Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dean Young Defensive coach

Gomarchin

Why did Laurie bring in Dean Young no creditability and he has shown at Dragons line speed in defence is not up to Nrl standards in 2 years . Nsw in the last 2 games again struggled on defence and couldn't last the 80 minutes.
Hopefully now D Young has proven with the best Nsw team and players he still couldn't get it done.
No chance for him getting a coaching gig in the Nrl .
Laurie and Deano have the same manager. Nothing to do with whether he's qualified or not. Jobs for the boys :)

twinkletoes

I think we should just hand the keys to the “castle” to the Young and Doust families… and just be done with it… couldn’t do any worse than what we have endured for 15 years

Dragonslayer

With Dezi retiring, surely the SAC of the Dragons should be first in line, failure to secure this position would equivalate to??

In saying that I do think it will be Hannay.

Dragon David

Did anyone watch nine footy show this morning?It seems as though Freddy is not a fan of Dean young’s defensive plan for NSW or the Dragons waiting for the attack to come to them .Come on Deano even blind Freddy can see it’s not working
We know it's not working and blind Freddy can "see" that it's not why can't Flanno? Is Flanno made to accept Deano as his defence coach because Craig says so via Doust? Why can't Deano get our guys to defend with pace all of the time - show no mercy. Don't wait until the opposition gets to our players - charge at them not wait for them.

I think Dean Young should be given a go at the GC Titans, this should put to bed whether he has what it takes to be an NRL coach. It allows the Dragons to recruit a top assistant.
Noone in the NRL will take Young. He needs to go to the ESL.

OneEyedDragon

We know it's not working and blind Freddy can "see" that it's not why can't Flanno? Is Flanno made to accept Deano as his defence coach because Craig says so via Doust? Why can't Deano get our guys to defend with pace all of the time - show no mercy. Don't wait until the opposition gets to our players - charge at them not wait for them.
If I could double Like this comment DD, I would. This pathetic defensive system the Dragons currently use is (in my opinion) the biggest failing the Dragons have!

Mojo

If I could double Like this comment DD, I would. This pathetic defensive system the Dragons currently use is (in my opinion) the biggest failing the Dragons have!
Absolutely. Rule changes have made RL a game of winning momentum and, counterintuitively, it is achieved mainly by coming forward in defence. Yielding metres in defence simply invites the opposition to dominate territory. It gives away multiples of the five or ten metres that are sacrificed by waiting with a straight line. Our defence structures are about 15 years out of date. Plus the endless up-and-in on the flanks simply doesn't work any more; the game is too fast these days for the old second line cover defence style.

Dragon David

I think that a good way for Deano to be a better defensive coach is to do a fair bit of study of the past years of Penrith dominating the comp from 2020 to 2024. Penrith had the lowest points scored against them out of all of the teams in those years and Deano should look at several of the games of each of those years to see how Cleary and his coaches, one being Ciraldo - defence (now with the Bulldogs) and the other Webster - attack (now with the Warriors) up to the end of 2022 and now Peter Wallace (attack) and Ben Gardiner (defence) from 2023 to now.

I am sure that if Deano could set aside a few hours every day for a week and study some games Penrith played in those years and with the different assistant coaches, particular games when nil to low points were scored against them, then I am certain that he will learn heaps. Maybe he already has and if he has, he is not smart because he hasn't learnt anything going from results so I doubt that he has because his ego would not allow him to bend that low in his mindset.

The quality of players of course has a big bearing as well on how good or bad the defence is. All teams would also have some bad days - cellar dwellers of course very bad days.

Club - Penrith Panthers

Year Games Played Ladder Position Points Against G/F Result
2020 20 1st 238 - Covid 19 year lost to Storm
2021 24 2nd 286 won
2022 24 1st 330 won
2023 24 1st 312 won
2024 24 2nd 394 won
2025 16 6th 329 ???

So far this year, the Bulldogs have the best Against with 270 points scored against them and are coming 3rd after playing 16 games with 8 more games to play.

I honestly don't know I started did this post - crazy me!!! :oops:

KingFlanno7

If Flanno was such a supercoach wouldn't he help sort out our defence? Or is he just turning a blind eye to it? Does he not review the games, help with planning etc? So many excuses for our so called head coach it's getting old now.

redv13

If Flanno was such a supercoach wouldn't he help sort out our defence? Or is he just turning a blind eye to it? Does he not review the games, help with planning etc? So many excuses for our so called head coach it's getting old now.
Not that I want Flanno gone at the moment, but if he goes then Young should also be marched out the door

I'm Hornby

Mate just remember that logic and rational thought aren't allowed on here.

maestro1

I think that a good way for Deano to be a better defensive coach is to do a fair bit of study of the past years of Penrith dominating the comp from 2020 to 2024. Penrith had the lowest points scored against them out of all of the teams in those years and Deano should look at several of the games of each of those years to see how Cleary and his coaches, one being Ciraldo - defence (now with the Bulldogs) and the other Webster - attack (now with the Warriors) up to the end of 2022 and now Peter Wallace (attack) and Ben Gardiner (defence) from 2023 to now.

I am sure that if Deano could set aside a few hours every day for a week and study some games Penrith played in those years and with the different assistant coaches, particular games when nil to low points were scored against them, then I am certain that he will learn heaps. Maybe he already has and if he has, he is not smart because he hasn't learnt anything going from results so I doubt that he has because his ego would not allow him to bend that low in his mindset.

The quality of players of course has a big bearing as well on how good or bad the defence is. All teams would also have some bad days - cellar dwellers of course very bad days.

Club - Penrith Panthers

Year Games Played Ladder Position Points Against G/F Result
2020 20 1st 238 - Covid 19 year lost to Storm
2021 24 2nd 286 won
2022 24 1st 330 won
2023 24 1st 312 won
2024 24 2nd 394 won
2025 16 6th 329 ???

So far this year, the Bulldogs have the best Against with 270 points scored against them and are coming 3rd after playing 16 games with 8 more games to play.

I honestly don't know I started did this post - crazy me!!! :oops:
Unfortunately Dave, if our defensive coach has to "learn" a defensive structure after being appointed, we are in a terrible spot of bother. Also, The Penrith defensive structure needs to be implemented over an off season and takes time for a whole squad to incorporate. It took Ciraldo 1 and a half seasons to instil in the doggies. Even Penrith took 1 and a half seasons to fully perfect.