Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Week 1 Finals predictions 2025

I wanna see some thoughts on what will happen this week across the board game by game

Predictions in bold,

Storm vs Bulldogs - I choose Storm. Reason: I hate the Bulldogs

Warriors vs Panthers - I choose Warriors. Reason: I think the unpredictability of this season, and the "experts" takes a change of course

Sharks vs Roosters - I choose Sharks. Reason: I think the unpredictability of this season, and the "experts" takes a change of course

Raiders vs Broncos - I choose Broncos. Reason: One away from home team will win.

Winners:
Storm
Warriors
Sharks
Broncos

Go at it!

glenmoresharkie

Melbourne vs Dogs is so so hard to pick. Storm have players out everywhere but Bellamy knows how to get it done. Papenhuyzen, Hughes and NAS all out. Two key spine payers missing from any side is a massive loss, but I still get a feeling that Canterbury has peaked and won’t be good enough.

Wahs have literally been running on fumes for a while now since they lost Metcalf and haven’t looked any good for months. Penrith with all the experience and the know how should beat them even in Auckland

Us v Chooks. Well who tf knows really. I do worry about our ability to win these sorts of games but I’d like to believe we can win. Tedesco is having a blinding season as much as i dislike him and players like Marky Mark always pull off incredible freakish things against us. Gonna say us though.

Broncos have come home very strong but the Raiders have been unbelievable all season. They should get the job done at home but Reece Walsh is the man they need to stop.

bluefox68

Storm - because ... Craig Bellamy... 24-16
Panthers - because ... Warriors... 30-10
Sharks - because ... I can't lose hope... 21-20
Raiders - because ... I hate the Broncos... 22-20

Storm - better system and spread of talent .
Panthers - see above
Sharks - wishful thinking, but perhaps were are just starting to hit form and new high concentration levels
Raiders - Brisbane won;t be able to maintain recent intensity and Walsh will repeatedly press the panic button, plus Raiders rested and fit

2012....Sharks Year

I will say I don’t think any of the results are definites. Going on the unpredictability of the season it wouldn’t even surprise me if the Wah’s made it very tough for the Pennies. At the end of the day I my only real concern is the Sharks getting it right. I do feel that we have better depth than most other clubs right at the moment and that will be really beneficial if we manage to get past the chooks.

Since 73

Dogs in Tom Petty mode and Galvin falling the fastest. Look for Sexton to start 7 if not this week the next.
The Harry Grant factor is huge. It unlocks munster.

Penrith are shoe-ins.
Miseres.
Unbeatable.
Odds on.
A juggernaut.
Poor old Wahs have no halves.
And no hope.
But..
The theatre of sport is a beautiful thing.
Every finals series has a story.
Could Penrith going out the first week be it?
We have a Wahs side down on their luck.
With no chance.
But...
If...
Led by a pack who decide to take matters away from the smaller men.
In front of a eye bulging roaring bunch of lunatics who once were warriors.
Is it possible?
Penrith will have one eye on the final prize...and when you take your eye off the ball..
Wahs lose in golden point.

Canberra v donks
Could play it 10 times and they win it 5 times each.
A moment in time.
Who turns up.
Who blinks first.
Who takes their opportunities.
Who gets the rub of the green.
Reece can either win it for them.
Or lose it.
But Canberra will relish the physicality..or they better because madge has his boys tough as teak.
Can't decide.

Sharks v rorts.
Bloody roosters.
Greedy said it best.
Too many times.
They know how to play semi final footy.
We dont.
Their coach knows what to say before a big game.
Ours doesn't.
The bloody Toupou V Katoa matchup could see us down 6 nil before the crowd take their seats.
Fitz cannot leave that to chance...he has to counter it.
We need a good old fashioned repeat of 2016 where the forwards say f**k the coach we're doing this and they push our duelling banjo's in the 6 and 7 jumpers out of the way and make it cage fight.
Us by 26.

glenmoresharkie

Dogs in Tom Petty mode and Galvin falling the fastest. Look for Sexton to start 7 if not this week the next.
The Harry Grant factor is huge. It unlocks munster.

Penrith are shoe-ins.
Miseres.
Unbeatable.
Odds on.
A juggernaut.
Poor old Wahs have no halves.
And no hope.
But..
The theatre of sport is a beautiful thing.
Every finals series has a story.
Could Penrith going out the first week be it?
We have a Wahs side down on their luck.
With no chance.
But...
If...
Led by a pack who decide to take matters away from the smaller men.
In front of a eye bulging roaring bunch of lunatics who once were warriors.
Is it possible?
Penrith will have one eye on the final prize...and when you take your eye off the ball..
Wahs lose in golden point.

Canberra v donks
Could play it 10 times and they win it 5 times each.
A moment in time.
Who turns up.
Who blinks first.
Who takes their opportunities.
Who gets the rub of the green.
Reece can either win it for them.
Or lose it.
But Canberra will relish the physicality..or they better because madge has his boys tough as teak.
Can't decide.

Sharks v rorts.
Bloody roosters.
Greedy said it best.
Too many times.
They know how to play semi final footy.
We dont.
Their coach knows what to say before a big game.
Ours doesn't.
The bloody Toupou V Katoa matchup could see us down 6 nil before the crowd take their seats.
Fitz cannot leave that to chance...he has to counter it.
We need a good old fashioned repeat of 2016 where the forwards say f**k the coach we're doing this and they push our duelling banjo's in the 6 and 7 jumpers out of the way and make it cage fight.
Us by 26.
For some reason I always read your posts in Matt Nable’s voice