Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2025 Crowd Watch

AdelaideSharky

You could consider home Sharks finals games at Allianz Stadium as a proxy for this.

At the new Allianz Stadium, there have only been two home Sharks finals games:
- 2022 Elimination Final vs South Sydney (39,733) at 8:00pm on a Saturday
- 2024 Elimination Final vs North Queensland (19,124) at 7:50pm on a Friday

I would suggest that the sample size is not big enough yet to determine the feasibility of moving regular season games. 2022 reflected huge interest in the new stadium, and 2024 reflected an out of town rival on a congested weekend of sport (Bledisloe Cup, Swans Preliminary Final, Roosters vs Sea Eagles sellout). But its something to keep an eye on.

My hunch says that relocating home Sharks (and Manly) games to Allianz Stadium would be the wrong approach if you could prioritize home games here for South Sydney and St George Illawarra in the future.
As I said elsewhere in the thread, it's been blatantly obvious for years the Dragons have a massive identity crisis.

They keep up the Sydney club identity but the truth is they are a Illawarra/South Coast club these days.

They'd be far better served playing all of their home games at Wollongong's WIN Stadium.

Fans of Bulldogs, Tigers and Panthers have all voted with their feet on CommBank. Great for Parra. Not so much for anyone else.
Which is very strange given it ticks all the boxes:
Great public transport - tick
High quality stadium - tick
Entertainment options in walking distance - tick

I'd say more a mindset of fans that needs to change in Sydney. Seems 15-20min travel is a radius Sydney folk wont cross which is bizarre and why crowds are often low and away fans are often sparse.

titoelcolombiano

Tbh Dolphin Oval needs to be upgraded to 30K.

Redcliffe playing in the city is a nonsense too.
I'd agree with the first sentence. I'd love them to have the option of a mid-sized stadium up in Redcliffe. I'd disagree with the second sentence. I'm a southside Phins member and I'd want to keep at least the big derbies at Suncorp for capacity reasons if nothing else.

SLRBRONCOS

Broncos update for the remainder of the season - we really should average 40k. If we win vs the Wahs and Dogs in the coming weeks, I'd almost guarantee it because it will trigger some really good presales for the Eels and Souths games. But yeah, we are still shit, so that is unlikely.

28 June - V Wahs -- about 100 single seats from a sell out. Expect anywhere from 40-44k.

26 July - V Eels -- selling into level 7, some will be held back until the week of, probably will finish on 38-40k.

1 August - V Souths -- selling into level 7, some will be held back until the week of, probably will finish on 38-40k.

16 August - V Phins -- restricted view on sale, could sell out in the coming days, but a final release in the fortnight before - 42-46k.

4 September V Melbourne -- selling into level 7, some will be held back until the week of, probably will finish on 37-40k.

yakstorm

Wests Tigers fans say that they don't like CommBank, though the club does achieve better commercial results there and it never has the worse crowds of their three 'home' venues, so I don't see them playing any less games there in the near future.

This year the club is averaging 21,926 at the venue, with a game against the Bulldogs on a Sunday afternoon still to come, versus 14,812 at LO and 11,402 at CSS. Even in 2022 when they took some questionable games there, the club averaged 11,382 versus CSS's 9,011 and LO's 12,793.

Wests Tigers fans say that they don't like CommBank, though the club does achieve better commercial results there and it never has the worse crowds of their three 'home' venues, so I don't see them playing any less games there in the near future.

This year the club is averaging 21,926 at the venue, with a game against the Bulldogs on a Sunday afternoon still to come, versus 14,812 at LO and 11,402 at CSS. Even in 2022 when they took some questionable games there, the club averaged 11,382 versus CSS's 9,011 and LO's 12,793.
They took the right 3 games there this year in Parra, Penrith and Dogs.

I think they would do just as well, if not better at the SFS as well. In fact, there is a compelling argument IMO that their 2 stadium split should be Commbank and SFS.

newc18

No offence but you come from Newcastle and have no f**king idea how big Sydney is.
I lived in Sydney for nearly 8 years, I'm well aware how big it is.
Using Allianz or Commbank/Accor is totally impractical for fans of clubs you want to play there.

This is not the AFL where 9 out of the 10 Victorian clubs are within 10-15 minutes of each other.
You act as if fans from those clubs don't travel from the far suburbs of Melbourne to watch games. I'm well aware both cities have different attendance cultures, but there's no reason we cant keep growing ours. Why limit ourselves as a game?
Most of Sydney's NRL clubs are miles away from each other and them groundsharing at Allianz or Commbank/Accor is impractical and a nonsense.
You are entitled to your opinion. We aren't the EPL or NFL. We don't have billion dollar owners who can build these stadiums. Some clubs will need to learn to share facilities. If you're expecting the NSW government to fund every single home ground then you are in for a rude shock.

I've said multiple times I don't want clubs like Cronulla or Manly to play full time at the SFS, but taking blockbuster games to these venues should be considered as its good for both the club and the game as a whole. I'd love nothing more than for Cronulla to turn around tomorrow and say they have the funds to redevelop Shark Park to a 20-25k venue, but its unrealistic atm.

In my view, the less the clubs need to rely on the NRL grant and pokies, the better.
If you want the NRL to be the corporatised wankfest that is the AFL then f**k off and follow the AFL and join BigFooty and leave us real league fans in peace.
Once again, you are entitled to your opinion but you have no right to tell others to f**k off just because they don't agree with you.

Yosemite Sam

As I said elsewhere in the thread, it's been blatantly obvious for years the Dragons have a massive identity crisis.

They keep up the Sydney club identity but the truth is they are a Illawarra/South Coast club these days.

They'd be far better served playing all of their home games at Wollongong's WIN Stadium.
The Dragons only problem is winning. They have been shit for a decade. As soon as they start consistently making the finals again they will regularly fill both Kogarah and Wollongong. Just like they used to.

Vlad59

No offence but you come from Newcastle and have no f**king idea how big Sydney is.

Using Allianz or Commbank/Accor is totally impractical for fans of clubs you want to play there.

This is not the AFL where 9 out of the 10 Victorian clubs are within 10-15 minutes of each other.

Most of Sydney's NRL clubs are miles away from each other and them groundsharing at Allianz or Commbank/Accor is impractical and a nonsense.

If you want the NRL to be the corporatised wankfest that is the AFL then f**k off and follow the AFL and join BigFooty and leave us real league fans in peace.
Wasting your time with this flog mate. He’s up to his neck in being a know all and is quickly deteriorating into becoming the club bore. This thread has always been like this though. Some people just seem to think they know bloody everything.

newc18

Wasting your time with this flog mate. He’s up to his neck in being a know all and is quickly deteriorating into becoming the club bore. This thread has always been like this though. Some people just seem to think they know bloody everything.
Once again with the insults. Are you okay?

I would really like to know what I said in my response (which I thought was pretty respectful to Adelaide Sharky) that made you think I'm a flog? Or do you just call that to people who have different opinions to you?

Steel Saints

Wests Tigers future is in Campbelltown. Pretty soon construction will begin on the CoE/ grandstand at the northern end of the ground.

Short term
Campbelltown- six games
Leichhardt- three games
Allianz- three games.

Long term:
Campbelltown redeveloped 24k- seven games
New Accor 85k- five games

I think the Tigers average over 22k at Homebush.

newc18

Wests Tigers future is in Campbelltown. Pretty soon construction will be begin on the CoE/ grandstand at the northern end of the ground.

Short term
Campbelltown- six games
Leichhardt- three games
Allianz- three games.

Long term:
Campbelltown redeveloped 24k- seven games
New Accor 85k- five games

I think the Tigers average over 22k at Homebush.
Didn't Richo threaten to leave if he didn't get the $100m for Campbeltown Stadium?

I agree with Accor though. If it was to get redeveloped in the future, the Tigers would be fools not to take advantage of that.

Stinkfinger

Which is very strange given it ticks all the boxes:
Great public transport - tick
High quality stadium - tick
Entertainment options in walking distance - tick

I'd say more a mindset of fans that needs to change in Sydney. Seems 15-20min travel is a radius Sydney folk wont cross which is bizarre and why crowds are often low and away fans are often sparse.
It's a nice stadium, but is a very difficult ground to access both in and out even when the crowd is quite low. An hour and a half each way from the Penrith area. You couldn't even get there from Westmead station in 15-20 minutes, even with the light rail.

newc18

Well it’s official that the sharks are stinking out the competition.

great effort by the dolphins though. They could be anything in the next decade or so.
Once the Broncos max out Suncorp (which I don't think is too far away), all the fans will flock to the Dolphins to get their live NRL fix. I can see a big jump for them when that happens.