Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pacific Championships 2025

Tongan I think. He might have Pakeha heritage for the NZ link. He was adopted by a South American family I think.
Got the better of me and looked him up on google and apparently he played for the junior kiwis and was in the 2000 Tongan wider World Cup squad.

Manu Vatuvei

To be the thread pedant 😃, you should probably use PIs instead of Polynesian, Maori are Polynesian, and I daresay the NZ eligible players would be well over 90% Polynesian.

Absolutely mate and as a Pakeha needlessly and repeatedly talking about this particular topic that’s a rookie error I’ve made

It's not really about which current players from the PIs would be selected or not, it's about giving all players the same opportunity to choose.

Currently the system funnels players to Origin and PIs.

All we want to equality, if a player is eligible for Origin, and the NRL wants to allow non Roos to play Origin, then let all players be eligible, not just PI heritage players.
Its not the NRLs decision to not let Origin player play for NZ or England, thats the IRLs call

And for the rcord i agree with you that it should be open to all nations, not shutting out "tier 1" nations like NZ and England

Manu Vatuvei

Ever watched junior or senior footy in Brisbane? Its 50% Polynesian easily, likely more.

The "defection" of NRL players to Tonga and Samoa have hurt Australia just as much as NZ but I think it’s for the greater good of the International game. I think youre being mildly dramatic to say its farcical bro

Well, agree to disagree on the correct adjective.

The Kangaroos have definitely missed out on a lot of players too but clearly have the most depth, particularly of players only eligible for Australia.

The more significant thing is that this has had little or no impact on Origin, which is more important to Aussies anyway.

Manu Vatuvei

Its not the NRLs decision to let Origin player play for NZ or England, thats the IRLs call

And for the rcord i agree with you that it should be open to all nations, not shutting out "tier 1" nations like NZ and England

It’s not the IRL making that call. The players in question are eligible for NZ/England, it’s the fact that they are made ineligible for Origin that causes the issues.

Manu Vatuvei

From the players you've named nearly all of them have played SOO/ Australia and can't be picked for NZ

The only players that NZ are missing is E Katoa and AFB who is a born and bred Aussie anyways.

The fact they chose to play Origin instead is exactly my point

Ironically you’ve singled out Katoa, who is not even eligible for the Kiwis as far as I’m aware. He’s the most fair dinkum Tongan in their squad.

Wb1234

Ever watched junior or senior footy in Brisbane? Its 50% Polynesian easily, likely more.

The "defection" of NRL players to Tonga and Samoa have hurt Australia just as much as NZ but I think its for the greater good of the International game. I think youre being mildly dramatic to say its farcical bro

Absolutely

Funny thing is they are happy for the all blacks to get islander-eligible players playing for them too

Matua

Absolutely mate and as a Pakeha needlessly and repeatedly talking about this particular topic that’s a rookie error I’ve made
All good bro, I just assumed you were Tongan because of your name. 😉

Its not the NRLs decision to not let Origin player play for NZ or England, thats the IRLs call
Yes it is, Origin rules allow PIs to play Origin but not NZers and Poms. That's not an IRL decision, that's the NRL/Aussie league.

The "defection" of NRL players to Tonga and Samoa have hurt Australia just as much as NZ but I think its for the greater good of the International game. I think youre being mildly dramatic to say its farcical bro
I've discussed this earlier, Australia has way more depth than NZ does, it doesn't hurt Australia as much as it does us, pretending otherwise is farcical .

To me Tamou is our biggest traitor, he's Maori, he moved to Oz older than Hunt, he played for the Junior Kiwis and then he chose the Kangaroos. At least Hunt was always Oz first.

TBH I didn't know that Iro wasn't the coach anymore either, I just looked it up because I was procrastinating from doing my work.

Good point. I temporarily forgot about Aussie Jim who applied for Aus citizenship but then didn't want to pay the fee so didn't become a citizen. Wanker.

@jolly boys outing Thorn is a good shout for biggest traitor too. Went back n forth between the codes playing for the All Blacks in Union but when he returned played Origin for Qld. Then went back to the All Blacks. He was a dickhead as was Tonie Caroll who played for both the Kiwis and Roos.

Manu Vatuvei

Yeah Thorn openly saying he wanted to play for the Kangaroos and the All Blacks (and add to that playing for the Broncos and Crusaders) somehow gets away with the most egregious mercenary behaviour imaginable basically because he was a tough bugger who people seem to like. Probably the most unabashed glory-hunter I can think of.

Ridgey getting stuck in to him in an ANZAC clash was one of the greatest Ridgeyisms ever.

"Get the All Black!"
"You? An All Black? You're f**ckin' kidding me!"

It’s not the IRL making that call. The players in question are eligible for NZ/England, it’s the fact that they are made ineligible for Origin that causes the issues.
Yes it is, Origin rules allow PIs to play Origin but not NZers and Poms. That's not an IRL decision, that's the NRL/Aussie league.
Ah my mistake. Thought it was the other way around

taste2taste

AFB only played for us because he was overlooked for Tonga, the fact we selected him instead of Bromwich still grinds my gears.
I wonder if AFB regrets playing 20 minutes for NZ.

It's cost him roughly 15 games of SOO and about 450k in match payments.

In fairness, at 20 yrs old he would have had no idea he would go on to become one of the games best props and could have played 15 SOO games. Which makes it even more ridiculous that people are wanting players to pick a country when they are 18 yrs old and stick to it.

Matua

I wonder if AFB regrets playing 20 minutes for NZ.

It's cost him roughly 15 games of SOO and about 450k in match payments.

In fairness, at 20 yrs old he would have had no idea he would go on to become one of the games best props and could have played 15 SOO games. Which makes it even more ridiculous that people are wanting players to pick a country when they are 18 yrs old and stick to it.
This also highlights how arbitrary the eligibility rules are. One game for NZ and the Sydney born AFB can never play origin for NSW but if he'd have tripped and injured himself out of the game 5 minutes before he could have had an Origin career while playing for another country.

titoelcolombiano

There's nothing wrong with the current schedule, it's the best they can do with what they've got.

The stadium choices were poor.

People just aren't invested in international league like they are with thier NRL side. If the Pac Champs are high quality games fans will become more invested but that's going to take years. The NRL would have had a 5 yr plan with the Pac Champs and after that they'll gauge its success.

Imo the NRL season is too long and fans switch off after the Grand Final. If the NRL was serious about int RL these games would be mid season while interest is high. At the very least they could bring back the Anzac Test
Agree on the schedule, stick with it.

The crowds though are looking great: 20k, 40k, 40k and 30k. On top of strong crowds and TV ratings last year. The international game has never had this level of interest and competitiveness

Good boost for the Kiwis there, hopefully their fans start showing up. Would be great for both Suncorp and Eden park to break the crowd record for this tournament which current stands at 33,000 from last years Australia v Tonga game.