Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2025 Streaming and TV Ratings Discussion

The_Wookie

Well, that Lions tour was a fizzer.

The start of Unions 'golden decade' barley rated higher than an NRL game.

Lucky all those tourists gave Rugby Australia thier money to dig them out of debt.

Your definition of a golden age isnt necesaarily the same for every other competition.

Diesel

I hope those at 9 are in meltdown hitching their ride to the union and offering $600k? Per year for alf.

RL rights are coming and 9 played their hand early to get content for Stan

Diesel

Reach for the union game should be massive considering it was stopped mid game for lightning and was probably the same length as an afl game, and about as popular

Iamback

"regularly" - 3 times Game 3, 2013 and Games 1 & 2 in 2014. No other.

Origin frightfullly close to cracking 4m this year dude.

Game 1: 3.791m
Game 2: 3.776m
Game 3: 3.961m

And barring some unforeseen event, there is the top 3 programs of 2025.

FTA's issue is streaming services now take the casual fans away

taste2taste

Your definition of a golden age isnt necesaarily the same for every other competition.
Lions games rated 1.2m last time they were here ?

With the increase in ticket sales and the publicity Suallii has brought to Union RA and Ch 9 would have expected at least 1.2 but hopeful of 1.5m

Ch 9 would have sold advertising based on those numbers.

Im thinking 9 owe RM Williams and Asics alot of free make up advertiaing.

Wb1234

Lions games rated 1.2m last time they were here ?

With the increase in ticket sales and the publicity Suallii has brought to Union RA and Ch 9 would have expected at least 1.2 but hopeful of 1.5m

Ch 9 would have sold advertising based on those numbers.

Im thinking 9 owe RM Williams and Asics alot of free make up advertiaing.
Did they have sailor tuqiri last time ?

They were way bigger names in my opinion and got lots of leagues watching

I even watched for Nathan Blacklock

Sailor and tuqiri even Folau were absolute stars for the wallabies

I remember one test they kept avoiding giving the ball to Wendell in try scoring situations cause he was scoring too many

Which league fans will watch for suaali most nsw fans blame him for the series loss

Plus didn’t they have actual stars like Gregan larkham etc vs nobodies like Skelton and the guy with the mustache

Wb1234

Was it bigger then Origin? Probably not and not even close. So back in your box where u belong!
Tbf to our fumbler mate origin isn’t shown on Foxtel

I suspect the article means biggest ever on Fox footy

Will all the bad news about their ratings and Dazn walking wanting to cut the deal they need all the good news they can get

eels4lifee

Yes ..it’s been rumoured for years that a game would be taken there in 2027 …not confirmed as yet but it has not yet been allocated elsewhere and 2028 has
Should of taken it to NZ next year instead of the MCG. It would literally be insane to have Origin in NZ - the ratings would massive I'd reckon

Wb1234

Where's the so called ratings then?
Fox don’t release ratings anymore

We only get free to air numbers

Wait till end of the year the nrl will release all the figures including nz

Fox has said how much they have grown from last year so people have worked it out from that

Remember afl is a long way behind nrl on pay tv

Around 75 out of 100 of the top programs on Foxtel (not just foxsports) are guess which programming ?

(Hint it’s not afl)