Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Season 2026

RedV11

Well, after reading this excuse me if I give season 2026 a miss... And maybe longer - like until Flanno and this nothing grub are gone.
Clearly we have attained the lowest reaches of barrell-scraping, jobs-for-the-boys, nepo BS.
Why don't we hire Andrew Voss as a water boy while we're at it?!
We'll be a Sharks feeder club, existing in KoE only within 5 years.
It's fkn sad.
Relax only played for one year for us. Not even close to “jobs for the boys” it’s an excellent appointment

Draginzaaar

Well, after reading this excuse me if I give season 2026 a miss... And maybe longer - like until Flanno and this nothing grub are gone.
Clearly we have attained the lowest reaches of barrell-scraping, jobs-for-the-boys, nepo BS.
It's fkn sad.
Yeah, see ya.

Kur0

It's fkn sad.
Seems like a bit of an overreaction for only an assistant coach signing but all the best..

Victoire

It's fkn sad.
I've seen this reaction before from an old timer. Relax mate, you'll be ok

Steel City

It's fkn sad.
Does that mean you'll stop posting too

getsmarty

Ennis returns to Red V; Perth land recruitment coup after Howe integrity saga​

St George Illawarra pathways guru and long-time Illawarra rugby league stalwart Ian Millward will join Perth as well to lead the WA side’s junior programs.

getsmarty

What went right, what went wrong and what every NRL non-finalist needs for 2026 — Brutal Reviews​

15th — DRAGONS

Record:
22 points (8 wins, 16 losses)

Grade: D

What went right: Coach Shane Flanagan said before the season that he expected his side to play finals, but in both of the coach’s two years at the helm they’ve missed the top eight. With that said, there appeared to be some improvement before they undid the good work late in the season. Entering Round 24, they were still a live chance to play finals football, just two wins outside of the eight. However, a horror run to end the season thwarted their hopes, with the Red V losing four straight games. While they didn’t finish they way Flanagan would have wanted, the coach would have been pleased with some of his team’s development and his recruitment of Clint Gutherson was a huge win in both performance and leadership. Because of a tough injury toll this season (see below), the Dragons were able to unearth some talented young guns who will derive a stack of benefit from their taste of first grade in 2025. Flanagan handed NRL debuts to exciting forwards Loko Pasifiki Tonga, Hamish Stewart and Jacob Halangahu as well as outside backs Hayden Buchanan and Nathan Lawson. With the Dragons expected to move on from several veterans at season’s end, these young players will be relied upon in 2026 and with another pre-season under their belt, expect sharp improvement. Flanagan himself got a two-year extension last month, putting some certainty around the coaching situation; which may not last long if 2026 starts poorly.

What went wrong: Injuries killed the Dragons this year. Strike centre Valentine Holmes, promising forwards Toby Couchman, Ryan Couchman and Dylan Egan all suffered season-ending injuries and played just 29 games between them in 2025. All four players would be part of the Dragons’ best 17. The horror casualty ward probably didn’t rob them of premiership glory or anything, but it was clear the depth was really tested late. The silver lining was that some youngsters were given their chance to accelerate their development. Points also came at a premium for the Red V as their attack failed to fire for much of the season. The Dragons were one of only four teams who didn’t eclipse 500 points for the season. Defensively, there were some decent signs, but in attack, that aspect of their game will need a major facelift in the off-season if they want to return to the finals. In the chief attacking position, No.7, the furore over Flanagan’s son Kyle was a huge, ugly distraction for most of the year.

What they need: With all due respect to Kyle Flanagan, he’s not the answer at halfback. He does his try his guts out every week and is a strong defender, but he doesn’t strike much fear into the opposition. He’s better suited at lock or maybe five-eighth, but not as a team’s main playmaker. Daniel Atkinson will join the Red V from Cronulla in the off-season and is likely to be given the first chance in 2026 in the No. 7, but there are plenty of question marks over him, with many viewing Atkinson as a utility. Jonah Glover has flashed glimpses in NSW Cup but he’s departing to Souths. Lachlan Ilias has had an impressive season in reserve grade after being axed from the NRL side in Round 8. If Atkinson fails to do much early on, Ilias should be given another chance as he has been pretty hard done by this year — though the latest word is that the Dragons are looking to move him on, after he’s been cast as the victim of the Kyle Flanagan furore and left in reserve-grade limbo.

Matty & Cronk analysis: “I reckon they’ve improved last year,” Johns said. “I reckon a couple of games in this last month were terrible, they let themselves down; but at the start of the year they gave a lot of cheek, they lost a lot of narrow games, I thought their mid-season you saw them pick up. Their end was disappointing.” Cronk added: “They had a couple of one-point losses in the first half of the year, and Clint Gutherson was their best player by a country mile. But then something happened at the back end. They struggled to score points, if Gutherson didn’t do something they were sort of down and out.”

Dragonslayer

Ennis is a good appointment. He is knowledgeable and not afraid to let players know where they're at.

More importantly for me, is it's putting pressure on the SAC to deliver (hopefully Newcastle take him beforehand) in 2026 as I feel Flanno would put more trust in Ennis than Young.

Kur0

Honestly, we sucked this season and there's no hiding from that at all but this may shed a silver lining in the dark, dark clouds of how luck just wasn't with us either:
If you can't be bothered to click, we were the 2nd most 'injured' team in terms of games missed from what I assume is our top 30.

denis preston

It's fkn sad.
ok feel better after this vent ?

thebigredv

Another finals series cruising along.
One eye on the footy, and one eye on who we have signed to improve a squad the whole NRL world knows is not adequate.

Neither eye really likes what it has seen so far.

getsmarty

Full list of St George Illawarra departures​

PlayerNew club
Corey Ackers-
Corey Allen -
Jack de BelinParramatta Eels
Tom EisenhuthRetired
Viliame Fifita-
Sione FinauCanberra Raiders
Jonah GloverSouth Sydney Rabbitohs
Finau Latu Canterbury Bulldogs
Raymond Faitala-Mariner-
Ben Murdoch-MasilaRetired
Francis MoloDolphins
Michael Molo-
Mikaele RavalawaCastleford Tigers

Who have the Dragons signed for 2026?​

• Daniel Atkinson (St George Illawarra Dragons)
  • Josh Kerr (Dolphins)

Who have the Dragons re-signed for next season?​

The Red V have thrown their faith into their emerging talent, with Loko Pasifiki Tonga, Ryan Couchman, Toby Couchman, Dylan Egan and Jacob Halangahu secured long-term.

Lyhkan King-Togia, Kyle Flanagan and Jacob Liddle established themselves as key players in the spine in 2025 and were rewarded with new contracts.

Meanwhile, Christian Tuipulotu was one of a few backline players to land another deal as Nathan Lawson and Nick Tsougranis were also extended.

Dribble&Yarn

a very early pick of what our R1 team looks like for next season:

1: Gutho
2: Sloan (Ramsey assuming he stays and is fit)
3: Suli
4: Val
5: CT
6: LKT (it will be Kyle)
7: Atkinson
8: T. Couch
9: Cook
10: Klemmer
11: Egan
12: Sua
13: Stewart
14: Liddle
15: Sele
16: Luch
17: Kerr

Would love to see Halangahu, LPT and R. Couch in the side, however it's promising to see our forwards depth

Slippery Morris

So Klemmer has extended, has he? I never saw any announcement as I am pretty sure it was a 1 year deal that they signed him for originally.

He played well this season and is better than RCG or any other 30+ year old, so would be good for backup.