SOS and Cogger got first team gigs on the strength of how good they looked here. No ones lining up to give Schneider a first team spot because (with the odd exception) he hasn't looked first grade standard.
The fact that SOS and Cogger have failed to set the world on fire since leaving here works against Schneider too.
Everyone learns from other teams mistakes (mostly). For every Stephen Crichton we lose, there are 3 Charlie Staines, SOS and Rob Jennings.
Schneider could do worse than remaining Nathan Cleary's backup. He's played 25 NRL games in the last 2 seasons - and I see no reason why that trend won't continue.
We could absolutely do worse too. Until someone is banging the door down in NSW Cup/Flegg AND we have a genuine pathway to regular NRL footy/succession plan for them, we should stick to the journeyman types.
Im sure we've all watched the 2023 GF countless times but when Cogger came on Critter just completely took over ownership of the left side of the field. Cogger did very well to just stay out of the way.There is a valid point that SOS and Cogger had more to work with. A stacked team that made their roles, at times more easier. Counterfactually would Schneider had done as well, or better during those dominant years? 24 was still a good team.
Nathan gets all heroics for the 23 GF. But Cogger, like others, played a minor, but important role in the comeback. He said after being a spectator on the bench for 50 minutes. He saw things he could exploit and adjusted his game when he came on. Shows he has a good footy brain. He needs a good coach to get the best out of him. Nathan Brown, Dean Pay and O'Brien have not been good coaches for him.
In my own opinion I think Cogger and SOS were just a shade above Schneider. We are talking fringe. Don't get too excited. Both are in the class of Sexton. When the team is going well, they go well. When a team struggles, they struggle badly.
Cheap depth. That is their role.
You can't be too fussy.
Im sure we've all watched the 2023 GF countless times but when Cogger came on Critter just completely took over ownership of the left side of the field. Cogger did very well to just stay out of the way.
Yes and no. Any half in the world plays straighter than Luai and Cogger isn't a good footballer but hes smart enough to know Crichton is a f**king fantastic one.Cogger straightened the attack allowing others to shine. Cleary even credits him for that.
He didn't stay out of the way. He had vital involvement in at least two tries. He knew what to do and not overplay it.
Cronk can probably articulate it better than me.
He added: “Go back and watch the Leota try - Cogger’s ball-playing is so good that it creates space for Cleary to go through on the outside of (Kurt) Capewell. And again for the (Stephen) Crichton try - you watch the nuance that Cogger does with his footwork and his eyes. He looks in, plays out and goes straight, and creates enough space for Nathan to get the ball out.”
Brisbane’s defence stifled the Penrith attack for the first hour of the decider, with Johns saying the Panthers were too “pass-centric” with Cleary largely playing a halfback role.
Cogger then took over at first receiver, providing Cleary with more space – and the opportunity to run at the line more regularly.
It is a point that Cleary himself made in the post-game press conference, crediting Cogger for being a “big part” of Penrith’s fightback.
“He unlocked me when he came on,” Cleary said.
“He was communicating well and he was getting me to see things and play footy. We were just sort of following each other around. He was a big part of it.
“Once Romey and Yeoy went off it felt like a free shot. We just had nothing to lose and that’s why I give credit to Cogs. He came on with that mentality and helped bring me into the game. He unlocked me.”
Matty Johns, meanwhile, said on SEN Radio earlier this year that Cogger was the “unsung hero” of the grand final.
“When he came on the field he was one of the main reasons they (Penrith) ran them (Brisbane) down, he sort of freed Nathan up to pick and choose what he wanted to do,” Johns said.
![]()
‘This might sound crazy’: Cooper Cronk makes bold Jarome Luai grand final call
‘This might sound crazy’: Cronk’s bold Luai grand final callwww.foxsports.com.au
What would Nathan Cleary and Cooper Cronk know though?Cogger straightened the attack allowing others to shine. Cleary even credits him for that.
He didn't stay out of the way. He had vital involvement in at least two tries. He knew what to do and not overplay it.
Cronk can probably articulate it better than me.
He added: “Go back and watch the Leota try - Cogger’s ball-playing is so good that it creates space for Cleary to go through on the outside of (Kurt) Capewell. And again for the (Stephen) Crichton try - you watch the nuance that Cogger does with his footwork and his eyes. He looks in, plays out and goes straight, and creates enough space for Nathan to get the ball out.”
Brisbane’s defence stifled the Penrith attack for the first hour of the decider, with Johns saying the Panthers were too “pass-centric” with Cleary largely playing a halfback role.
Cogger then took over at first receiver, providing Cleary with more space – and the opportunity to run at the line more regularly.
It is a point that Cleary himself made in the post-game press conference, crediting Cogger for being a “big part” of Penrith’s fightback.
“He unlocked me when he came on,” Cleary said.
“He was communicating well and he was getting me to see things and play footy. We were just sort of following each other around. He was a big part of it.
“Once Romey and Yeoy went off it felt like a free shot. We just had nothing to lose and that’s why I give credit to Cogs. He came on with that mentality and helped bring me into the game. He unlocked me.”
Matty Johns, meanwhile, said on SEN Radio earlier this year that Cogger was the “unsung hero” of the grand final.
“When he came on the field he was one of the main reasons they (Penrith) ran them (Brisbane) down, he sort of freed Nathan up to pick and choose what he wanted to do,” Johns said.
![]()
‘This might sound crazy’: Cooper Cronk makes bold Jarome Luai grand final call
‘This might sound crazy’: Cronk’s bold Luai grand final callwww.foxsports.com.au
That guy is far up himself it isn't funny.. the way he responses to questions has an "all about him" mentality and it's an essay he goes on and on.All these flogs in the media who said nasty things about our club and players over the last few years are getting their comeuppance. Karma’s a bitch James Pooper.
Two down (Smug Kent/Blooper) 1 to go ......(Creepy Crawley).The hate and anger they both directed at the Penrith club this is justice we can see why they more than likely where drunk while on the show Kent and hooper have had karma strike more than normal
Brent Read can go too!Two down (Smug Kent/Blooper) 1 to go ......(Creepy Crawley).
Where was this mate?Panthers have officially upgraded and extended john fonua till the end of 2027