Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Seriously mate, move on.

would ihelp if the whole site acknowledged that you were right all along and that POs were the right course simply because that’s what the club did?
Actually mate, I was never the one spruiking POs as some genius move. Instead it's you dopes who didn't discover them until we stopped our four year run of top eight finishes (for the first time since 2002) and suddenly decided POs were the problem because you love having shit to whinge about.

Other than the current media shitstorm, POs are neither inherently good nor bad. They are just something clubs can offer players that reduces their cost under the cap, if the player agrees. Given there are so few POs in the game, I'm certain most players don't want them.
can we move on to speculation and hot tips as to whom we can buy to build the squad?
I'm not the one who keeps bringing them up. But if anyone does, it's a conversation I'm happy to keep having. Over and over again if need be. The ball's in your court. That's a golf reference, if you're not tracking.
my thoughts are that at the end of this year we will lose brown, Cartwright, lussick, Dunster and ofahengaue - conservatively that has to leave us with about 2.6m-2.7?

Not sure about availability, but I reckon these wouldn’t be bad replacements and may be talented players seeking opportunity:

pezet
Harry Hayes/ Harrison Hassett
Mozer
Stonestreet
Lazarus Vaalepu

I think you could make attractive offers to swing all of them out of their current clubs in terms of money and opportunity - might even be able to add a Trey Mooney…

just trying yo show that the rebuild is closer than some think and that Hindy111 might be right in his estimate that we will rebuild quicker than the dogs or tigers
Agreed

Well we know he was off contract with a player option to stay. It was also reported that we had made no new offer. Therefore the only way he was staying was by activating his PO, which was considerably less than his market value. It was win/win for us.
Sarcastic Season 9 GIF by The Office

The club can do no wrong, until they reverse course on something they did no wrong with
It's neither right nor wrong. There are pros and cons to player (and club) options, and the calculation for the club is different every time. At the moment that calculation includes a media narrative that didn't exist when we were offering POs between 2019 and 2023, and the club needs to make at least a token effort to placate its customers.

I do wonder if we are seriously considering Galvin. We didn't really improve our offer to Drown, we probably could have given him a longer deal (not saying we should had). Then Moses re-signs with minimal media speculation. Which is unusual for him.

Then reports Galvin will go to market, along with having the same manager as Moses....

Almost like it's all been planned....

I think it's definitely on the cards.

I do wonder if we are seriously considering Galvin. We didn't really improve our offer to Drown, we probably could have given him a longer deal (not saying we should had). Then Moses re-signs with minimal media speculation. Which is unusual for him.

Then reports Galvin will go to market, along with having the same manager as Moses....

He had a deal until 2031 on $1.1m. Every option in his favour. Should we have extended it to 2035?

Soren Lorenson

Well we know he was off contract with a player option to stay. It was also reported that we had made no new offer. Therefore the only way he was staying was by activating his PO, which was considerably less than his market value. It was win/win for us.
When you put it this way, saying he had a contract till 2031 was the dumbest part of the whole clownshow. Dishonest even.

I think BA got himself sacked over not improving his tactics, not having a plan B, not addressing the problems that were within the team and the comfortable and selfish attitude that crept within the group.

But were all those things the coaches job.
I think it was just for his relationships with senior players. Tactics are designed for footy players to understand. They're not rocket surgery.

Cloeel

He had a deal until 2031 on $1.1m. Every option in his favour. Should we have extended it to 2035?

Maybe the PO's was a good way to guarantee Brown stays in the short term (with the potential long term security) knowing full well the contract amount would eventually force Brown to pull the trigger and go else where if he wasn't developing?

Maybe at the time of doing the contract Parra hierarchy were not sold on Brown being our long term solution. Using an undervalue future option the loaded gun that forces Brown to do the dirty work.

If he had taken up the option it would've been for (allegedly) $200k less than he was worth to another club. It's good business. And now we have his cap space to use elsewhere.

Losing players isn't what hurts a club. Overpaying them is, which includes having expensive players unavailable long term.

When you put it this way, saying he had a contract till 2031 was the dumbest part of the whole clownshow. Dishonest even.
It demonstrated our commitment to the player, which is what the fans wanted. If the player then failed to match that commitment later, it was on him, which we've recently seen. Some merkins are expecting Drown to get booed on Sunday, by which I mean, they will boo him.

The club was also clear about the options being in Drown's favour. It wasn't dishonest.

JokerEel

Add to that we waved the cooling off period so Brown couldn't change his mind...

If he had taken up the option it would've been for (allegedly) $200k less than he was worth to another club. It's good business. And now we have his cap space to use elsewhere.

Losing players isn't what hurts a club. Overpaying them is, which includes having expensive players unavailable long term.
I’m in agreement with you here. With this pelican management’s f**k up had a silver lining.

So who do you want to replace him? Give me some options.

Joshuatheeel

No, I didn't say we should have. But we could have......and we had the ability to.

Like we gave Moses a deal until he was 35 or so...we could have given Drown, a 8 year deal (which wouId have been stupid), until he was 33 or so......which isn't that old for a half....but we chose not too..........

No, I didn't say we should have. But we could have......and we had the ability to.

Like we gave Moses a deal until he was 35 or so...we could have given Drown, a 8 year deal (which wouId have been stupid), until he was 33 or so......which isn't that old for a half....but we chose not too..........
I get what you’re saying and agree I don’t think Ryles rates him as much as the last coach did.

It’s also evident with Matterson and Cartwright. Gutherson and RCG too. The BA click is being boned.