Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

General Discussion Thread

Goonji

Seriously, who cares about Reece Walsh punching his mate in the head. Just 2 young blokes having a bit of fun like blokes their age do. Maybe not smart but who didn't do something dumb at that age?

Chins

Seriously, who cares about Reece Walsh punching his mate in the head. Just 2 young blokes having a bit of fun like blokes their age do. Maybe not smart but who didn't do something dumb at that age?
Some of us were still doing much worse into our 30s haha

Oldpanther86

People still don't understand these guys have a job that's entirely dependent on TV deals and have to make certain sacrifices and use a certain amount of restraint with their public image.

Not to mention if his mate fell back on that tiled floor the wrong way he's seriously injured or dead.

Then you've got Walsh admitting it's a regular thing so good luck getting any cte compensation from the nrl now.

Hooked

I am not liking what I am reading in the article further down. The Pears are looking to target Yeo who apparently has some connections to Perth (first I've heard of that).

I think he goes to ESL after his current deal expires. I have read a few times he is keen on going to England.

soc123_au

I am not liking what I am reading in the article further down. The Pears are looking to target Yeo who apparently has some connections to Perth (first I've heard of that).
I cant imagine Yeo walking away from his legacy here. He will be a club legend regardless, but he strikes me as the type of person that would value being a one club player. He is on a decent coin here, the coin would need to be ridiculous to want to walk away. If they did throw something stupid and he took it, then what can you do.

Goonji

People still don't understand these guys have a job that's entirely dependent on TV deals and have to make certain sacrifices and use a certain amount of restraint with their public image.

Not to mention if his mate fell back on that tiled floor the wrong way he's seriously injured or dead.

Then you've got Walsh admitting it's a regular thing so good luck getting any cte compensation from the nrl now.
I get that, but jeez, they could do a hell of a lot worse. No drugs, no alcohol, no beating up your missus or crashing your car.

Oldpanther86

I get that, but jeez, they could do a hell of a lot worse. No drugs, no alcohol, no beating up your missus or crashing your car.

Sure what he did or even the water thing aren't that bad really but the laid back she'll be right mate, let boys be boys simply doesn't apply to the nrl for reasons they grt very well compensated in return for. Walsh for example is a million dollar player so not acting like a goose and posting it on social media isn't that big a sacrifice.

Goonji

Is the NRL the only professional sport that you are aware of that punishes it’s teams for being successful?

soc123_au

Only the Dogs could spend $750k on the hottest young prospect in the game without any idea of where to play him.

f**k I hope it blows up for them.
Yeah, I'm on the deathriding bandwagon for this one. I hope it's a spectacular failure. Mostly for how it's been handled, not any particular hate for the Dogs in general.

Bob

Mary Fowler spills on baby plans as Ivan reveals truth about Nathan Cleary rugby rumours​

Ivan Cleary has responded to the latest rumours surrounding son Nathan.​

Sam Goodwin
Sam Goodwin
·Sports Editor
Wed 4 June 2025 at 8:39 am AEST·4-min read

Mary Fowler has opened up on her plans to have a big family one day, while Ivan Cleary has shut down rumours that Nathan is interested in a switch to rugby union. Speaking on the 'Keegan and Company' podcast with former NRL player Keegan Hipgrave this week, Fowler revealed she sees herself having multiple children one day.
“I really want to have a big family,” the Matildas star said. “The only dream I have at the moment is to be a mum and have heaps of kids and be in a space where they can play outside a lot. We can do the gardening and feed the animals together and to be able to run wild in the place; be in the mud. If I had the set-up for that, it would be a dream.”
Mary Fowler and Nathan Cleary, alongside the Cleary family.

Fowler and Cleary both come from big families. She has four siblings - Caoimhin, Seamus, Ciara and Louise - while Nathan has brother Jet (also an NRL player) and sisters Indiana and Milaya. Fowler said she wants the same for herself when she starts a family.

“I would love to have two or three kids of my own and then adopt,” she said. “I don’t know how many I would adopt, it’s a long process. But in an ideal world I would like to adopt siblings. I would bring all of them into the home.

“The dream would definitely have a lot of outdoor space because I would love to have lots of animals. I’m not as bothered about what the house would look like, I just want to have space for a garden set-up to grow my own crops. I really want to have a whole range of animals. It’s very random and I’m trying to convince Nath that it would be a good idea. I really want to get a cow, some little goats, maybe a pig, some geese and I also really want to get a Great Dane.”

Mary Fowler and Nathan Cleary.

Ivan Cleary slaps down Nathan to rugby rumours​

Whether Fowler and Cleary will get their 'dream' family scenario remains to be seen, and the major sticking point is the fact she's based on the other side of the world in England. Rumours have been rife for months that Cleary might switch to the English Super League in the near future to be closer to Fowler in Manchester.

But new rumours emerged last week that a code switch to rugby union could be on the cards. Wallabies great Tim Horan revealed he'd heard it on good authority that Cleary is "very keen" on the move, while Morgan Turinui floated the possibility of Cleary playing the 15-man code in France or England.

But NRL journalist Andrew Webster revealed on Tuesday night that Cleary's father Ivan and manager George Mimis have both rejected the claims. When asked if there was any truth to the rumours on SEN radio, Webster replied: "None whatsoever."

Ivan and Nathan Cleary.

He added: "People seem to overlook the fact he's under contract with Penrith until the end of 2027, a club he loves dearly and coached by father Ivan. I made some calls on it and Ivan said 'I've been getting these sort of phone calls for six months about Nathan going to rugby union, and it's not right'.
"George Mimis said he hasn't had a conversation with anyone involved with a rugby club in any competition anywhere in the world. So that's pretty definitive."

Cleary has previously admitted he'd be interested in playing for the Wallabies one day. Rugby Australia changed the rules in recent years to allow overseas players to represent the Wallabies, meaning Cleary would be eligible for national selection if he was based in England or France. But Webster pointed out that playing European rugby isn't actually the glamorous lifestyle it's made out to be.

Bob

Nathan Cleary opens up on Jarome Luai clash amid Tigers captain's ugly act towards teammate​

Cleary's showdown against Luai comes after the Tigers star gave his own teammate a massive spray.​

Andrew Reid
Andrew Reid
Mon 2 June 2025 at 3:35 pm AEST·4-min read

Nathan Cleary insists he'll be ready to respond if Jarome Luai tries to sledge him when the former teammates square off against one another for the first time in the NRL on Sunday. And if Luai's spray for his own Wests Tigers teammate Jack Bird is anything to go by, there could be fireworks when the four-time premiership winners lock horns at CommBank Stadium.
Cleary's Panthers climbed off the bottom of the NRL ladder with an 18-10 win over Parramatta on Sunday. And the four-time reigning premiers will be looking to register back-to-back victories for the first time this season against a Tigers side coming off the back of a four-point defeat to North Queensland.
On the right are former Penrith Panthers teammates Jarome Luai and Nathan Cleary.

Jarome Luai is set to play against ex-Penrith teammate Nathan Cleary for the first time in the NRL after giving Tigers star Jack Bird a huge spray in the loss to the Cowboys. Pic: Fox League/Getty
It will be the first meeting between Cleary and Luai in the NRL, after the latter decided to join the Tigers at the end of last season. The pair won an astonishing 78 of 89 matches in the halves together for the Panthers and shared in all four of Penrith's grand final triumphs as part of the greatest club dynasty in the NRL era.

Cleary admits it will be weird to view Luai as a rival again, having achieved so much alongside his good friend. The Panthers co-captain got the better of Luai's Samoa in 2022 when Cleary helped the Kangaroos win the World Cup final but the Penrith star still has vivid memories of coming up against Luai's St Marys Saints in his junior footy days for Penrith Brothers.

"We had a few duels back then but obviously it's been a long time," Cleary said. "I'm looking forward to it. "I do remember probably the biggest upset in junior footy history. We beat them one day and they were stacked. They were so good.

"They used to beat us just about 50-nil every time... and one day we got them. He (Luai) might have cried. I'm not sure that'll happen again." Cleary says he's been impressed by the impact Luai has had on the Tigers since joining the three-time reigning wooden spooners and reckons they're "one of the best teams in the comp" when momentum is on their side.

Seen here, Jarome Luai and Nathan Cleary pose together with the NRL premiership trophy after the Penrith Panthers' fourth straight grand final win in 2024.

Jarome Luai and Nathan Cleary pose together with the NRL premiership trophy after the Penrith Panthers' fourth straight grand final win in 2024. Pic: Getty (Cameron Spencer via Getty Images)
Cleary says the energy Luai brings is "probably his greatest asset" but played down suggestions there could be animosity when they square off. "There's just always that mutual respect there. We don't talk all the time but whenever we do or whenever we see each other, it's always love," he said.

"You'll never be able to take away what we've been able to achieve together." But Cleary insists he will be ready to fight fire with fire if Luai resorts to sledging on Sunday. "I don't really start the chirp but if he starts it then we'll see," Cleary said with a smile.

Bob

Nathan Cleary's classy act comes to light after brutal axing of Penrith Panthers Test player​

The champion halfback showed his leadership, and it's paying off in spades.​

Sam Goodwin
Sam Goodwin
·Sports Editor
Tue 3 June 2025 at 1:06 pm AEST·3-min read

Casey McLean has revealed the conversation he had with Nathan Cleary after being axed by the Penrith Panthers that spurred him to return with a bang for the defending premiers. McLean was so highly-rated that he made his Test debut for New Zealand last year, but hasn't lived up to his lofty expectations in 2025.
The 19-year-old has made a number of costly blunders, most notably failing to pass to winger Tom Jenkins for what would have been the match-winning try against the Cowboys in Round 5. That came after he was dropped to reserve grade in Round 4, and he then spent another three weeks out of the first-grade team between Round 9-11.
Nathan Cleary and Casey McLean in action for the Panthers.

Nathan Cleary had some words of wisdom for Casey McLean after he was axed by the Panthers. Image: Getty
He was recalled to NRL level in Round 12 against the Knights, and scored in the Panthers' 18-10 victory over Parramatta last weekend. Tellingly, he backed himself and threw a dummy that Test winger Zac Lomax fell for as he scored a crucial try in the first half.

Rather than second-guess himself after copping criticism for failing to pass on a number of occasions this year, McLean knew the dummy was on this time and fooled the Eels defenders. Speaking on Tuesday, the teenager opened up on some words of wisdom he received from Cleary after his most recent axing.

"He just says it's a journey. Not everything's going to be highs, so you've got to ride the lows as well," McLean said. "It's just all learning, you can't take things as negatives. You've got to take everything as a positive, find ways to improve, move forward and this (win over the Eels) showcases what happens, I suppose."

Bob

Panthers' honesty session that could lead to turnaround​

McLean said the playing group had an honesty session when Cleary and others were absent for State of Origin 1. The Panthers were missing Cleary, Dylan Edwards, Isaah Yeo, Liam Martin and Brian To'o when they were thrashed by the lowly Knights in Round 12.

But hooker Mitch Kenny and the remaining senior players convened the squad for some tough love before the Eels game. "All of us got together... and put the line in the sand, what needs to be better, especially standards-wise," McLean revealed. "It was a player-driven thing. All the boys kind of knew what needed to happen."

Casey McLean, pictured here scoring a crucial try for Penrith against Parramatta.

Casey McLean scored a crucial try for Penrith against Parramatta. (Photo by Matt King/Getty Images) (Getty Images)

The four-time reigning premiers had slumped to last place on the ladder before the Parramatta game. Had they lost to the Eels it would have marked the latest point in a season since 1953 that a defending premier was last. But the win saw them leap-frog the Knights, Eels and Titans, and they're only three points behind Manly in seventh.

"Just flip that switch at training, just training habits and things like that led into what happened (against the Eels)," McLean said. Star halfback Cleary noticed the lift in intensity on his return from Origin duties.

"A few of the boys were talking about how hard the week at training had been," he said. "Maybe that's where we'd been lacking, just dropping our standards a little bit. I thought young guys like Casey were really good."