Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Glenneel

I’d go after Talakai, Averillo and Tualagi. I’m sure all there agents have phoned MON. Multiple times….
Didn't Broncos sign Anderson from Storm, someone we should have gone after? Therefor think Arthurs further down the pecking order and I'd contact club to see if they willing to release him for this year. They'd have to be having cap problems surely - nothing to see there NRL!

Glenneel

Watching a replay on Fox of Parra v Knights when we played them up there.

I can not understate enough how much we are going to miss Lomax. Forget the fancy stuff, that bloke took the toughest of carries every set. He’s an absolute pig bringing it back.

The fact we don’t have anything close to a replacement is an absolute disgrace. Having a winger that f**king strong, pulling in 3 defenders every time and almost always landing on his belly while defenders retreat is not being replaced.

I’m predicting an appalling season, and yet another season where we’ll be asking about “next season”.

I love this club so much but we have a pretty underwhelming roster with even less depth. Ryle can coach his ass off but we have an awful season ahead. Any of this “oh he’ll be a year more experienced” etc is bullshit I have heard it every year from you lot in the last decade. We are a 14th-10th side AT BEST!
I think we're better than that, bottom of 8 for me, so we'll compare at season's end.

AnonymousLurker

I reckon Nanva will push through and possibly play NRL this season.

Odds of that have increased - looks like they putting to vote to go 6 man bench

Rule changes
Kick off rule
6 man bench
No 7 set tackles if drop ball over line
Set restarts back to 20 metres instead of 40 so no penalties 20-40 line

I can not understate enough how much we are going to miss Lomax. Forget the fancy stuff, that bloke took the toughest of carries every set. He’s an absolute pig bringing it back.

The fact we don’t have anything close to a replacement is an absolute disgrace. Having a winger that f**king strong, pulling in 3 defenders every time and almost always landing on his belly while defenders retreat is not being replaced.

I’m predicting an appalling season, and yet another season where we’ll be asking about “next season”.

I love this club so much but we have a pretty underwhelming roster with even less depth. Ryle can coach his ass off but we have an awful season ahead. Any of this “oh he’ll be a year more experienced” etc is bullshit I have heard it every year from you lot in the last decade. We are a 14th-10th side AT BEST!

Id give us 12-13 rounds into next season to see where we are going mate

Ryles has developed quite a few guys very nicely, who will be better come 2026, and we got a pretty good spine if Moses stays on the paddock, very good spine

Lomax will be a loss, but I think Simmonson after his shennanigans will want to prove he belongs and will rip in. Kelly is a pretty good buy as well. Also we will have Moses boot to clear us out of trouble at times, where we didn't have that for a good chunk of last year

Couple of bad injuries to key backline players may stuff us up. But we hope that bridge aint around..

Odds of that have increased - looks like they putting to vote to go 6 man bench

Rule changes
Kick off rule
6 man bench
No 7 set tackles if drop ball over line
Set restarts back to 20 metres instead of 40 so no penalties 20-40 line

@T-Boon my rule changes have made it. However I think it should be a choice to team that scored as to attempt conversion and kick off or forfeit it and receive ball.

Or you forfeit conversuin attempt for 4 points and a full set from red zone. So can possibly score again and get 8 points.

Lemon Squash

Chatting to a mate of mine today who probably knows more about junior rep footy than anyone I know. He shocked me a bit and said if we want to try and replace Lomax from within we should be transitioning Samrani back onto the wing.

Apparently he played it a fair bit as a junior in Cronulla where he was pretty highly rated, has size and power and decent under the high ball. Obviously speed is lacking but Lomax was hardly a Gazelle.

At worst he would help cover our set restarts with his carries. He did have some classy put downs in games this year where he looked like a natural outside back.

Remember Ryles only started pushing him to the back row last year because we were appeared short there early in the season. But with Williams, KK and Kelma we are probably okay for now. Guymer, Latu, JFL, Petrus also pushing through.

At first I thought he was mad but the idea is growing on me.

Yep I believe we are fkd for at least next 3 years, I’ve said it before, that Ryles as yet is not much of an attraction in regards to attracting talent

viole02

I’m interested to see who other posters would target now we’ve missed out on KK. I admit I was keen on him as I saw him as a natural pack leader with Junz slowly departing the stage. However our forward stocks are pretty solid for mine with the younger players coming through.

Our backs however, need cover and badly. Here’s a couple of screenshots of players we can negotiate with now. Jesse Arthars could be a handy pick up. Has plenty of speed, is on the fringes of the Qld side but isn’t a starter for Brisbane. Maybe float the boat out for Jaxon Purdue? He’s young, highly touted and one for the future. Murray Taulagi is a big body who is a bit of a like for like with Lomax.

Who would you go after?
View attachment 108686View attachment 108685
If murray taulagi isnt on the table i think isaako would be decent on the wing (listed as fullback for whatever reason) also purdue should be part of this cohort too even tho hes not listed. Arthars or warbrick would still be solid pieces too despite warbrick having a terrible GF. Maybe meaney too? Otherwise were pretty cooked for outside backs

viole02

Averillo to me is one of those dudes who isnt a master at any position.

Id just throw 850k at C.Mclean and see if get any bites.
Id love to see us steal mclean by offering a fat stack and also hoping his agent agitates for an early release but seems unlikely. One can dream i suppose

Now our recruitment is starting to annoy the f**k out of me. f**k me, WTF are we going to do with the extra coin we have? Upgrade Semrani and Richard Penisini? We are f**king hopeless. And the first person who tries to defend these idiots can I just say, go f**k yourself.

Chatting to a mate of mine today who probably knows more about junior rep footy than anyone I know. He shocked me a bit and said if we want to try and replace Lomax from within we should be transitioning Samrani back onto the wing.

Apparently he played it a fair bit as a junior in Cronulla where he was pretty highly rated, has size and power and decent under the high ball. Obviously speed is lacking but Lomax was hardly a Gazelle.

At worst he would help cover our set restarts with his carries. He did have some classy put downs in games this year where he looked like a natural outside back.

Remember Ryles only started pushing him to the back row last year because we were appeared short there early in the season. But with Williams, KK and Kelma we are probably okay for now. Guymer, Latu, JFL, Petrus also pushing through.

At first I thought he was mad but the idea is growing on me.

Simrani?

Just when I think I’ve heard it all. With a fan base like this it’s no wonder why MON can get away signing absolute shite and keep his job. Because the fan base are that f**king dumb. Anyone who rates Simrani more than a Ron Massey Cup standard player has NFI.

winger ???? FMD