Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

TLT Rnd 25 vs Chooks

eels_fan

Hawkins in #18 and Lussick in #22... I'm hopeful both will be late inclusions in the game day side - at the expense of Papalii and De Silva.

Not so hopeful about the result this week, think we'll get smashed by a team with their eyes on the prize of playing finals footy, while we're trying out potential combos for 2026.
Hawkins and Moses just ain’t a fit imo…

both controlling halves.

People are saying Hawkins looked better next to Moses - he didn’t actually do anything other than a bit of distributing. Didn’t ball play, didn’t take any risks so didn’t make any mistakes. The old put your head down and don’t make too much noise situation.

Joash is making mistakes but he’s out there running around trying to make things happen, which is the only way he’ll learn in that role.

When Joash has had as many first grade games as Hawkins, he’ll be 10x the player at

Hawkins is the perfect backup for Moses - but I’d have Joash and Volkman fill in at 6 before he gets a run there.

patience needed with Joash.

both controlling halves.

People are saying Hawkins looked better next to Moses - he didn’t actually do anything other than a bit of distributing. Didn’t ball play, didn’t take any risks so didn’t make any mistakes. The old put your head down and don’t make too much noise situation.

Joash is making mistakes but he’s out there running around trying to make things happen, which is the only way he’ll learn in that role.

When Joash has had as many first grade games as Hawkins, he’ll be 10x the player at

Hawkins is the perfect backup for Moses - but I’d have Joash and Volkman fill in at 6 before he gets a run there.

I'm with you and I prefer we let Joash have a shot and see if he improves. But I'm not convinced he is the answer. He doesn't look suited to halves at all. Looks lost.

Joshuatheeel

both controlling halves.

TCT made a point about Joash, that it will take the offseason training at 5/8 to really see if he can make a really good crack at it. As he spent the whole last offseason training as a fullback.

I know some will say, he is training there now. But that's not like a whole offseason really focusing on the position, and shapes/lines Ryles and co want.

At the moment its really about getting use to the NRL (the week to week grind, preparation, speed of it) and defence.

So we'll end the season 0-3 then... and then cross our fingers that we don't start 0-3 next year with Joash at five-eighth.

And revisit the discussion in Round 4 2026 of who should be our #6...

Soto

both controlling halves.

💯..Hawkins is a 7. End of story.
If Hawkins is to stay in the team then he plays 7 and Moses 6...wont happen.
But knowing Moses now for quite a few years, Hawkins will be back playing 7 soon

What did Jack Gibson say about picking your best 13 (17)?

I'd say Joash isn't in the best 13/17 atm imo, but based on recent performances with Moses in the side, Hawkins is.

Joash is close, hanging thereabouts, worth keeping, and should benefit from Cup minutes at #6.

Soto

I spoke to a talent scout today who works for one of the player agency groups.
Reckons Talaitana will make it. No trouble playing KOE cup. Joash he believes is a better fullback than Ionghi but club is sticking solid with Ionghi as was brought in to replace Gutho.
Kautoga a good one to watch and will be even better next yr
No scoops or signings hinted for next yr but he thinks plenty of player movement across the board coming.
Unsure of R360 validity and meetings have been had. Has heard some stupid money being bandied around but remains to be seen if anything will eventuate with ppl backing R360

King-Gutho94

I spoke to a talent scout today who works for one of the player agency groups.
Reckons Talaitana will make it. No trouble playing KOE cup. Joash he believes is a better fullback than Ionghi but club is sticking solid with Ionghi as was brought in to replace Gutho.
Kautoga a good one to watch and will be even better next yr
No scoops or signings hinted for next yr but he thinks plenty of player movement across the board coming.
Unsure of R360 validity and meetings have been had. Has heard some stupid money being bandied around but remains to be seen if anything will eventuate with ppl backing R360
I could see Iongi potentially playing origin one day if cards go his way with injuries, and the trajectory he has as a player.

I don't see Joash even coming close.

eels_fan

So we'll end the season 0-3 then... and then cross our fingers that we don't start 0-3 next year with Joash at five-eighth.

And revisit the discussion in Round 4 2026 of who should be our #6...
If we end 0-3 who cares really? I don’t think it matters who we pick the next 2 weeks we’ll be losing. We’re as good a chance at home against the knights of winning with Joash than anyone.

6 months of reps alongside Moses in the offseason will make Joash a million times better than he is now. He gets 1 field session a week with Moses basically at the moment. Way too early to rule him out.

eels_fan

What did Jack Gibson say about picking your best 13 (17)?

I'd say Joash isn't in the best 13/17 atm imo, but based on recent performances with Moses in the side, Hawkins is.

Joash is close, hanging thereabouts, worth keeping, and should benefit from Cup minutes at #6.
3 games of experience in the NRL alongside Moses is worth about 20 games in nsw cup alongside Volkman. He’s best where he is

Soto

If we end 0-3 who cares really? I don’t think it matters who we pick the next 2 weeks we’ll be losing. We’re as good a chance at home against the knights of winning with Joash than anyone.

6 months of reps alongside Moses in the offseason will make Joash a million times better than he is now. He gets 1 field session a week with Moses basically at the moment. Way too early to rule him out.
Completely agree.
Why bother with Hawkins and Lussick for this week as some have suggested at the expense of Joash and TDS...complete madness.
Only reason for Hawkins or Lussick to come in would be because of injuries

I could see Iongi potentially playing origin one day if cards go his way with injuries, and the trajectory he has as a player.

I don't see Joash even coming close.

I agree.

If that talent scout reckons Papalii is a better fullback than Iongi, I just hope he's not a talent scout associate with the Eels!

emjaycee

Completely agree.
Why bother with Hawkins and Lussick for this week as some have suggested at the expense of Joash and TDS...complete madness.
Only reason for Hawkins or Lussick to come in would be because of injuries
Who is the idiot that suggested Hawkins and Lussick FFS?

eel01s

Realistically how many times does Moses link with our no.6 in a game?

Not enough I reckon.

Well if TCT said it then I’m sold. Outstanding track record of talent spotting.

well they didn't say he was going to be the next Kenny did they?

they said that he hasn't had the opportunity of an off season training as a 6, are they wrong?

I've actually got some positive vibes about him, it also wouldn't surprise me if Ryles brings a specialist halves coach in over the summer.

Only skimmed the surnames at first so only just realised no Daniel Tupou for the roosters this week. He usually is good for a couple against us and is in fantastic form so at least that’s one thing going our way

He was suffering concussion symptoms after the match against the Bulldogs so that's why he's not playing.