Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bears Confirmed & Rumoured Signings

Iamback

I think at this time we can all agree the club doesn’t yet have the snr leadership players we need, or an obvious team capt yet. But with 10 months to go till pre season I’m not worried.

Dolphins signed kaufusi and bromwich to fill these roles. Hopefully we have a couple of aces up our sleeve to come. Big Tino would obviously tick the box very nicely.

My comments are on the squad as it sits now, over the next year that may change

View attachment 108970

It would seem that you still cannot differentiate an on field captain from a leadership group.

Again you’re continuing to prove that you are not very smart at all.

Have a good day, remember cross the road on green.
thats what i was thinking. you made the highlight post and then @Gobsmacked drifted away and verified that yes he can't tell the difference between leaders and a captain which you have maintained. you also said theres more coming in form of experienced and senior players. its all there in writing, not sure why gobthroat then chose to quote what ya did gobby when @Red&BlackBear has already split the hairs on it.

the convo was about leadership group for the club as a whole right. what defines is. never about who the club captain was or how talented players are once they leave panthers and storms. thats what the chat was. now somehow gobby has made it about the captain?

maybe gobthroat doesnt get intent.

so redblackbear without ya specific perth bears hat on (maybe put ya qrl hat on) and as a pure footy fan how do you see perth bears roster forming, why do you think theyve gone for the players that they have gots, how do you think their building and towards what sort of team are they building for?

its clear you wont go into great detail with in house stuff but at least if you could answer this then maybe posters might be able to see your personal view as opposed to the club view? it would be good to read it i reckon.

Found a talented RL player in Queensland, pure genius.
you trying to have a crack here? bears do something, gobthroat must find a negative..

the more queensland kids that get signed up on dev deals and remember all this is number 3 now then the more the entire queensland affiliation for pathways to help develop the squad as it ages is shown as true. remember posters laughed at this notion when it was first stated and now over a 1 year later its coming to fruition.

Put the wacky tabacky down bruh. Ffs
he is smoking meth not wacky tabacky.
at some point he forgot that the game is 17 players and benchies are as important as starters because it forms the basis of game plans. this isnt 1992 where the 13 starters are it, this is 2026. every player in a line up has an important role and a job to do in the team.

team management is a legit thing. anyone who cant see this just doesnt watch the game closely enough,

I think at this time we can all agree the club doesn’t yet have the snr leadership players we need, or an obvious team capt yet. But with 10 months to go till pre season I’m not worried.

Dolphins signed kaufusi and bromwich to fill these roles. Hopefully we have a couple of aces up our sleeve to come. Big Tino would obviously tick the box very nicely.
they might not have the quote on quote senior players yet but they got good guys who are ready to step up.
kinda splitting hairs like a project manager vs senior project manager. both do the same role and lead people to execute a plan.

i doubt mal would have signed these blokes for the length that he did if he didn't think they would be doing things beyond the 80mins of footy each week. they beens learning from good people and to go next step which majority of players aim for then itll be time for them to be the voices in the sheds, pulling up others and holding accountability. they'll be late 20's and mid 20's. footy is a limited time frame sport like all other sports. these blokes arent 18/19 and they been playing and learning from some good blokes.

once they get a couple older heads then the core group of leaders is finalised. from that final group, a captain will be picked. the squads under 1/2 and tad over 1/3 filled. plenty to go yet.

Red&BlackBear

so redblackbear without ya specific perth bears hat on (maybe put ya qrl hat on) and as a pure footy fan how do you see perth bears roster forming, why do you think theyve gone for the players that they have gots, how do you think their building and towards what sort of team are they building for?

its clear you wont go into great detail with in house stuff but at least if you could answer this then maybe posters might be able to see your personal view as opposed to the club view? it would be good to read it i reckon.

Recruitment is going as expected. There is a holistic approach to it to navigate and mitigate the known challenges. There are action plans implemented from the football department to get as close to the roster Mal wants, as possible.

From before day 1 of recruitment the emphasis has been on character. The club wants the onboard players for the right reasons.

The squad is starting from net zero. There are no pre-existing players at the club who have come through the grades and understand the club systems and culture. All other clubs have these sort of systems and therefore guys (who came through them) in their squads, generally they will make up some of the core group to which the entire squad is bound around. That’s the reality of it.

Therefore Mal, David, Dane and Ian have chosen to select players (who are available) whose character is built on work ethic, 1%ers, accountability, competitiveness, and standards.

On field results will vary but the culture and standards won’t. It’s important to get off to a good start on November 1st, 2026 when these blokes meet eachother formally in Perth.

Game day footy isn’t even a thought right now. Players like Henry & Wishart are great because they are multi-positional. The whole bench thing is irrelevant because that’s what their current club game plans demand of them. Bears game plans will undoubtedly differ.

They’ve been offered long term contracts because of where they are at - in their career, where they are coming from - current club, and where they’re anticipated and expected to be. Every club projects players trajectory and hot tip - it isn’t isolated to just on the field game day footy.

Versatility is important. A set positional player is great, but one that can cover gaps and multi-positions is better. It’s clear to understand that these players won’t necessarily be masters of any 1 position but will be serviceable and adequate in multiple. That’s the reality of where the game is heading though. Meaney who will be close to 180 NRL games and Russell provides versatility in the backline.

Curran is committed. He won’t let anyone down. You’ll always get effort from him. The effort will translate to training - that is an expectation.

Luke Smith, Emarly Bitungane, Isaac F and Chris V are depth players that every club has like-type in their rosters. If they hit the ground hard, impress during off season then there’s no reason they can’t push for a bench spot and to be honest that’s how it’s expected to go. Not the bench spot per se but them hitting the ground running and giving it their all to push.

Of the available NRL players left off contract there’s a few I’d personally target.

The senior group:
Scott Sorensen on a 2 year deal.
Luke Garner on a 2 year deal.
Cam McInness on a 2 year deal.
Marata Niukore on a 2 year deal.
Kodi Nikorima on a 2 year deal.

Forwards:
Sam Hughes on a 2 year deal.
Jesse Colquhoun on a 3 year deal.
Jaimin Jolliffe on a 3 year deal (CO).
Charlie Guymer on a 3 year deal (CO).
Sam Verills on a 3 year deal.
Sam McIntyre on a 3 year deal (CO).

Backs:
Jack Cole on a 2 year deal.
Luke Laulilii on a 3 year deal (CO).
Jaxon Purdue on a 4 year deal.
Sam Stonestreet on a 3 year deal (CO).
Gehemat Shibasaki on a 3 year deal.

That leaves 2 spots left.
Tino Fa’asuamaleaui and Matt Burton would be good club ambassadors and faces. I’d have both on 4 year deals.

I think you then start having a somewhat well balanced squad with plenty of versatility from a number of players, across a number of positions. They all have character and no frills about them. Key ingredients to build a culture. There’s no dickheads there. There’s no expectation to win the comp but all expectation to build the foundations of a great culture and standards moving forwards

Things that need to be remembered are:
There’s no pre existing club culture, there’s no pre existing football systems and therefore there’s no pre existing defensive structures or style of attacking play. There’s elements that are far more important than “ x-player should be recruited because he can run fast and has highlights “.

I’d be surprised if even half those players are nabbed, there will be more English contingent coming which I didn’t list.

Iamback

they might not have the quote on quote senior players yet but they got good guys who are ready to step up.
kinda splitting hairs like a project manager vs senior project manager. both do the same role and lead people to execute a plan.

i doubt mal would have signed these blokes for the length that he did if he didn't think they would be doing things beyond the 80mins of footy each week. they beens learning from good people and to go next step which majority of players aim for then itll be time for them to be the voices in the sheds, pulling up others and holding accountability. they'll be late 20's and mid 20's. footy is a limited time frame sport like all other sports. these blokes arent 18/19 and they been playing and learning from some good blokes.

once they get a couple older heads then the core group of leaders is finalised. from that final group, a captain will be picked. the squads under 1/2 and tad over 1/3 filled. plenty to go yet.

I doubt the club had much say at the length of deal, As I have said to move across is huge.

They had Luke Garner 90% done but the Dragons and Manly are now interested. So he is holding off, And extra year or 2 added maybe Perth gets him.

The senior guys you speak and Red Bear speak of

Meaney 150 NRL games
Curran 106
Wishart 80
Henry 50

Only Meaney has been a regular NRL starter.

No Origin or Test players there

I am not a Perth hater, I want RL to flourish but the reality is at this point in time the squad is lacking in a lot of areas.

Iamback

Recruitment is going as expected. There is a holistic approach to it to navigate and mitigate the known challenges. There are action plans implement from the football department to get as close to the roster Mal wants, as possible.

From before day 1 of recruitment the emphasis has been on character. The club wants the onboard players for the right reasons.

The squad is starting from net zero. There are no pre-existing players at the club who have come through the grades and understand the club systems and culture. All other clubs have these sort of guys in their squads, generally they will make up some of the core group to which the entire squad is bound to. That’s the reality of it.

Therefore Mal, David, Dane and Ian have chosen to select players (who are available) whose character is built on work ethic, 1%ers, accountability, competitiveness, and standards.

On field results will vary but the culture and standards won’t. It’s important to get off to a good start on November 1st, 2026 when these blokes meet eachother formally in Perth.

Game day footy isn’t even a thought right now. Players like Henry & Wishart are great because they are multi-positional. The whole bench thing is irrelevant because that’s what their current club game plans demand of them. Bears game plans will undoubtedly differ.

They’ve been offered long term contracts because of where they are at - in their career, where they are coming from - current club, and where they’re anticipated and expected to be. Every club projects players trajectory and hot tip - it isn’t isolated to just on the field game day footy.

Versatility is important. A set positional player is great, but one that can cover gaps and multi-positions is great. It’s clearly understand that these players won’t necessarily be masters of any 1 position but will be serviceable and adequate in multiple. That’s the reality of where the game is heading though. Meaney who will be close to 180 NRL games and Russell provides versatility in the backline.

Curran is committed. He won’t let anyone down. You’ll always get effort from him. The effort will translate to training - that is an expectation.

Luke Smith, Emarly Bitungane, Isaac F and Chris V are depth players that every club has like-type in their rosters. If they hit the ground hard, impress during off season then there’s no reason they can’t push for a bench spot and to be honest that’s how it’s expected to go. Not the bench spot per se but them hitting the ground running and giving it their all to push.

Of the available NRL players left off contract there’s a few I’d personally target.

The senior group:
Scott Sorensen on a 2 year deal.
Luke Garner on a 2 year deal.
Cam McInness on a 2 year deal.
Marata Niukore on a 2 year deal.
Kodi Nikorima on a 2 year deal.

Forwards:
Sam Hughes on a 2 year deal.
Jesse Colquhoun on a 3 year deal.
Jaimin Jolliffe on a 3 year deal (CO).
Charlie Guymer on a 3 year deal (CO).
Sam Verills on a 3 year deal.
Sam McIntyre on a 3 year deal (CO).

Backs:
Jack Cole on a 2 year deal.
Luke Laulilii on a 3 year deal (CO).
Jaxon Purdue on a 4 year deal.
Sam Stonestreet on a 3 year deal (CO).
Gehemat Shibasaki on a 3 year deal.

That leaves 2 spots left.
Tino Fa’asuamaleaui and Matt Burton would be good club ambassadors and faces. I’d have both on 4 year deals.

I think you then start having a somewhat well balanced squad with plenty of versatility from a number of players, across a number of positions. They all have character and no frills about them. There’s no dickheads there. There’s no expectation to win the comp but all expectation to build the foundations of a great culture moving forwards

Things that need to be remembered are:
There’s no pre existing club culture, there’s no pre existing football systems and therefore there’s no pre existing defensive structures or style of attacking play. There’s elements that are far more important than “ x-player should be recruited because he can run fast and has highlights “.

I’d be surprised if even half those players are nabbed, there will be more English contingent coming which I didn’t list.

Garner has a 3 year offer from the Dragons, most will likely have to be for a longer length to get the job done

I doubt the club had much say at the length of deal, As I have said to move across is huge.

They had Luke Garner 90% done but the Dragons and Manly are now interested. So he is holding off, And extra year or 2 added maybe Perth gets him.

Meaney 150 NRL games
Curran 106
Wishart 80
Henry 50

I am not a Perth hater, I want RL to flourish but the reality is at this point in time the squad is lacking in a lot of areas.
you've missed the point completely. youre thinking of where players are right now and not at the end of the year after another full season.

174 games is more than 150.
104 is more than 80
130 is more than 106
74 is more than 50.

for context average nrl career is 66 games. or 3-4 seasons.

footy departments are always thinking of where will player be in 12 months, 24 months, 36 months time. its the coach who is thinking where they are this very moment and all i keep reading from those in the know including bears own mal is they are thinking years 3, 4, 5, 6 etc not just year 1 and 2.

gotta start somewhere, a captain or leader isn't a captain or leader until they are. ya dont hand out 4/5 year deals without those expectations of growth cob.

im far from the sharpest and i can understand the intent, not sure why its difficult for others to understand it too.

like economics here, club is building a roster to be able to grow something beyond it and too many people caught up in their first year or worse yet right now before the end of this year.

Iamback

3-4 years etc.
You get the point i’m inferring re: character and of player.

Bears can only do what they can within the rules so they have their hands tied.

None of that is wrong but I would say that across the board the old fashioned dickhead is eliminated.

So having that recruitment policy doesn't set them apart from the rest of the comp.

The aim should be to have Perth nearer to the good teams than GC etc.

Red&BlackBear

Meaney 150 NRL games
Curran 106
Wishart 80
Henry 50

you've missed the point completely. youre thinking of where players are right now and not at the end of the year after another full season.

104 is more than 80
130 is more than 106
74 is more than 50.

footy departments are always thinking of where will player be in 12 months, 24 months, 36 months time. its the coach who is thinking where they are this very moment and all i keep reading from those in the know including bears own mal is they are thinking years 3, 4, 5, 6 etc not just year 1 and 2.

gotta start somewhere, a captain or leader isn't a captain or leader until they are. ya dont hand out 4/5 year deals without those expectations of growth cob.

im far from the sharpest and i can understand the intent, not sure why its difficult for others to understand it too.

like economics here, club is building a roster to be able to grow something beyond it and too many people caught up in their first year or worse yet right now before the end of this year.
And that’s exactly it.
The key difference here is outlook mentality.

I’m not thinking of the first couple of seasons and how they look. I’m thinking of the first full decade and how that looks. I understand it’s what the club is built on that’ll steer it to where it is expected to be.

It’s really no different to business. The managers I appoint are concentrating on the immediate projects that are live. Whilst I am already thinking of the projects that are months away (or yet to be won). I’m building contingency and cashflow to best prepare and ready the business for the upcoming pipeline of work.

Mal’s appointment was never to just be the immediate coach. He was appointed to help construct the future proof structures via pathways and development for the club. He has KPI’s built into his contract relating to it. That includes signing players who will build the culture and set standards for the club. I keep repeating myself here. He has an eye on the projected trajectory of certain guys - hence the contract lengths.

It’s not that complicated, it really isn’t.

Iamback

104 is more than 80
130 is more than 106
74 is more than 50.

Ok so we give them an extra year.

Ivan has proven he play guys even if they signed elsewhere.

Henry had a poor year last year granted. Sorro had couldn't stay on the field - him fit starts prop over Henry.

Papalli jumped him form wise.

So you are looking at him needing 3 guys in front of him to be a starter.

If Hughes and Munster play all year - Storm will be good so it takes injury for Wishart to start in the halves.

Sexton looks to be the 7, He is ESL so he won't get any better at leading an NRL team around the park.

London aren't even in the Super League so those guys aren't going to improve much.

Russell should play more. So you are looking at their centres so far being the only 2 who have started regularly in NRL.

I can see what they are doing too, they have signed young promising players from successful clubs with a high upside.

They haven't signed senior guys or guys to lead the culture though Yet

Bears can only do what they can within the rules so they have their hands tied.

None of that is wrong but I would say that across the board the old fashioned dickhead is eliminated.

So having that recruitment policy doesn't set them apart from the rest of the comp.

The aim should be to have Perth nearer to the good teams than GC etc.
not really,. you guys for example still had the may's and let them go esp taylan after a few incidents.
other clubs have blokes still doing dumb shit. thatll never change, ya cant baby sit them all,

you flagged GC but their recruitment wasnt the issue, it was bad coaching and systems, they have good players in the squad. same with tigers, same with knights. but poor systems and worse coaching will make the best playing group look mediocore no matter the sport.

also bears arent looking to set themselves apart from the rest of the comp with policies. they are quite literally kicking off. theres been no trial and error runs from them.

i feel like theres 3 groups of posters here. 1 that are looking at 2027 and basing their opinions off 12 players signed for that year. 2 that are waiting to see what their entire roster looks like before giving opinion and 3 that are looking 5-10 years in the future. i thinks the key debate and different thinking is due to the above.

i feel like you might be and gobthroat def is concentrated on next year. others are reserving judgement until end of year and then bear and centy coast are forecasting into 5-10 years knowing the initial squad is built for a purpose and that purpose isnt to try win the comp.

Iamback

And that’s exactly it.
The key difference here is outlook mentality.

I’m not thinking of the first couple of seasons and how they look. I’m thinking of the first full decade and how that looks. I understand it’s what the club is built on that’ll steer it to where it is expected to be.

It’s really no different to business. The managers I appoint are concentrating on the immediate projects that are live. Whilst I am already thinking of the projects that are months away (or yet to be won). I’m building contingency and cashflow to best prepare and ready the business for the upcoming pipeline of work.

Mal’s appointment was never to just be the immediate coach. He was appointed to help construct the future proof structures via pathways and development for the club. He has KPI’s built into his contract relating to it. That includes signing players who will build the culture and set standards for the club. I keep repeating myself here. He has an eye on the projected trajectory of certain guys - hence the contract lengths.

It’s not that complicated, it really isn’t.

The way you have it isn't that complicated if it was a business.

Reality is they needed to set the bar higher to not always be 2 steps behind other clubs.

I don't think there is a current club looking at the culture of their club as a measure of if the club is going well or not. It is a results business.

Using your above example,

If you have 2 teams

1 - team of great blokes no issues but the work is substandard or late

2 - have attendance issues, clowning around on the site but the performance is outstanding and done on time.

Which Manager is doing their job better?

Ok so we give them an extra year.

Ivan has proven he play guys even if they signed elsewhere.

Henry had a poor year last year granted. Sorro had couldn't stay on the field - him fit starts prop over Henry.

Papalli jumped him form wise.

So you are looking at him needing 3 guys in front of him to be a starter.

If Hughes and Munster play all year - Storm will be good so it takes injury for Wishart to start in the halves.

Sexton looks to be the 7, He is ESL so he won't get any better at leading an NRL team around the park.

London aren't even in the Super League so those guys aren't going to improve much.

Russell should play more. So you are looking at their centres so far being the only 2 who have started regularly in NRL.

I can see what they are doing too, they have signed young promising players from successful clubs with a high upside.

They haven't signed senior guys or guys to lead the culture though Yet
this thought process isnt what the coaches think. they are thinking full 17 with roles. players can come in or out of 13 and be fluid in 17. but the 17 is generally the same or coaches hope for it. henry still has smith and leota in front of him. games that rep players were at origin he did start. same with wishy.

watson for roosters wasnt a starter until he was. forwards blokes train to be able to at least play 60mins-70 mins but most have fitness for 80 mins if really required. henry can play 80 he has done it. wishy can to. positional play right now because thats what their current clubs game plays are set is irrelevant to bears. because again this is thinking of 2025 and maybe 2026. 2027 is still a year away. its more experience and more reps in the legs regardless. henry was never gonna just be benchy same with wishy.

guys train and work to be the man in their position to own it but will also cater to do the job required within the team.

youre pretty clued on @Iamback you genuinely are but even you know what you said isnt how it is. theres context to everything and without the context then the opinion is only half cooked i reckon. its a good chat though mate.

you and @Red&BlackBear seem to know abit about footy, i just think youre looking at this right now and he is looking at this in the not so distance future and thats the difference maybe.

Gobsmacked

I think Tino is fantasy but it's a good example.