Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Game day thread (trial): 6pm Eels v Chooks 21/2/26

King-Gutho94

Well done to Jason Ryles and the club winning the pre-season trophy.

Its pretty meaningless in the scheme of things as most couldnt tell you who won it previously or even care.

But it probably will keep the buzz around the squad to start the season.

And with the 2016 Auckland nines wiped from the history books

Ryles has now won more trophies as coach then his precedssor of 11 years before he starts his 2nd season.

King-Gutho94

In terms of the footy you can see how the coaching has really nailed down on a lot of technical parts of the game and how much they work on upskilling themselves on the basics.

The short passing style takes a lot of practice not only with the passer but the reciever as well having to get used to contact the moment he catches the ball.

You can see the energy we play with across both facets of our game. Its really enojoyable.

Ill see where Pezet is at come origin time.

He hasn't played regular first grade yet consistently the week on week grind of FG.

My main concern is TDS still doesnt look comfortable out there whatsoever in defence and even attack.

Simmonson still looks weak at times on the wing for mine when competeing for the ball.

Doorey also needs to sort out his defence

JokerEel

Well done to Jason Ryles and the club winning the pre-season trophy.

Its pretty meaningless in the scheme of things as most couldnt tell you who won it previously or even care.

But it probably will keep the buzz around the squad to start the season.

And with the 2016 Auckland nines wiped from the history books

Ryles has now won more trophies as coach then his precedssor of 11 years before he starts his 2nd season.

Broncos!

Glenn

Pleasing to see the heads didn't drop after going in to HT down by 10 after outplaying the Chooks for most of the first half. A good confidence builder for the team heading into the 2026 season.

Soto

Missed the game but. Im lending toward Samrani to start on wing over Bailey. We need go forward and this kids has it
Would still probably give Simonsson 1st crack.
I like Samrani...was absolutely sledged last yr. Can easily see he will give his absolute best. Likely to break the line too.
Thats why I reckon he has to be in the 19 if not starting.
His versatility is gold in today's game

Soto

In terms of the footy you can see how the coaching has really nailed down on a lot of technical parts of the game and how much they work on upskilling themselves on the basics.

The short passing style takes a lot of practice not only with the passer but the reciever as well having to get used to contact the moment he catches the ball.

You can see the energy we play with across both facets of our game. Its really enojoyable.

He hasn't played regular first grade yet consistently the week on week grind of FG.

My main concern is TDS still doesnt look comfortable out there whatsoever in defence and even attack.

Simmonson still looks weak at times on the wing for mine when competeing for the ball.

We don't anyone peaking now but agree on the above.
Doorey is a bloke well persevering with. A great hole runner and takes stopping. Has also developed a pass.
In my view yes was responsible for the Walker try but not the Crichton try.
In saying that Walker is capable of ruining the best defenders.
Video work video work video work.
I like what we're building.
Preseason premiers. Now all efforts, energy and emphasis on winning rnd 1...let's do this

lucablight

When it comes to Simonsson and Doorey I think that’s just who they are.

Gazzamatta

Would still probably give Simonsson 1st crack.
I like Samrani...was absolutely sledged last yr. Can easily see he will give his absolute best. Likely to break the line too.
Thats why I reckon he has to be in the 19 if not starting.
His versatility is gold in today's game
Yeah I've liked Samrani from the beginning. 100% effort. Not dissimilar to Ryley in that regard. Things happen around him.