Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sack Adam O'Brien

Yup - the players not liking him is the sole possible reason why we are in the position…

Some good balanced arguments in this group.
You're right

We're in 15th mostly due to his inability to get the best out his team consistently and run a game plan based on his teams strengths not just what other clubs do. Injuries certainly haven't helped.

Players liking him or not is irrelevant so its a bit weird you keep harping that line Mrs OBrien

I think the main issue is that after a win like that one the coach should have the presence of mind to galvanise the town and the connection between the team fans when asked about it in the presser.

He could have said something like “it’s sad that they felt the need to boo us off the pitch but we used it as motivation for the second half and I hope the fans are proud of how we fought for them in that second half” I’m sure a comment like that would be far more uplifting than the one we got.

To me it almost seems like AOB is adopting the Ricky/Des attitude of creating a siege mentality amongst the group. We saw this in 2023 when we were in a deep form slump and he basically admitted his job was on the line and he probably didn’t have much time up his sleeve and somehow the whole vibe of the club started to change.

I can imagine the players would see these comments and feel like he went into bat for them which would have them feeling like they don’t want to let their coach down.

I think the most disappointing thing is that AOB has had his run ins with the media and the fan base before and you’d think he’d learn just to keep a lid on this sort of stuff. His overall aptitude with the media seems really poor.

Zoidberg

I think it came out much more aggressive than he intended. I’d say the point was “most people don’t understand how hard the team works to improve each week”.
I do think it needs to be addressed in a statement though.

HarVeeGee

I'm not a mind reader, but I'm gonna assume the booing fans weren't sitting there thinking "LET'S BOO THE KIDS WHO WERE PLAYING SG BALL LAST YEAR", as AOB frames it.

In fact, when the team was being introduced on the big screen, everyone got a big cheer... except one person. The head coach.

And then at half time the team is booed off as the culmination of weeks and weeks of negative, conservative, footy where we just never look likely to create anything in attack.

But yeah AOB I'm sure the punter on the hill was just really really filthy with Elijah Saliesa-Leaumoana... moron.

My take: The bloke knows the boos are all really for him and he can't handle it.

Maybe if it upsets him he shouldn't stick to a gameplan which involves feeding the smallest pack in the NRL into a meat grinder then hey?

Loose Cannon

I'm not a mind reader, but I'm gonna assume the booing fans weren't sitting there thinking "LET'S BOO THE KIDS WHO WERE PLAYING SG BALL LAST YEAR", as AOB frames it.

In fact, when the team was being introduced on the big screen, everyone got a big cheer... except one person. The head coach.

And then at half time the team is booed off as the culmination of weeks and weeks of negative, conservative, footy where we just never look likely to create anything in attack.

But yeah AOB I'm sure the punter on the hill was just really really filthy with Elijah Saliesa-Leaumoana... moron.

My take: The bloke knows the boos are all really for him and he can't handle it.

Maybe if it upsets him he shouldn't stick to a gameplan which involves feeding the smallest pack in the NRL into a meat grinder then hey?
Just now got a chance to give my read on his comments, but this above says it.

There is only one person getting booed, and it’s highly deserved.

aqua_duck

P
Yup - the players not liking him is the sole possible reason why we are in the position…

Some good balanced arguments in this group.
Please show me where I stated that was the sole reason?
You’re trying to twist this weird narrative for what reason I have no idea. My point is what does it matter if the players like him or not, results matter and the results aren’t there no matter how many BBQs he gets invited to.

aqua_duck

I think the main issue is that after a win like that one the coach should have the presence of mind to galvanise the town and the connection between the team fans when asked about it in the presser.

He could have said something like “it’s sad that they felt the need to boo us off the pitch but we used it as motivation for the second half and I hope the fans are proud of how we fought for them in that second half” I’m sure a comment like that would be far more uplifting than the one we got.

To me it almost seems like AOB is adopting the Ricky/Des attitude of creating a siege mentality amongst the group. We saw this in 2023 when we were in a deep form slump and he basically admitted his job was on the line and he probably didn’t have much time up his sleeve and somehow the whole vibe of the club started to change.

I can imagine the players would see these comments and feel like he went into bat for them which would have them feeling like they don’t want to let their coach down.

I think the most disappointing thing is that AOB has had his run ins with the media and the fan base before and you’d think he’d learn just to keep a lid on this sort of stuff. His overall aptitude with the media seems really poor.
His media aptitude is terrible, he just doesn’t come across as someone who’s in touch with reality most of the time

King-Gutho94

Brad Arthur was very similar at Parramatta.

Who is AOB best mate. Both are bush coaches.

Create a siege mentality within the group us v them and just rely on effort/ chase the collison.

Officials internally at Parra have told me what a breath of fresh air Ryles has been with everyone. The whole club now feel connected from the CEO to the coaches to the development players/reserve graders and office staff.

BA was very insular and kept a lot away from everyone with his cliche and senior players. Its why Ryles has moved on anyone close to BA.

And sorry Dylan was one of them.

AOB comes across as a more narcisstic wanker then BA though.

I was up there for the Parra game a few weeks back and i could feel the frustation with you fans building.

One of the best comeback wins and the coach has overshadowed it with his own ego.

Woody90

But that’s the thing - the presser isn’t held after they have had some time to analyse and process. It’s like 20 minutes after the game has finished. They have barely had time to talk to the players. Emotions are still high (or low). It makes for either great viewing or a train wreck.

Agree he shouldn’t have worded it the way he did, but I’m also glad he stuck up for the players. What sort of leader doesn’t?

One of the major responsibilities for a head coach is being the public face of the coaching team. If he can’t participate in one without insulting the fans he’d be better taking a Bennett approach and saying nothing.

Like others have mentioned, the fact that he jumped straight to insulting the fans and assuming we’re/they’re the problem at the stage he might not have had time to reflect on it says volumes about his general attitude.

He’s always quick to speak like he knows the fans and what we want, but he obviously knows nothing about this supporter base and that’s a huge problem when you coach any team, but especially one like the Knights.

Tweed Titan

I mean, he’s the one coaching in the NRL, while you are… nothing.

I don’t really care how he sounds in a presser 10 minutes after the game is finished. If he is emotional, if he cares about his players and defends them - f**king good. He gives a shit.

I’d much rather that than trotting out some trained corporate bullshit.
Weird response. RUOK mate? Family member of AOB?

Haffa

His media aptitude is terrible, he just doesn’t come across as someone who’s in touch with reality most of the time
He’s incredibly insecure and obviously consumes way too much press. The way he took credit for the second half as if the fans booing should have foreseen the master coaches half time adjustments was peak AOB.

8 scoreless halves out of 13 games even more if you exclude garbage time tries is what was being booed not a one half vacuum.

Tweed Titan

I don't mind a siege mentality (although it isn't sustainable), but you take the fans with you on that journey. Honestly his comments last night were disgraceful. He knows those boos were for him and his dogshit football style.
Yep super defensive comments. A bit like when he tried to take credit for Bellamy's premierships at the Storm.

I'm not even a Knights fan but it's blatantly obvious he is out of his depth. I feel sorry for you guts you deserve better than him. No where near his first gaffe either.

Alex28

You're right

We're in 15th mostly due to his inability to get the best out his team consistently and run a game plan based on his teams strengths not just what other clubs do. Injuries certainly haven't helped.

Players liking him or not is irrelevant so its a bit weird you keep harping that line Mrs OBrien
Jesus you are a sook about anyone who doesn’t agree with you. There are obvious issues (injuries, salary cap) but sure, keep blaming one individual.

He was talking about you last night. You don’t understand rugby league.

Alex28

P

Please show me where I stated that was the sole reason?
You’re trying to twist this weird narrative for what reason I have no idea. My point is what does it matter if the players like him or not, results matter and the results aren’t there no matter how many BBQs he gets invited to.
We are all reading too much into a bunch of throwaway comments. You questioned the results of the players bring behind him, I suggested there was more too it than that. It changes nothing - we are in a hole, but last night there was a bit of hope…