Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The grand plan

BossyC

There is no universe in which an NRL team based in Fiji will work. They can't get sufficient revenue from international matches- and we are expecting people to show up on a weekly basis???
The people will show up, 100%. They are, as I said, absolutely mad about RU over there, and certainly watch the nrl where available. If there is any draw back on a proposed Fiji RL team, it would be a stadium and appropriate dressing/change room facilities. Training facilities for a Fiji side would also need upgrading.

Clarency2

And the market size of enough people with disposable incomes to generate ongoing matchday revenue and adequate sponsorship from local businesses and an expected increase in the tv deal.

Emphasis on that last one... It's a major roadblock for a second NZ team - which I am a supporter of.

so moronic out of date dinosaurs who only care about their own pockets, push back against holistic changes that will benefit the overall game and realistically will fill their pockets even more because more resources will be poured into it therefore raising the overall value but they dont want others to control it and would rather burn it to the ground then to reap the benefits of letting control go...

that about rigtht?

TheRam

I know Fiji pretty well. have lived there for a period. They are absolutely Rugby Union mad! In saying that, I'm pretty sure that RL would take off there, and a Fiji side would really interest the every day Joe Blow Fijian. I once spent time in a Fijian village, (koro) called Koro Navoci in Nadi. The village next to it was where Apisai and Inosai Toga who both played for the Dragons came from and called Koro Namotomoto. I was in Koro Navoci, the day they brought the body of Apisai back for burial. While a sad day obviously, I did get to meet Changa Langlands and Chook Raper.

I would go even as far to say that if the NRL admitted a Fijian team in right now Rugby League would supersede Union within a year or two(virtually overnight) and become the mega dominate sport in the country. I mean there would be nothing like it in all of the Pacifica. Having the first and only NRL team playing biweekly in their homeland would generate such an unparalleled sense of pride and excitement that it would be frenzy like. The sponsors and money would come in from everywhere. The buzz would be insane. NRL players would be so easy to recruit too. I mean how hard would it be to entice players and their families to move to an island paradise like Fiji? Not to mention the tourism bump for when your team is playing them for that awesome sport-cation we all love to have. The amount of kids that would instantly switch over to Rugby League would be unprecedented and infectious.

I really can't see much wrong with this idea and have been saying for a while now that Fiji is so under utilized from an RL development point of view. Ever since Parra got Semi Radradra I started to look into Fiji and realized that League could gain a significant asset and ally if we as a sport were smart enough to develop them correctly. I know this won't be happening anytime soon, but for mine as soon as we get Perth, PNG, Christchurch & maybe a 3rd Brisbane team sorted, Fiji should be the priority and as with the Hunters, introducing the Kaiviti Silktails into the NSW Cup in 2027 is a great second step (they are already competing in NSW junior comps) towards the grand plan. I would be aiming within a 10 year window from now.

But the sooner this sort of development and expansion happens I believe the better the game as a whole will be. There is no shortage of great athletes in Fiji. The trick is to get the best of them playing RL.

As for Adelaide? Well if we got all these new teams in and running successfully and the NRL is absolutely flying by that stage, then I think even a delusional AFL State like them would come to its senses somewhat (not all, cos stupid is stupid) and ask us for entry and what they can do to be part of the greatest razzmatazz football competition in the Southern hemisphere. One of my must haves for this to happen is a purpose built 40K rectangular(preferably with a roof or built so a roof can be added later) stadium on a trainline and very close to the city in a central location.

We can dream can't we?

TheRam

Hmm. While I am not too critical of V'Landys at this time, imvho, I would rather see his position and that of Abdo, held by reputable retired ex-players, or even coaches. Candidate for the future might be Ben Elias: A Balmain Tigers legend, Elias has a "powerful business CV". He was recently mentioned as a frontrunner to take over as Chairman of the Wests Tigers following a boardroom shakeup in late 2025,
Corey Payne: A former player who successfully transitioned into the corporate world, working with major companies like Amazon, demonstrating the business acumen required for executive roles.
Luke Keary: Still playing but highlighted in the 2023 Academic Team of the Year, Keary holds a Master of Business Administration (MBA) and a Certificate IV in Small Business, positioning him for a future role in rugby league administration.
The RLPA is actively supporting this transition, with former players like Joe Galuvao and Dale Finucane working to help past players move into managerial and transition roles.

Just my opinion.

I think you need to look into Benny Alias a little closer there mate and find that he was a huge reason for the Tigers demise not their savior. ;)

TheRam

There is no universe in which an NRL team based in Fiji will work. They can't get sufficient revenue from international matches- and we are expecting people to show up on a weekly basis???

Ye of little faith.

So many nay-sayers in regards to many initiatives, but then you have someone like V'Landys come in, a doer, and things just somehow happen. Hmmm...

TheRam

The people will show up, 100%. They are, as I said, absolutely mad about RU over there, and certainly watch the nrl where available. If there is any draw back on a proposed Fiji RL team, it would be a stadium and appropriate dressing/change room facilities. Training facilities for a Fiji side would also need upgrading.

Agreed, but as we know these types of logistical build issues, there will be money to build what is needed. Companies and governments will see the merit and move in appropriately.

I here China wants to setup military bases their. Albo, what are you going to do about it?

BossyC

I think you need to look into Benny Alias a little closer there mate and find that he was a huge reason for the Tigers demise not their savior. ;)
Understood what you say, I was though more thinking about having the nouse to be leading the game, as I believe the leaders should reputable retired former players.

Just did some research on Benny, and I see what you mean. The post of mine you answered to was from google. Apologies for not including that fact.

TheRam

Understood what you say, I was though more thinking about having the nouse to be leading the game, as I believe the leaders should reputable retired former players.

Just did some research on Benny, and I see what you mean. The post of mine you answered to was from google. Apologies for not including that fact.

All good. No worries mate.

Wb1234

Nrl grant will be around 30 million v a cap of 20 million by then

They could put an expansion team anywhere and it would be ok

And they would get govt assistance like the drua get

Gobsmacked

In a stagnant universe sure. But the universe is always moving, always changing.
PNG happened almost overnight on a 600 million dollar promise from the PM.
Fiji is in a far better position that PNG, safe reliable country that already hosts a Super Rugby franchise.

Can't get sufficient revenue.. until one day they do..

BossyC

Agreed, but as we know these types of logistical build issues, there will be money to build what is needed. Companies and governments will see the merit and move in appropriately.

I here China wants to setup military bases their. Albo, what are you going to do about it?
Agreed on the first issue. On the second, I would bet my house that will never happen. The Fiji government may play one against the other with Australia, which they have, to prompt Australia into doing more for our Island nation neighbours. Albo is awake to that, and I'm pretty sure we still have Fiji on side. I have spent some time in Fiji, and been to Tonga, (Nukualofa) Cook Islands, (Raratonga and Aitutaki) Samoa, (Pago Pago and Apia) and Tahiti, Bora Bora, Morea and Papeete, Tuamoto Archepelago (Manihi Atol) I was lucky enough to have spent time crewing a barquentine named "Eolus" from Panama across the Pacific to Sydney over a 5 month period. The Galapagos Islands was also one of our stops.

BossyC

1773880826299.png
This is the square rigged barquentine called "Eolus" Greek for " King of the Winds"

Clarency2

In a stagnant universe sure. But the universe is always moving, always changing.
PNG happened almost overnight on a 600 million dollar promise from the PM.
Fiji is in a far better position that PNG, safe reliable country that already hosts a Super Rugby franchise.

Can't get sufficient revenue.. until one day they do..

No it most certainly didn't. The situation that led to PNG admittance had enormous political weight behind it - hence the more than half a billion dollar investment. Fiji are not going to get that; and PNG will likely go insolvent once the government funding runs out in 10 years time (or whatever it is).

TheRam

Agreed on the first issue. On the second, I would bet my house that will never happen. The Fiji government may play one against the other with Australia, which they have, to prompt Australia into doing more for our Island nation neighbours. Albo is awake to that, and I'm pretty sure we still have Fiji on side. I have spent some time in Fiji, and been to Tonga, (Nukualofa) Cook Islands, (Raratonga and Aitutaki) Samoa, (Pago Pago and Apia) and Tahiti, Bora Bora, Morea and Papeete, Tuamoto Archepelago (Manihi Atol) I was lucky enough to have spent time crewing a barquentine named "Eolus" from Panama across the Pacific to Sydney over a 5 month period. The Galapago Islands was also one of our stops.

I was being sarcastic on the second one.

Wb1234

No it most certainly didn't. The situation that led to PNG admittance had enormous political weight behind it - hence the more than half a billion dollar investment. Fiji are not going to get that; and PNG will likely go insolvent once the government funding runs out in 10 years time (or whatever it is).
People saying png will go broke have no clue