Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2025: Week 1 Finals

Parrapat

Warriors and Dogs had an easy draw and both teams were given a rails run in terms of sports commentary and adulation.

Neither team ever showed much development but simply put in place the same game style from the master craftsman Ivan Cleary.

If Ryle's Eels were given the same easy draw along with the same lambasting nut hugging media commentary we would run deep into September..

But, we don't need either.

King-Gutho94

Watching the 3 finals so far, our form the last 3 weeks of the season would have seen us beat any of the 6 teams.

shows why the start of the year is so important to bank wins.
Hard to argue.

If we snuck into 8th like 2009

A prelim final wouldn't have been out of the question.

Ryles had us peaking physically at the right time of the year and with the momentum/confidence we had got from the past 2 months i dont think many teams would have scared us with Moses playing and controlling things.

Parrapat

This dilapidated broken down wreck of a finals series is brought to you on the back of an overstretched NRL in competition far ahead of themselves for television viewers ahead of the game's development.

It's a sub par 8 in an average comp where I reckon the Titans could win the comp depending on whether the team would rise to Des Hasler's berations.

But, the NRL must go on and expand so we've all got to pretend this is quality finals footy and just listen to Cooper and pEnnis go on and on and on and on and...

I completely agree with that thought.
Christchurch is just about to open a stunning new 30 000 seat stadium.
A North Island - South Island derby is a cracker.
The PNG team is going nowhere atm. Albanese has f**ked up throwing $600 million at this franchise, just to try and keep the Chinese at bay.
f**king stupid.
PNG will throw tax-free wages and other benefits at players, but they will still struggle to assemble a competitive side.

King-Gutho94

PNG will throw tax-free wages and other benefits at players, but they will still struggle to assemble a competitive side.
You know thats all well and good.

But thats where I also get shitty about the NRL who want to get on there moral high horse and claim the salary cap is what makes it an even competition each and every year

When most fans know it actually isnt.

Now there letting PNG come in with an extra what 10-15% of $$$ to spend on players.

Parrapat

The thing is, why do established clubs have to prop up newcomers on an even playing field? Yet, worse, the entry is levelled up to the new clubs in that they are given special dispensation against the establishment clubs?!

Parrapat

The thing is, why do established clubs have to prop up newcomers on an even playing field? Yet, worse, the entry is levelled up to the new clubs in that they are given special dispensation against the establishment clubs?!
The clubs who developed the players are financially penalised in favour of the new clubs.

Parrapat

Trent has state of origin forward pack, state of origin half and fullback, wallaby wing and two of the eltite nrl wingers at his disposal yet the nrl journos excuse him year after year

Parrapat

I'm so glad we don't have to suffer the insufferable Trent Robinson for the rest of the series

No more Trent excoritaing the media and fans for not understanding the social rebvolution that he's turned chooks into.

f**k you and your dick sicking, introvisions Trent!

Parrapat

The last thing we need is high minded aloof opinions from elite twigs like Trent and his wALLABY STATE OF ORIGIN CONGLOMERATION, f**k HIM HIM AND f**k THAT

Parrapat

Trent Robinson has a losing record in finals

Over all he comes across as a blow hard sanctimonious sack of shit lecturing us