Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours (signings, sackings & other NRL stuff)

Hoofhearted

Jame
The Knights had a deliberate game plan all year long to play low risk, safety first footy. I guess they thought a high completion rate would translate to a lot of wins. At the end of the day they weren't able to achieve any of that.

I think that hampered him quite a bit. You hear people talk about what a good attacking player he was in the UK, and the above is the only thing I want to think about that would explain why he was rarely sighted at Newcastle.

Of course, the other reason I don't want to think about is that he's not up to NRL standard. Time will tell. I'm not sure what he's like in defence.

Does anyone know what we're paying him. The Knights were paying him over $800k according to recent reports. That's a crazy amount. I hope we're not paying the same.

James Graham often expressed his frustration at the Knights using KPP wrong, said they were continually getting him the ball flat footed and basically make hitups.
His biggest strength is his offload, Graham said he needs to be in a team that will give him good ball and try and create 1 on 1 or even 1 on 2 situations where he will almost always get an offload, then make sure we always have someone backing up ready.

I think KPP will do OK with us.
Yep, entering into his prime years with the fundamentals intact.

So far as I am aware, we chased him up hill and down dale for at least 4-6 months.

Absolutely no chance he’s here on sheer good luck or stars aligning, so his fortunes will also tell us about the top tier of our recruitment efforts.

I think his signing was a successful project. Of course we have to see how he goes, but it’s good to drag one in.

Powerful unit, collision ready, a touch of spring.

In some highlights, he seems to like to keep a break going and not surrender. Second phasing.

AKA Das Hassler

So...without being negative..in KPP it sounds a bit to me thst we could have anotherTerrell..which would be great but we still need that reliable wrecking ball. Royce Hunt absolutely has to put the work in where he can maintain his effort of last week as his week to week standard

Fordy20

I think buds on more than what noffa was on …and a few others that came to nought.. Not sure why the fixation with noffa … at least he performed outstanding for a time at the club .. many were paid more than him and gave back zilch…or worse, if that’s possible

He and Brooks suffered from the same problem. They chose to be loyal to a basket case of a club instead of doing what was in their best interests and moving on to more successful clubs. I've got a lot more respect for him than Mbye, Packer and Reynolds.

Yea that's why he wanted 2 years instead of 3 ..and an extra $125k for the emotional damage its likely to cause

I hope you are wrong. I reckon our team isn't going to get much better via recruitment. It's about getting enough out of the cattle we have to give the comp a shake.

I don't really see any weaknesses. It's a matter of the top players delivering. Api and Luai are the guys who need to pick up their games.

Taylans fee is probably fair, taking into account the poverty rate he was on with us this season.

He got paid Centrelink for an elite player, but he still had a real dig. I would obviously have preferred 3 years.

Taylans fee is probably fair, taking into account the poverty rate he was on with us this season.

He got paid Centrelink for an elite player, but he still had a real dig. I would obviously have preferred 3 years.
TBF, I didn't notice a lot of clubs pushing us out of the way to sign him, this season.
The guy has talent, he will make big money if he keeps his form.

It's a fair deal for both parties but geez he is lucky. He is on 200k less than Crichton and Farnworth. He is on about the same as Graham and Staggs. There is no way he is at those players level atm and I don't think he has ever gone anywhere near that level.

According to Zero Tackle, he'll be on $600k a season.
I have no knowledge of what it is, where did you get the $700k from?

Nutz

I can tell this guy has what it takes and will run around them once he loses 10kg He said in their poscast he was over 100kg coming back from his battle to get his head space right. Some nrl fwds aren't that heavy.
He's got the confidence and ability to be a gun, hence why he went for two years and not 3. A very smart move indeed.

He did OK, he's certainly in the elite class, even though he's been away for a while.
After a full preseason, he should be dynamite.
Add the time away and mental pressure he’s been under ( yes, his own doing) his recovery has been not short of miraculous ( also his own doing).

Authentic certified strike. Full warranty, we just had to cough up 😀