Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Origins a drag on the Comp

Vlad59

You're having quite a tantrum over this Origin thing aren't you?

Fancy rushing to die on a hill where you at least claim to agree with the core concept. And then calling everyone else a sook while actively crying that they don't agree with you. It's pretty funny
Yep. Triggered. Sook

Panther Mike

So over one million Sydney television viewers and a sold out stadium demonstrates a lack of care in NSW? Wow this thread just gets dumber.
Sydney is a very big city and NSW a big state so those figures are a big whatever to me.
I haven't been to an Origin game since 2002 and I know plenty who refuse to waste their money on that hype fest which was only created in the first place to boost the ego of Queenslanders because they felt inferior.
Yet I have attended international games, and they don't get the promotion they should because rugby league administration is often pretty short sighted and is happy to let Yawnion dominate the global market and have our sport constantly confused for it by newcomers to the rugby codes.

Vlad59

Sydney is a very big city and NSW a big state so those figures are a big whatever to me.
I haven't been to an Origin game since 2002 and I know plenty who refuse to waste their money on that hype fest which was only created in the first place to boost the ego of Queenslanders because they felt inferior.
Yet I have attended international games, and they don't get the promotion they should because rugby league administration is often pretty short sighted and is happy to let Yawnion dominate the global market and have our sport constantly confused for it by newcomers to the rugby codes.
I’m sure you’ll get over it. This thread has settled down into a massive anti origin whinge fest. You are in a safe place.

Panther Mike

I’m sure you’ll get over it. This thread has settled down into a massive anti origin whinge fest. You are in a safe place.
Well after having 9 and Fox League shove it down my throat for the last 4 months or so it would be a nice change to be among some people that don't worship Origin.

siv

Simple answer is always the best

Today we have 4 split rounds

Vegas weekend and 6 SOO weekends or 3 rounds

So just make it 2 fortnights of rep football seperated by 4 NRL rounds

Eventually I hope rugby league scraps Origin and focuses on the growth of the international game with countries v countries, to overtake Yawnion as the real rugby that most people know. Make that a priority instead of putting so much promotion and effort into a rivalry between only two states that one state seems to care about more than the other.
Hard to see international league ever being bigger than union TBH.

Is there any indication that's likely in England? Certainly not in Scotland and Wales. Ireland isn't even worth entertaining.

The All Blacks are the silver bullet in NZ as much as some on here will deny it.

The real advantage they have though is countries like France, South Africa and Argentina. Countries with big populations and matching economies where league is barely a blip or non existent. Japan is another which is still up for grabs and if we had any foresight we would concentrate there rather than PNG which will ultimately add nothing to international growth.

Australia is already lost for union so the battleground is the pacific nations and I don't see theoretical league superiority there leading to any significant international growth or exposure. That would weaken origin for sure and have no effect on union globally.

soc123_au

So over one million Sydney television viewers and a sold out stadium demonstrates a lack of care in NSW? Wow this thread just gets dumber.
We care, but it doesn't define who we are. For Qweenslanders their place in the universe seems to swing off 17 blokes that were born there (** GI, Lam etc etc etc) winning 2 out of 3 games of footy each year.

Vlad59

Everyone talking origin down how many games have you missed

Since the 1980s I have not watched a handful

And it’s growing

Wait till it goes to Auckland or Wembley
Watching a bunch of negative Nellie’s talking down the point of difference between our game and the floggers is illuminating. The flog ballers would give their collective right testicle to have such a mid season phenomenon.

T-Boon

We need to switch it to anti tennis. I did not know wimbledon was on - but it is (I think) and horse racing. Get rid of it. What do people think about farmers walks in their gym routine ? - I am doing heaps right now but something on the tube I watched today suggested it is something of a wasted effort?

Vlad59

We need to switch it to anti tennis. I did not know wimbledon was on - but it is (I think) and horse racing. Get rid of it. What do people think about farmers walks in their gym routine ? - I am doing heaps right now but something on the tube I watched today suggested it is something of a wasted effort?
I’ve given up on farmers walks. They were a cute trend.

BadnMean

Simple answer is always the best

Today we have 4 split rounds

Vegas weekend and 6 SOO weekends or 3 rounds

So just make it 2 fortnights of rep football seperated by 4 NRL rounds

That would be pretty cool. Chance to boost international football too. If the mooted NRL takeover of SL happens it'd be possible to get an international window in for England to play a test or two as well, along with Tonga, Samoa, PNG, NZ etc. Even if that's a stretch, tests for NZ and pacific nations are always good footy.

James Rick

It's funny how the media and Blues supporters talk up how good the Blues are and how much they're looking forward to smashing QLD off the park, but once the Blues lose Origin the narrative from Blues supporters is how much they don't really care for Origin because they support their NRL clubs first and foremost.

Trifili13

It's funny how the media and Blues supporters talk up how good the Blues are and how much they're looking forward to smashing QLD off the park, but once the Blues lose Origin the narrative from Blues supporters is how much they don't really care for Origin because they support their NRL clubs first and foremost.
Probably the same reason why QLD brag about pick and stick but change the narrative when it suits them.

titoelcolombiano

We care, but it doesn't define who we are. For Qweenslanders their place in the universe seems to swing off 17 blokes that were born there (** GI, Lam etc etc etc) winning 2 out of 3 games of footy each year.
The All Blacks put NZ on the map and gave it an identity... Same can be said for

Manny Pacquiao - Philippines
National Soccer Team - Brazil
Maradonna - Argentina
Usain Bolt - Jamaica
RU 7s team - Fiji

This is what our Origin team did for Queensland. That's why there's immense pride in the team.