Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round Three: The Roosters

Stinkfinger

Alamoti was the best junior in the world in his age group. Gus is an impatient moron for moving on so quickly but that's Gus
I think they were looking for savings to pay for Critta but Gus will tell you himself, he isn't a great judge of cattle.

BxTom

I'm not denying that Tom If fact if you look back over my past tweets I mention that at a regular basis. Gould did save the club, especially in the early years.

But this also happened. Both facts can be true and sit alongside each other.

The fact is in later years he created an atmosphere of tension and instability by poking his nose into things that weren't broken.
And you won't leave it alone. Same with the trolls you constantly feed them, wanting the last say (nost of which are in the dump ground). Soc gave us all a hint to back off so thar he could deal with it without escalating it further, but you kept going. Guess what, the internet doesn't need you to fix it.

BxTom

This is what everyone already thinks about Gus. Did great things is a brilliant football mind and operator but he also can go too far.
Yes, but some people revise it with "I know better". Just sick of a few people rehashing it . I apologise for my rant to some extent as I am stuck inside - tired and sick and doing steroid withdrawal. Just I am a believer in credit due and I don't like a couple of people rehashing it to put crap on people. Yes, he certainly has/had his faults as does Elliot and Hook, but they all added some good and are a part of our history. Cheers.

Aliceinwonderland

This is what he does. He wears out his welcome.

To be honest, A lot of administrators do this. Personally I'll never forget how Gus brought Penrith back from the brink. Perhaps his best appointment was Matt Cameron and Ivan Cleary.

We wouldn't have the academy without Gus's work either.

(edit much later) Tom, I'm sorry to hear about your steroid withdrawal. It's not easy,)

Aliceinwonderland

And you won't leave it alone. Same with the trolls you constantly feed them, wanting the last say (nost of which are in the dump ground). Soc gave us all a hint to back off so thar he could deal with it without escalating it further, but you kept going. Guess what, the internet doesn't need you to fix it

In my defense I didn't start the conversation about Gus. I replied to a comment that had already been made about Gus.
I see your latest comments are bordering on being personal. I don't often stick up for myself on this platform, but I will here and now.

I'm sorry that you're so upset about my comments about Gus. I attempted to be fair and even in my comments, not getting personal or unkind.

Jennifer.

Aliceinwonderland

In my defense I didn't start the conversation about Gus. I replied to a comment that had already been made about Gus.
I see your latest comments are bordering on being personal. I don't often stick up for myself on this platform, but I will here and now.

I'm sorry that you're so upset about my comments about Gus. I attempted to be fair and even in my comments, not getting personal or unkind.

Jennifer.

Soc......this possibly needs the dump thread also.

Whilst I'm at it Tom. I don't need you attempting to control what I say or for that matter how I say it.

'The troll' made his original comment on Wednesday 2.30pm. 10 OTHER PEOPLE commented before I did. I'll say it again 10.

Yet you come for me. You then warned us off at Thursday 9.05am. Then another 3 folks commented. I made MY FIRST comment at 3.05pm Thursday almost 24 hours later. Yet to came for me. I'm now starting to get a complex here, why single me out.........

That's something you perhaps need to consider.

Don't worry I'll get back into my box now, and attempt not to upset you further.

Girds89

The one thing i hate about the way people talk about Gus is that he doesnt care for his players and its just a business to him.

Everything over the years shows quite the opposite. Many former players under gus... some moved on by him reach out to him at a point in there careers where they may be struggling for form or game time or whatever.

He let many people leave when he was here just to get a better opportunity, even if it affected our depth and squad strength.

Many players catch up with him who played here to get his thoughts. Most recently jack hetherington but there have been many others. I think that shows the respect players had for him.

I dont buy into all the tinkering crap. Ciraldo is the head coach. If he wanted reed still there hed be there. If he didnt want galvin he wouldnt be there. If he still wanted sexton hed be there etc etc.

Gus will always be involved with helping his coaches bring in the best players that they think they need to win a comp... maybe just maybe ciraldo didnt like the style of reed mahoney for the style he wants to play... maybe ciraldo didnt think sexton had enough class to take them all the way. Maybe ciraldo and gus have doubts about burto as a world class 6 and brought galvin and woods to take them into the future as a young halves pairing that can be together for 10 years.

Players like yeo and edwards wouldnt be at the club if not for gus. Take those two out and the 4 peat never happens.

People think gus is some over bearing manager who just does what he wants with no regard for anyone else.. do you really think he made those decisions without any input or influence from ciraldo?!

Gus isnt perfect but hes easily one of the best club managers in modern day footy. He know what it takes to get a team to a title and hes not afraid to make tough or difficult decisions to get there. The dogs lack a star half like cleary and he knows they need that to eventually win a comp.. burto has had a long time in fg now and never really stamped his authority, especially in big games. The tinkering with the team is to win.

The losses of sexton and mahoney maybe seemed crazy especially when they were running top of the table, but does anyone really think that even with them in their side at their best, they beat penrith at their best??

No.. gus and ciraldo knows that and theyve made adjustments. Is it tinkering or is it trying to build a squad they can win a comp with.

But the idea he doesn't care for the players or whatever is ridiculous.

It was no doubt the right time for him to move on from penrith when he did. He put everything in its place for sucess. Granted he wasnt the one to bring ivan back but ivan certainly had everything required to succeed. I have no doubt had he stayed wed have still been successful.

Whether he will be at the dogs when they win another comp who knows but he will 100% leave the club in a 100x better place than what it was.

Back to lasts nights game....it never gets tiring smashing the chooks!!!

Kilkenny

A couple of observations from last night, first visit to Allianz for an NRL game it is a fantastic stadium. The facilities are terrific.

Good crowd for a 6pm Friday night game and kudos to our supporters we had a terrific representation I thought.

The Roosters had a bright start but once we got into the game we blew them off the park and probably could have put 50 plus on them but took the foot if the pedal a little.

There’s not much needs to be said about the performance it was very, very good.

Aliceinwonderland

The one thing i hate about the way people talk about Gus is that he doesnt care for his players and its just a business to him.

Everything over the years shows quite the opposite. Many former players under gus... some moved on by him reach out to him at a point in there careers where they may be struggling for form or game time or whatever.

He let many people leave when he was here just to get a better opportunity, even if it affected our depth and squad strength.

Many players catch up with him who played here to get his thoughts. Most recently jack hetherington but there have been many others. I think that shows the respect players had for him.

I dont buy into all the tinkering crap. Ciraldo is the head coach. If he wanted reed still there hed be there. If he didnt want galvin he wouldnt be there. If he still wanted sexton hed be there etc etc.

Gus will always be involved with helping his coaches bring in the best players that they think they need to win a comp... maybe just maybe ciraldo didnt like the style of reed mahoney for the style he wants to play... maybe ciraldo didnt think sexton had enough class to take them all the way. Maybe ciraldo and gus have doubts about burto as a world class 6 and brought galvin and woods to take them into the future as a young halves pairing that can be together for 10 years.

Players like yeo and edwards wouldnt be at the club if not for gus. Take those two out and the 4 peat never happens.

People think gus is some over bearing manager who just does what he wants with no regard for anyone else.. do you really think he made those decisions without any input or influence from ciraldo?!

Gus isnt perfect but hes easily one of the best club managers in modern day footy. He know what it takes to get a team to a title and hes not afraid to make tough or difficult decisions to get there. The dogs lack a star half like cleary and he knows they need that to eventually win a comp.. burto has had a long time in fg now and never really stamped his authority, especially in big games. The tinkering with the team is to win.

The losses of sexton and mahoney maybe seemed crazy especially when they were running top of the table, but does anyone really think that even with them in their side at their best, they beat penrith at their best??

No.. gus and ciraldo knows that and theyve made adjustments. Is it tinkering or is it trying to build a squad they can win a comp with.

It was no doubt the right time for him to move on from penrith when he did. He put everything in its place for sucess. Granted he wasnt the one to bring ivan back but ivan certainly had everything required to succeed. I have no doubt had he stayed wed have still been successful.

Whether he will be at the dogs when they win another comp who knows but he will 100% leave the club in a 100x better place than what it was.

Gus is a complex man. The writer Andrew Webster said it very well.

I know there are agenda's both ways, but I found this fascinating.

I'm not denying his skill and expertise.

TheEroticGamer

A lot of the hate towards Gus was manufactured by News Corp.

Oldpanther86

Yes, but some people revise it with "I know better". Just sick of a few people rehashing it . I apologise for my rant to some extent as I am stuck inside - tired and sick and doing steroid withdrawal. Just I am a believer in credit due and I don't like a couple of people rehashing it to put crap on people. Yes, he certainly has/had his faults as does Elliot and Hook, but they all added some good and are a part of our history. Cheers.

Mate have your say. Who cares if you bother anyone. I for one don't come hear to read my own opinion. If I wanted that I'd talk to the wife.

Goonji

A couple of observations from last night, first visit to Allianz for an NRL game it is a fantastic stadium. The facilities are terrific.

Good crowd for a 6pm Friday night game and kudos to our supporters we had a terrific representation I thought.

The Roosters had a bright start but once we got into the game we blew them off the park and probably could have put 50 plus on them but took the foot if the pedal a little.

There’s not much needs to be said about the performance it was very, very good.
How many fans attended the game live?

Iamback

A lot of the hate towards Gus was manufactured by News Corp.

They certainly don't like him, He forgets almost everything they say is recorded now.

Galvin comments are a good example, Everyone can see what he said. Chammas called him out on it, He didn't like it.
If that is his attitude on camera how is he off camera?

That allows people to run their agendas.

Oldpanther86

They certainly don't like him, He forgets almost everything they say is recorded now.

Galvin comments are a good example, Everyone can see what he said. Chammas called him out on it, He didn't like it.
If that is his attitude on camera how is he off camera?

That allows people to run their agendas.

Yeah people have positives and negatives. Gus is a wheeler and dealer for his club.