take to get Burton to the dragons and at what sacrifice. for me im sticking to sullivan and amone as our future, and i sincerely hope they stick with us
I'm waiting to see who this re-signing of a player is, which I hope is Amone as his contract is to the end of 2023. Sullivan is signed to the end of 2025. The other guy, Tyrell Sloan, is well and truly in the background now - he is contracted to the end of 2024. I have a hunch that he isn't all that happy with how Griffin has treated him and I don't think that he is getting the coaching from the KOE Cup coach to improve his one on one defence. He was touted as the next big thing - certainly has changed for him now.

BLM01

Burton declined to take up his option for 2023 and is going to the market to find out his value. I say sign him. We need some SOO standard players in our spine. Burton 6 and Hunt 7 are what we need in 2023.
I thought you wanted Hunt at 9, Sullivan & Amone in the halves. What has happened?

Parko1310

I wouldn’t say Burton is way more advanced in his career. He’s played only 22 more games than Amone has… It’s not idiotic in my opinion to consider an option where we get a player that will almost certainly turn out to be better. Key word CONSIDER. Just about every club in the nrl will be considering burton as an option given he’s set to test his worth, it’d be stupid not to in my opinion. That’s not to say I don’t like Amone, I think he’s developing very nicely and getting better with every performance which is very pleasing to see. However, Burton is going to be an outright star and will soon be in the top 10 players in the NRL. To not consider putting a premiership winner, State of Origin rep and someone with an already developed kicking game next to our next big thing in Sullivan would just be foolish. Consideration doesn’t mean it has to be done. I think it is something worth exploring but there’s plenty to happen before deciding whether this is really feasible or if we can work around the lack of experience of Amone and Sullivan together in first grade by improving other areas in our team around them.

Dragon Blood

Burton is a Bulldog in 2023. Where he is in 2024 shouldn't matter to us because we should have supported and developed Amone into a top class 5/8 by then.
Judging from what I saw in Rep round of Amone at 7, he's not an organizer and not a natural kicker (long-distance anyway), especially if Sowie is giving kicking training to the playmakers. I just don't think Amone has it in him and I would gladly swap him for Burton at 6 and Sullivan at 7 for 2024. If Hunt takes up his PO for 2024 stick him at 9 with Mully at 14 to be ready for 2025 with a proper coach we are top 4 contenders if not in the GF

Dragon Blood

Anyone see Junior play half-back for Tonga yesterday- slippery, difficult conditions made for an error ridden, pretty poor game. Junior struggled playing out of position at 7 with a game management role and having to do most of the kicking with an inexperienced 6 in Staggs.

What was most obvious me to however was his poor long-kicking game. Many of his kicks were easily fielded on the full and didn't go where intended. His kicking style, like Hunt's is clunky and he seems to look down when setting up his kick rather than keep an eye on the rushing defence. if he is to continue as our 6, this will need to improve.

Elsewhere, the cream rose to the top. Joey Manu at full-back was sensational for the Blacks and he would be any team's FB- except for the Chooks of course with Teddy. Jahrome Hughes gave poor old Junior a lesson in half back play. Suli was solid but unspectacular in a beaten team.
FFS rest our best No. 9 in B Hunt and give Sullivan a go at 7 with porn star mustache ( AKA poor man's Borey Snorman - Amone-Noone inferior shadow) and put Mboi at 9 or 14. If pornstar mustache still doesn't cut it then I'll drive him to Redcliffe to sign St.Benny's contract myself.

The f'ing arrogant dopey prick arked up to one of my mates in the Gong one night in the club scene a couple of months back. He wanted to drunkenly punch on with a 7th dan black belt. Luckily for my mate being cool calm sober and ethical, otherwise Mr Mustache may have only seen a footy field from his wheelchair.

Walpole

Judging from what I saw in Rep round of Amone at 7, he's not an organizer and not a natural kicker (long-distance anyway), especially if Sowie is giving kicking training to the playmakers. I just don't think Amone has it in him and I would gladly swap him for Burton at 6 and Sullivan at 7 for 2024. If Hunt takes up his PO for 2024 stick him at 9 with Mully at 14 to be ready for 2025 with a proper coach we are top 4 contenders if not in the GF
So you'd prefer the Roosters model of buying every top player that comes on the market than developing our own juniors? Hate to tell you, but we don't have the cash, attraction for players or the connections and smarts to cheat the cap or start buying whoever we want. Fantasy - "we should buy Payne Haas"...reality - we buy Aaron Woods.

AyiosYiorgos

We have the cash, same as the other clubs, every club is given a grant which is basically the salary cap amount, we may not be currently "attractive" to players which means we may have to pay extra to get them in but a few good seasons where we are competitive and in the hunt for semis/GF and that sorts itself out and why do we need to have the smarts to cheat the salary cap, you want us to cheat it so then you can praise our management or give it to them when we get caught??
Before you say anything re Third party deals, they have nothing to do with clubs organising it, it's up to the manager, its easy to say all clubs organise this but again do you want us to get caught cheating the salary cap..

Walpole

We have the cash, same as the other clubs, every club is given a grant which is basically the salary cap amount, we may not be currently "attractive" to players which means we may have to pay extra to get them in but a few good seasons where we are competitive and in the hunt for semis/GF and that sorts itself out and why do we need to have the smarts to cheat the salary cap, you want us to cheat it so then you can praise our management or give it to them when we get caught??
Before you say anything re Third party deals, they have nothing to do with clubs organising it, it's up to the manager, its easy to say all clubs organise this but again do you want us to get caught cheating the salary cap..
Maybe I'm not clear. I don't think we need to buy a comp. I don't think we need to cheat the cap. I think we need to follow the Penrith model and develop our juniors. We have the basis for a successful team in a year or two without buying more than a couple of good forwards. What we don't appear to have is the structure and system in place to make this happen.

denis preston

I'm waiting to see who this re-signing of a player is, which I hope is Amone as his contract is to the end of 2023. Sullivan is signed to the end of 2025. The other guy, Tyrell Sloan, is well and truly in the background now - he is contracted to the end of 2024. I have a hunch that he isn't all that happy with how Griffin has treated him and I don't think that he is getting the coaching from the KOE Cup coach to improve his one on one defence. He was touted as the next big thing - certainly has changed for him now.
C'mon give him time and wait until his body fills out which will give him enormous confidence. No wonder Dragons fans get the impatient tag at times.

SBD82

FFS rest our best No. 9 in B Hunt and give Sullivan a go at 7 with porn star mustache ( AKA poor man's Borey Snorman - Amone-Noone inferior shadow) and put Mboi at 9 or 14. If pornstar mustache still doesn't cut it then I'll drive him to Redcliffe to sign St.Benny's contract myself.

The f'ing arrogant dopey prick arked up to one of my mates in the Gong one night in the club scene a couple of months back. He wanted to drunkenly punch on with a 7th dan black belt. Luckily for my mate being cool calm sober and ethical, otherwise Mr Mustache may have only seen a footy field from his wheelchair.
I’ll take “things that didn’t happen” for 200 points thanks Alex.

Dragon David

All good with what you are saying and agree only young , as long as he is being spoken to and helped along the way by the coaching staff ...... and used in top grade when needed .......
I'm hearing that he is being mentored by a former union player and getting help with his one on one defence with the same guy. Not much help from the KOE coach I have heard.

Patience is one thing which I have said that is needed by these youngsters in other posts but when I hear that Sloan isn't getting the proper attention to help with his development and nothing from Hook, I can understand Sloan's dilemma and frustration.

Illusion

I'm hearing that he is being mentored by a former union player and getting help with his one on one defence with the same guy. Not much help from the KOE coach I have heard.

Patience is one thing which I have said that is needed by these youngsters in other posts but when I hear that Sloan isn't getting the proper attention to help with his development and nothing from Hook, I can understand Sloan's dilemma and frustration.
Exactly they need to keep him interested so he can develop , I have said many times playing in the lower grades to try and improve doesn't cut it for me as the game is completely different in a lot of ways , Defense, Ref , no buncker rules, the speed of the game ...... So he needs to be coached and helped along if thats what has to happen ..... Keep him interested after his rise last year .....