Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Next TV deal discussion 2028 -

Growthegame

I feel like the Broncos have the right idea with playing out of Totally Workwear Stadium. Smaller capacity stadiums that feel more intimate. Only extra thing, I would push more differntiation from the NRL. Think along the lines of the Beer, Footy, Food festival. Doesn't have to be all out every game, but a few activations, targeted at families. Chance to have a lot more afternoon games with NRLW as well.

For the Titans, I would have them playing out of UAA Park in Burleigh. Get a few local Brewers and Distillers. Black Hops, Hard Fizz, Precinct Brewing and Burleigh Brewing are just down the street. With the Light Rail going straight past the area from mid 2026 will be easy transportation.

I can understand when teams first come in, having their games prior to NRL games to market them to existing fans. But I think they should move away from this. Eventually when all teams are in:

Rabbitohs - Redfern Oval
Broncos - Totally Workwear Stadium
Titans - UAA Park
Eels - Eric Tweedale Stadium/Kellyville CoE
Bulldogs - Belmore Oval
Cowboys - Barlow Park?
Raiders - Seiffert Oval
Roosters - Coogee Oval
Sharks - Shark Park (but actually put some effort in)
Dolphins - Kayo Stadium
Tigers - Concord Oval
Storm -Seabrook Reserve
Manly - No idea
Dragons - No idea - New UOW CoE?
Knights - No idea
Panthers - St Mary's Leagues Stadium
Warriors - No idea - Western Springs if it's build to 5k.
Bears - Malaga? - if it's built to standard
PNG - NFS
I would agree with this but it seems the ARLC is fast moving in the other direction.

I also don’t see the Gold Coast playing out of Burleigh while Burleigh are connected to Brisbane. Is the field up to broadcast standards?

Canard

I feel like the Broncos have the right idea with playing out of Totally Workwear Stadium. Smaller capacity stadiums that feel more intimate. Only extra thing, I would push more differntiation from the NRL. Think along the lines of the Beer, Footy, Food festival. Doesn't have to be all out every game, but a few activations, targeted at families. Chance to have a lot more afternoon games with NRLW as well.

For the Titans, I would have them playing out of UAA Park in Burleigh. Get a few local Brewers and Distillers. Black Hops, Hard Fizz, Precinct Brewing and Burleigh Brewing are just down the street. With the Light Rail going straight past the area from mid 2026 will be easy transportation.

I can understand when teams first come in, having their games prior to NRL games to market them to existing fans. But I think they should move away from this. Eventually when all teams are in:

Rabbitohs - Redfern Oval
Titans - UAA Park
Bulldogs - Belmore Oval
Cowboys - Barlow Park?
Raiders - Seiffert Oval
Roosters - Coogee Oval
Dolphins - Kayo Stadium
Tigers - Concord Oval
Storm -Seabrook Reserve
Manly - No idea
Knights - No idea
PNG - NFS
For the Cowboys NRLW

titoelcolombiano

Rabbitohs - Redfern Oval
Titans - UAA Park
Bulldogs - Belmore Oval
Cowboys - Barlow Park?
Raiders - Seiffert Oval
Roosters - Coogee Oval
Dolphins - Kayo Stadium
Tigers - Concord Oval
Storm -Seabrook Reserve
Manly - No idea
Knights - No idea
PNG - NFS
Spot on mate, I'd even go as far to say that NRLW could use the traditional suburban grounds to tap into the nostalgia element. Belmore, Shark Park, Kogarah, Leichardt, Dolphin Stadium etc whilst the NRL men's moves into the flashy new stadiums to maximise crowds and corporates.

Would there be appeal in having a double header at the traditional grounds for those who have them?
ie Bulldogs NSw cup game and NRLW game on together on a Saturday or Sunday at Belmore?

nko11

The NRLW does also fit into the mould of these suburban grounds, currently have a lot of players having other jobs, playing for their local team they've supported since they were younger - there were quite a few for the Bulldogs that supported them when they were younger. Could be another avenue to market towards the old school supporters of Rugby League.

I went to Brookvale Oval for the first time earlier this year. And whilst I still definitely think the all seater stadiums are better for our sport. The suburban grounds definitely have a charm and should be used where they are best suited.
I would agree with this but it seems the ARLC is fast moving in the other direction.

I also don’t see the Gold Coast playing out of Burleigh while Burleigh are connected to Brisbane. Is the field up to broadcast standards?
I think they're in a stage of trying to get existing supporters to become NRLW supporters as well. Nothing wrong with that strategy. But I think after a few years, you've got most/all of the benefits out of it. And then you just have the teams playing in overly large stadium, with a lack of atmosphere.

UAA has QLD Cup level broadcasting facilities. Not NRL quality. But as seen in the article above, I don't think it would be too hard to get 5-10 million from local/state governments for upgrades if you went to them with an actual plan.

I'm unsure with Burleigh being linked with Broncos, how much benefit the Broncos would derive from this investment wouldn't be much. I just feel like its the best location for the Womens team to gain a following. Starting more locally to build a supporter base is the way to go. Walk before you can run.

Reactions: Vee
Everyone sees the same vision I would assume, but there is an add for Bundy for the Captains Challenge.

There was KFC ads previously, and hardware companies etc. And even when the deliberations are going on, there is usually an add somewhere on the screen.

Its one big ad basically.
The question was Union cutting away for commercials during stoppages. Could NRL squeeze in similar ads while the bunker trawls through all available angles?

My earlier post was mainly a barb against the bunker. Been watching the women's Soccer Euros. If it's any consolation, VAR is considerably worse. Can take literally 4 or 5 minutes to check something.

Reactions: Vee

Iamback

Happy to be corrected but I assume when, how many and length of ads is a tv decision and nothing to do with Union or AFL. And I assume all revenue from ads goes to the tv station although in an indirect way a tv station that can generate higher ad revenues would be expected to pay a higher broadcast fee to the sporting organisation (talking at a very high and general level).

Yep and is why Rugby gets overs based purely on ratings.

That is my point with the value of NRL to FTA. A faster free flowing RL game is better, that limits what they can play

Trifili13

The question was Union cutting away for commercials during stoppages. Could NRL squeeze in similar ads while the bunker trawls through all available angles?

My earlier post was mainly a barb against the bunker. Been watching the women's Soccer Euros. If it's any consolation, VAR is considerably worse. Can take literally 4 or 5 minutes to check something.
Isn’t it the broadcasters that decide when and what ad to slot into the coverage (and what price to charge) and nothing to do with the NRL, AFL, or whatever sporting organisation?

As another poster said, are broadcasters not maximising ad revenue that goes in their pocket when showing an NRL game but people are somehow thinking there is a conspiracy that they only maximise ad revenue for AFL or union coverage.

Iamback

I seem to have a foggy memory of the fact FTA broadcasters are regulated in how many ads are able to be shown per program or per time period.

Since 9 seems to show minimal ads during play but crams ads in bulk during breaks, Im not at all sure they can simply increase ads during play wether that be PIP or during scrums etc.

Say ch9 try and squeeze in an ad for a drop out. The team goes early, A try could be scored while ch9 are showing the ad.

The same game is ad free on Fox, so that drives people to Fox. That limits what FTA can do

Trifili13

Say ch9 try and squeeze in an ad for a drop out. The team goes early, A try could be scored while ch9 are showing the ad.

The same game is ad free on Fox, so that drives people to Fox. That limits what FTA can do
And then people complain there are too many ads.

BuffaloRules

Yep and is why Rugby gets overs based purely on ratings.

That is my point with the value of NRL to FTA. A faster free flowing RL game is better, that limits what they can play

Union just had their deal done … their previous deal was pretty shitty if I recall correctly … let’s wait and see what the NRL get and we can compare apples to apples and assess who is getting “overs”

Wb1234

Nrl should be looking for ways to eliminate stoppages not have more of them

Dogs Penrith was such a good game had zero stoppages game was over in a fast time and was absorbing

We used to make fun of Union for their refs ruining games with penalties now we’ve gone down the same track with pedantic refs and bunker reviews

Once you go to the bunker defence resets and the game loses flow

Iamback

Union just had their deal done … their previous deal was pretty shitty if I recall correctly … let’s wait and see what the NRL get and we can compare apples to apples and assess who is getting “overs”

Well all Super Rugby is behind a pay wall and you can't go 2 mins of a Wallabies game without a stoppage.
They can also sell the games to more countries
So the value to ch9 is different for both.

Ratings wise a season of Wallabies games is equal to an Origin game but if Klein stays out of it. Then we will see very few ads in play

BuffaloRules

Well all Super Rugby is behind a pay wall and you can't go 2 mins of a Wallabies game without a stoppage.
They can also sell the games to more countries
So the value to ch9 is different for both.

Ratings wise a season of Wallabies games is equal to an Origin game but if Klein stays out of it. Then we will see very few ads in play

We don’t know how Channel 9 values the game ( NRL) right now … we are dealing with some very out of date figures there … Im keen to see what they pay this time … limited ad spaces and all..

Cactus

I seem to have a foggy memory of the fact FTA broadcasters are regulated in how many ads are able to be shown per program or per time period.

Since 9 seems to show minimal ads during play but crams ads in bulk during breaks, Im not at all sure they can simply increase ads during play wether that be PIP or during scrums etc.

I was making a point about the fact that there are regulations that broadcasters need to adhere to regarding the number of ads in a broadcast.

Your points above don't relate.

I was making a point about the fact that there are regulations that broadcasters need to adhere to regarding the number of ads in a broadcast.

From what I know, most of those restrictions apply to gambling advertising and "live gambling odds" during said broadcasts. It doesn't say "you can only show [x] number of adds" per break.

Iamback

Wouldn't tennis and cricket break them if that was the case? I thought it was just gambling

Cactus

From what I know, most of those restrictions apply to gambling advertising and "live gambling odds" during said broadcasts. It doesn't say "you can only show [x] number of adds" per break.
Just had a quick sqizz. This is from ACMA:

"Free-to-air TV​

The Commercial television industry code of practice has rules about how much non-program matter (including ads) is allowed each hour. This is in section 5 of the code"

I havnt delved into this but might look at it later on. But it seems to have some restrictions and that was what my foggy memory post was about.