Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2025 finals series

Nutz

Re Stefano its easy to remember him for his 2024 season when he completely phoned it in, however in his 4 years with us he generally a high standard prop. Id say his 202/23 seasons were excellent.

I have no idea what the Dogs are doing with Galvin. Theyve taken a free spirited, off the cuff 5/8 and tried to turn him into a kick heavy ball distributor. He looks hesitant to try anything outside of their boring structure. His defense is also worse then it ever was with us.
Most of us could see that happening Vic. His parents and Hungry gutz Moses have a lot to answer for.

WA Tiger

Most of us could see that happening Vic. His parents and Hungry gutz Moses have a lot to answer for.
A small minority that I could easily count on one hand, could see very clearly that Galvins leaving was a positive…The majority were more in hope but had really, conceded to his doubtless ability and the tragedy his leaving, “facilitated by Moses” had caused

WA Tiger

I agree with the NRL not stomping on it. The game develops mate for good or bad and the game belongs to the NRL, it's their product. We still have canonball tackles and crusher tackles.
It's up to them to stomp on the crap. The roosters are smart operators and they get audited. If they cheat and get away with it then it's on the auditors too.
Every club has a cap manager. I don't really care, it is the club's fault for running two books. Bellyache didnt run the books, shitesters he is full on coaching.
I think the office girl new

Tigers Tale

One thing I know for sure after this weekend, of the 8 teams that made the finals, all have at least 2 and some 3 forwards that really bend the line and are good for a heap of PCM. We don't and until we can match other teams in this area I can't see us worrying the top 8. As good as some thought we went this year we really do need two top class forwards to take us to the next level.

WA Tiger

As much as I could tolerate the sharks winning the comp they have buckleys.4 teams r capable of winning storm broncos Penrith & raiders.
That’s why they were are paying $28 to win the grand final on sports bet before their last game and why I have $25 on them to do so .. hell I don’t like them but I can warm to them if they provide me with $600 odd .. Besides anything appears possible .. players are dropping like fly’s and if teams like the raiders can have a hoodoo hex on them ? Their defence is stern and peaking at the right time. I just love an underdog and the Broncos showed attitude gos a long way to winning. Two excellent props and a smattering of talent throughout

Tiger Ted

That’s why they were are paying $28 to win the grand final on sports bet before their last game and why I have $25 on them to do so .. hell I don’t like them but I can warm to them if they provide me with $600 odd .. Besides anything appears possible .. players are dropping like fly’s and if teams like the raiders can have a hoodoo hex on them ? Their defence is stern and peaking at the right time. I just love an underdog and the Broncos showed attitude gos a long way to winning. Two excellent props and a smattering of talent throughout
The choker wearing the no. 7 jersey is a massive liability for the sharks & y I believe they r buckleys of advancing to the big dance.Its quite telling that the Concord rabble have beaten them the last 2 yrs at the 8th wonder.Good luck with ur bet which I reckon should be $128 to win GF

WA Tiger

The choker wearing the no. 7 jersey is a massive liability for the sharks & y I believe they r buckleys of advancing to the big dance.Its quite telling that the Concord rabble have beaten them the last 2 yrs at the 8th wonder.Good luck with ur bet which I reckon should be $128 to win GF
Be a good story though..I like good story’s. And..Not worth betting on anything else

One thing I know for sure after this weekend, of the 8 teams that made the finals, all have at least 2 and some 3 forwards that really bend the line and are good for a heap of PCM. We don't and until we can match other teams in this area I can't see us worrying the top 8. As good as some thought we went this year we really do need two top class forwards to take us to the next level.

I disagree.

Worker type middle forwards:- May, Twal, Seyfarth --> I think these guys are really good worker forwards.
Impact Type middle forwards:- Sione Fainu, Pole, Hunt --> I think Sione went up a level and really had an impact & Pole has the ability to have an impact but he is making a dumb mistake or two a game. Hunt has the ability but he has been terrible. These guys can get the job done. It's just they aren't getting the job done. I should add we played Canberra and we matched them.
Edge forwards:- Samuela Fainu and KPP. Samuela has the ability to be elite. I think KPP may be just as good.

I cannot see how we can sign 2 top tier forwards to our list. I think we may get one more signing but it's going to be hard especially with new teams coming into the comp.

I think the issue we have it the impact forwards need to be a bit better. I think we have the squad to compete but some players need to improve a bit. Ideally we'd sign another impact middle forward but I think it's unlikely. I hope I'm wrong and we sign an elite middle forward but either way I still think we can improve enough to be a finals team next season.

Tigers Tale

I disagree.

I should add we played Canberra and we matched them.
We played Canberra in a match they could afford to drop and we still lost, we didn't better them. Would you like Papalii, Tapine and Big Red in our pack week on week?

I think the issue we have it the impact forwards need to be a bit better. I think we have the squad to compete but some players need to improve a bit. Ideally we'd sign another impact middle forward but I think it's unlikely. I hope I'm wrong and we sign an elite middle forward but either way I still think we can improve enough to be a finals team next season.
Our impact is close to zero. You say our impact forwards need to be better, that's my whole point. Our pack is below average at best and until we improve this our position on the ladder will remain stagnant. Jack Gibson once said a player with potential just means he hasn't done something yet (or words to that effect). We have loads of potential in our side....but we are yet to reach any great heights with the players we have.

The test I always put on a player is would they make the starting side of the top teams. Terrell May might but no others would. Most of our pack would be bench players in the top side but hey, this is just my opinion.

WA Tiger

We played Canberra in a match they could afford to drop and we still lost, we didn't better them. Would you like Papalii, Tapine and Big Red in our pack week on week?

Our impact is close to zero. You say our impact forwards need to be better, that's my whole point. Our pack is below average at best and until we improve this our position on the ladder will remain stagnant. Jack Gibson once said a player with potential just means he hasn't done something yet (or words to that effect). We have loads of potential in our side....but we are yet to reach any great heights with the players we have.

The test I always put on a player is would they make the starting side of the top teams. Terrell May might but no others would. Most of our pack would be bench players in the top side but hey, this is just my opinion.
For Twal and Pole and co it’s more important for them to be able to offload than make any impression on the line .. they are trying to spin so they can pass before they even make full impact.. and so they don’t get hurt..that’s fk off material

I mentioned Canberra because I think they have the best pack in the comp. Sure I'd like them in our pack. Their pack is better than ours but it's the best pack in the comp. They also lost to Brisbane whose forwards didn't dominate at all.

Our impact is close to zero. You say our impact forwards need to be better, that's my whole point. Our pack is below average at best and until we improve this our position on the ladder will remain stagnant.

I don't agree our impact is close to zero. I don't know how you judge this other than by eye. We have lacked a quality right edge forward but hopefully KPP does the job there. Sione has been making an impact all season. Hunt did it in a couple of games. Pole can do it as well but he is making a bad mistake every game.

These guys can all improve just like Stef has.

Plus I think our worker forwards are good. Not every forward is going to crash and burn on every run.

How do you judge this ? Stef was ordinary for us but looked likely and he is playing well now at the Storm. IP is playing well at Penrith and he was about the same with us. Garner has played plenty of footy for Penrith.

I think the forwards we have plus KPP can do the job. I do think we need another impact middle forward or for some guys to improve a little. I think guys like Pole and Seyfarth have improvement in them and KPP offers more on an edge.

When we add AD and Latu to the team in a lock type role I think it's more about the coaching staff developing a style that suits us and the players we have developing their games.

I honestly feel the big issues are:-

1. Api
2. Luai
3. Our pack.

--> I should add in all of that I think the coaching staff play a role.

I felt more positive this year than next year but only because some players to me haven't performed or improved. I'm hopeful that turns around.

Nutz

I mentioned Canberra because I think they have the best pack in the comp. Sure I'd like them in our pack. Their pack is better than ours but it's the best pack in the comp. They also lost to Brisbane whose forwards didn't dominate at all.

I don't agree our impact is close to zero. I don't know how you judge this other than by eye. We have lacked a quality right edge forward but hopefully KPP does the job there. Sione has been making an impact all season. Hunt did it in a couple of games. Pole can do it as well but he is making a bad mistake every game.

These guys can all improve just like Stef has.

Plus I think our worker forwards are good. Not every forward is going to crash and burn on every run.

How do you judge this ? Stef was ordinary for us but looked likely and he is playing well now at the Storm. IP is playing well at Penrith and he was about the same with us. Garner has played plenty of footy for Penrith.

I think the forwards we have plus KPP can do the job. I do think we need another impact middle forward or for some guys to improve a little. I think guys like Pole and Seyfarth have improvement in them and KPP offers more on an edge.

When we add AD and Latu to the team in a lock type role I think it's more about the coaching staff developing a style that suits us and the players we have developing their games.

I honestly feel the big issues are:-

1. Api
2. Luai
3. Our pack.

--> I should add in all of that I think the coaching staff play a role.

I felt more positive this year than next year but only because some players to me haven't performed or improved. I'm hopeful that turns around.
We do have the makings of a good pack. I think we have little trouble getting into scoring positions so that means ouf fwds are doing ok.
An obvious problem is the shape in getting into that red zone lacks purpose. Meaning we need to know what the plan is eg. from half way its two quick play the balls directed at a post, third and fourth tackles are the big units running flat out to an edge, and fifth tackle its quick hands to the wings or repeat set or bomb etc.
There's several ways we can get to the tryline but 90% of the time it's the build up that makes or breaks scoring a try. It could be anyone of the first four tackles that made the impact.
Often this year, once in the red zone we were running in circles.
I can see a good pack building. KPP is a good pick-up

I reckon May would be the impact forward we need, if we can reduce his workload somehow. He may not want to, but it's needed.

He was busting tackles and providing good off loads early in the season, but as the long season wore on, his tackle busts seemed to dry up, and the quality and quantity of his off loads decreased. He was still making his metres and tackles, but even superman can only do so much.

If we get his game time down to 60 minutes without losing too much when he's off, I reckon this will benefit him, and the team, in the long run.

The off season is long and who knows who we'll be able to sign over this period. Some of our younger established players are now starting to hit the 50 to 100 game mark, which is when they should start coming into their own, or show that they're not going to progress further.

Hopefully the Roosters will start ratting each other out and Uncle Nick will be true to his word and sack them. Lyndsey Collins was on that golf trip. I wouldn't mind seeing him in a Tigers jersey. I think Spencer Leniu was there as well. Not to mention Radley himself. Was Critchon there? We'll take one of those as well.

We'll need to get Richo to load up on Harvey Norman vouchers and he'll have to take the team truck to BCF for some boats and jetskis. We'll manage somehow. Just say their market value dropped because they're all on the gear and got sacked. Works for me.

Hopefully the Roosters will start ratting each other out and Uncle Nick will be true to his word and sack them. Lyndsey Collins was on that golf trip. I wouldn't mind seeing him in a Tigers jersey. I think Spencer Leniu was there as well. Not to mention Radley himself. Was Critchon there? We'll take on of those as well.

Radley may be on the market but I'm not sold on him. Leniu is exactly what we need. Collins would be great as well.

Nutz

I reckon May would be the impact forward we need, if we can reduce his workload somehow. He may not want to, but it's needed.

He was busting tackles and providing good off loads early in the season, but as the long season wore on, his tackle busts seemed to dry up, and the quality and quantity of his off loads decreased. He was still making his metres and tackles, but even superman can only do so much.

If we get his game time down to 60 minutes without losing too much when he's off, I reckon this will benefit him, and the team, in the long run.

The off season is long and who knows who we'll be able to sign over this period. Some of our younger established players are now starting to hit the 50 to 100 game mark, which is when they should start coming into their own, or show that they're not going to progress further.

Hopefully the Roosters will start ratting each other out and Uncle Nick will be true to his word and sack them. Lyndsey Collins was on that golf trip. I wouldn't mind seeing him in a Tigers jersey. I think Spencer Leniu was there as well. Not to mention Radley himself. Was Critchon there? We'll take on of those as well.

We'll need to get Richo to load up on Harvey Norman vouchers and he'll have to take the team truck to BCF for some boats and jetskis. We'll manage somehow. Just say their market value dropped because they're all on the gear and got sacked. Works for me.
Angus Crichton any day. His workload is enormous.

He is awesome but he is also an edge player. I suppose you could move Samuela into the middle. The thing is I don't want to move him now because I thought he was looking really good at the backend of the season.

Nutz

He is awesome but he is also an edge player. I suppose you could move Samuela into the middle. The thing is I don't want to move him now because I thought he was looking really good at the backend of the season.
Yep. I'm happy because we played so good footy this year and the rebuild and teamwork continues.
I wonder if next year is our breakthrough year?