Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 2 vs North Qld @ Leichhardt Oval, Lilyfield / Wanngal

Who will win? Round 2: Wests Tigers v North Qld

• Wests Tigers 13+

Votes: 3 37.5%
  • Wests Tigers 1-12

Votes: 3 37.5%

• North Queensland Cowboys 1-12

• North Queensland Cowboys 13+

Votes: 2 25.0%

chunk

Great day, thoroughly enjoyed it. Any time you win like that is a good thing.

I thought we played well for the most part but obviously areas to work on, we made a few important errors and weren't consistent for the eighty minutes, though overall very encouraging.

Lots of good performances, Sam, KPP, Skelton amongst others had very good games.

And I thought Bula was okay without being dynamic, it was a good to see him take a couple of fourth tackle hit ups into the meat of the forwards.

Probably won't happen, but Herbert into the centres and Turuva and Skelton on the wings next week would be my pick.

Skelton has to come in. I hope To'a is fit.

How good was Turuva in the centres though. He might be better on the wing though. I'd like to see Makasini on the wing as well.

Ron's_Mate

New era dawns as Tigers win their first season opener in six years
By Billie Eder
March 14, 2026 — 5.27pm

Wests Tigers have buried their reputation as serial slow starters to a season with a sensational 44-16 victory against the Cowboys at Leichhardt Oval on Saturday afternoon.

Having not won a season-opening match since 2020, nor played finals football since 2011, the Tigers not only showed promise in front of a sold-out home crowd but also the finesse and flair of a team ready to shake off the dire record that has plagued them for more than a decade.

This was their biggest win to start a campaign in the club’s 27-year history.

Whether it was Jarome Luai sidestepping the slow Cowboys defence, recruit Kai Pearce-Paul bursting through to score a double, or Jahream Bula breaking through the line, the Tigers’ attack had it all.

“There’s a lot to like about the way we played a lot of our game today, but there’s also a lot that we can learn and take away,” coach Benji Marshall said.

“I liked our intent and the way we started with our mindset in the game. I like the way our leaders led on the field and off it during the week. I like the way our spine connected, I thought Adam [Doueihi] was really good at seven for us today ... but the platform they got from our outside backs and our middles was probably the most impressive.”

A second-half defensive lapse, with the visitors scoring the first three tries after the break to strong-arm their way back into the match, took some of the gloss off an otherwise hugely encouraging display.

But when winger Luke Laulilii intercepted a ball from Scott Drinkwater and ran just over 70 metres to score his second try of the afternoon with 17 minutes left, the Tigers went 40-16 up and the visitors’ hopes of victory were well and truly extinguished.

For the most part, North Queensland were terrible. That was never more obvious than when Doueihi fell across the line under the posts for the softest of tries as Scott Drinkwater watched on.

But Benji Marshall’s men deserved every point, and proved the club could be a big mover in 2026.

“We started on the back foot, the sin bin put us under pressure, brought fatigue into the game,” Cowboys coach Todd Payten said.

“Every time we got the smallest amount of momentum, whether it’s one or two plays or one or two sets, we’d come up with the error, which again, compounded things.”

It was the Cowboys who opened the scoring after Api Koroisau conceded an early penalty for a dangerous tackle on Griffin Neame.

But the door was opened for the Tigers when Kai O’Donnell was sin-binned in the 11th minute for not being square at marker following repeat offences.

Koroisau gave O’Donnell a wave on the way off, and it appeared the team’s hopes went with him, as the Tigers rolled through the visitors to lead 28-2 at half-time.

Koroisau and Luai completely controlled the match, and while Braidon Burns, Jaxon Purdue and Tom Chester managed to win back some self-respect for the Cowboys with tries in the second half, it was all about the Tigers on Saturday as a sea of orange had Leichhardt pumping.

Samuela Fainu stormed through to score the first try of the match, before Doueihi and Pearce-Paul added to the tally while O’Donnell was in the bin, before Laulilii and Luai added to the Tigers’ tally.

After a Jeral Skelton try in the corner, the Tigers were a threat of bringing up 50 points, but had to settle with 44 in the end.

The biggest concern for the Tigers was Taylan May’s shoulder injury, which he suffered early in the match.

May came from the field and will be sent for scans in the coming days.

WA Tiger

Skelton has to come in. I hope To'a is fit.

How good was Turuva in the centres though. He might be better on the wing though. I'd like to see Makasini on the wing as well.
Yea Makasini to the wing.. not a lot see with him at centre. Though you could still see his strength today…

Pezz70

Lacking match fitness, is a likely excuse for the lacklustre second half, we fell off a lot of tackles. Nice to get a good win but nth qld are custard and have been going backwards for a bit. Our defence still leaks through the middle, when cowboys went up the guts they made a lot of yards. We need to stand up the attackers for a second or so longer before we put them on their backs just to get the defensive line set. We were letting them to ground a bit too quickly and when they managed to play the ball quickly it hurt us. Positives were some really nice set scrum plays, two or three led to tries , one where Bula fed the scrum was really nicely executed. Overall you can only beat the team you’re playing and the boys did a good job, kept them tryless in the first half

Very good performance. KPP looks like he could be a great fit, two tries along with some other clever play. Luai had a few spud plays but was otherwise excellent. Laulili’i bombed a few tries as well, could have easily cracked 50.

That said, cowboys were crap, I originally thought Payten gone by ANZAC Day, reckon he doesn’t make Easter now.

Fordy20

Did my eyes deceive me or was Sione Fainu playing hooker after API went off?

Anyway, enjoyed watching that game. Doueihi walking over the tryline and Luai's try from his kick into the goal post were both pretty funny. The intercept from Laulili’i was good and although he had a few poor moments, he wasn't complete garbage out there. Really happy with our backrowers too. KPP and Fainu are great.

Wizardman

1. Bula = 7 = Bula is clearly not going to be everybody's darling due to contract dealings, but I thought he contributed positively. He did some good things in attacking sets and took some nice, contested high balls. He had a decent first game.

2. Turuva = 7 = As always, played tough. Credit to him for filling in well at centre as well. Such a positive player to have in our team.

3. May = I won't score him as he was injured very early in the match.

4. Makasini = 5 = I will give him a pass mark but not an overwhelming one. He had some good, tough carries....but never really look a danger in attack. His defence was a bit on the inconvincing side as well. If we can, I'd play him on the wing next week to simplify things for him. I don't think he is an NRL standard centre at this point.

5. Lauilli = 3 = If you didn't watch the game, you'd think by looking at his stats, he had a great game. It was anything but though. The man has limp dicks for fingers (not for the first time in first grade), positions himself poorly in attack and a woeful defender. I know he has a cheerleader fan here, but Im okay with him dipping down the depth chart as far as our backs go. If we had a close game, he could have cost us the match. Drop him if possible.

6. Luai = 9 = I've been an absolute Luai critic. I've wanted him to keep and use those exit clauses in his contract as he has not performed to the pricetag.....but he did today. He was outstanding on both sides of the ball today. By far and away, his best performance in a Tigers jersey. Keep it up!

7. Doueihi = 7 = Not the standout Luai was....but had good moments as well. His running game in the halves will be crucial for us. Prior to last year, I've been a huge Doueihi critic but he is winning me over.

8. May = 7 = Supercoach fans would have hated it...but thank god we are not playing May until he is dead on the footy field so far. Less minutes is the way to go....his impact probably wasn't the best...but will get better with the reduced minutes....love him!

9. Api = 7= Some pretty decent service from the man in a no frills performance today.

10. Pole = 6 = I didn't see a lot of him but thought he ran the ball well when he did.

11. Sam Fainu = 8 = Very pleased to see him start the year on the right foot after an extremely slow start last year. Looked dangerous with every touch.....we so need more of this from him this year.....a very important player for us.

12. KPP = 8 = A superb club debut. I am so pleased that the man appeared to run hard first instead of looking to see who he could pass to. I didn't see an offload from him today which is a great insight into seeing what priority KPP had today....which was to simply run hard. Keep it up.....he can be an absolute weapon for us.

13. Twal = 6 = A typical Twal performance.....great defence. He had a couple of errors with the ball that needs his attention.

14. S Fainu = 6 = Some good impact when he came on with taking the ball up.

15. Hunt = 7 = He did pretty much what he is paid to do....impactful runs from the bench. I thought he made a very good impact.

16. Seyfarth = 4 Not his best....minimal impact.

17. Skelton = 8 = The forgotten man in our team really. I thought he was outstanding coming off the bench. He can be a VERY good winger.....his body has all too often got in the way of his career ambitions. I think he deserves to get the start against Souths next week.

Wizardman's 2026 Player of the Year Rankings

3= Luai
2 = Samuela Fainu
1. KPP

Nutz

Just watching the replay, Sione climbing up onto KPP's second try, was some feat? Hahaha
As much as I love it, Turuva is going to injury a player by jumping over the top of a player who scores and have another 11 all over the tryscorer.
It's bound to cause a serious injury one day so maybe all form a tunnel and one after another shake the scorers hand followed by three cheers and he's a jolly good fellow.

Nutz

1. Bula = 7 = Bula is clearly not going to be everybody's darling due to contract dealings, but I thought he contributed positively. He did some good things in attacking sets and took some nice, contested high balls. He had a decent first game.

2. Turuva = 7 = As always, played tough. Credit to him for filling in well at centre as well. Such a positive player to have in our team.

3. May = I won't score him as he was injured very early in the match.

4. Makasini = 5 = I will give him a pass mark but not an overwhelming one. He had some good, tough carries....but never really look a danger in attack. His defence was a bit on the inconvincing side as well. If we can, I'd play him on the wing next week to simplify things for him. I don't think he is an NRL standard centre at this point.

5. Lauilli = 3 = If you didn't watch the game, you'd think by looking at his stats, he had a great game. It was anything but though. The man has limp dicks for fingers (not for the first time in first grade), positions himself poorly in attack and a woeful defender. I know he has a cheerleader fan here, but Im okay with him dipping down the depth chart as far as our backs go. If we had a close game, he could have cost us the match. Drop him if possible.

6. Luai = 9 = I've been an absolute Luai critic. I've wanted him to keep and use those exit clauses in his contract as he has not performed to the pricetag.....but he did today. He was outstanding on both sides of the ball today. By far and away, his best performance in a Tigers jersey. Keep it up!

7. Doueihi = 7 = Not the standout Luai was....but had good moments as well. His running game in the halves will be crucial for us. Prior to last year, I've been a huge Doueihi critic but he is winning me over.

8. May = 7 = Supercoach fans would have hated it...but thank god we are not playing May until he is dead on the footy field so far. Less minutes is the way to go....his impact probably wasn't the best...but will get better with the reduced minutes....love him!

9. Api = 7= Some pretty decent service from the man in a no frills performance today.

10. Pole = 6 = I didn't see a lot of him but thought he ran the ball well when he did.

11. Sam Fainu = 8 = Very pleased to see him start the year on the right foot after an extremely slow start last year. Looked dangerous with every touch.....we so need more of this from him this year.....a very important player for us.

12. KPP = 8 = A superb club debut. I am so pleased that the man appeared to run hard first instead of looking to see who he could pass to. I didn't see an offload from him today which is a great insight into seeing what priority KPP had today....which was to simply run hard. Keep it up.....he can be an absolute weapon for us.

13. Twal = 6 = A typical Twal performance.....great defence. He had a couple of errors with the ball that needs his attention.

14. S Fainu = 6 = Some good impact when he came on with taking the ball up.

15. Hunt = 7 = He did pretty much what he is paid to do....impactful runs from the bench. I thought he made a very good impact.

16. Seyfarth = 4 Not his best....minimal impact.

17. Skelton = 8 = The forgotten man in our team really. I thought he was outstanding coming off the bench. He can be a VERY good winger.....his body has all too often got in the way of his career ambitions. I think he deserves to get the start against Souths next week.
I'd have AD and Luai the other way around, AD was mom for me.
Luke had a great game considering. Finally, prople are seing what he's capable of. I think that was his 9th first grade game which he failed to finish two from serious injuries, unsure??
He'll get better and I'm peeved that we are letting him go, cant keep em all but he's another pathway Goodin who's going.
Alex off loads came from solid running.
The rest look spot on.
P.s. I said it before the game that I don't like to see Turuva and Luke constantly bringing the ball out from deep into our territory.
Yesterday, on a coulple of occasions Hunt took the first hit up from near our try line and got great post contact metres, followed by Skelton who did the same then Fianu got it past halfway. Bang bang thankyou mam.
Benji also said in post conference that offloads come from anyone who runs with intent.

Wizardman

I'd have AD and Luai the other way around, AD was mom for me.
Luke had a great game considering. Finally, prople are seing what he's capable of. I think that was his 9th first grade game which he failed to finish two from serious injuries, unsure??
He'll get better and I'm peeved that we are letting him go, cant keep em all but he's another pathway Goodin who's going.
Alex off loads came from solid running.
The rest look spot on.
P.s. I said it before the game that I don't like to see Turuva and Luke constantly bringing the ball out from deep into our territory.
Yesterday, on a coulple of occasions Hunt took the first hit up from near our try line and got great post contact metres, followed by Skelton who did the same then Fianu got it past halfway. Bang bang thankyou mam.
Benji also said in post conference that offloads come from anyone who runs with intent.
Good coaching again by Benji. KPP at times in Wigan and Newcastle really played with a preconceived plsn on what to do with the ball rather than just running hard...which creates more quality opportunities to pass the ball anyway.
Hunt was extremely pleasing yesterday. He looks up for a big year.