Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

R 3 Parra

matPORTS

I didn't comment on the first two games of the regular season, because I felt points I made in my assessment of the Charity Shield rang true.

Atkinson a work in progress. Seems to also be building a good understanding and combination with Gutho chiming in fron the back.

Hamish Stewart - one of our best on ground in both the opening games.

Luciano - we may finally see the best of him this year.

Happy with the effort of both our wingers. We need them to help take the pressure off our pack coming out of our red zone.

As we saw during the final 20min period last Saturday - if Gutho goes down at any stage, we are in real trouble (whether it's a temporary HIA or a longer term injury). Sloan will not be the answer for us in the 1.

Kyle F is not our 6, 7 or even 14 - frustratingly, Kade Reed is not ready, and I don't expect the coaching staff to be rushing him in.

While the rest of the pack has potential (Couchmans, LPT in particular) - until KK comes along with possibly another forward leader, right now we are stuck in limbo around how much natural progression we will make in the forward pack. It's a wait and see over the course of the season.

Lawrie & Guler - I'm still unsure what value these guys are bringing to warrant what seems to be permanent starting & bench spots in the forwards rotation (although I will say Guler had a decent enough outing in Vegas).

What does all of this mean? Well we've all seen it in the first two games, and for the vast majority of last year as well. We have steel and will compete most games, but we lack skill, x-factor & discipline (+ roster depth) in a number of key areas to get the job done consistently week in and week out.

This isn't just limited to the past season + first two rounds of this year... it's actually been an issue for the better part of the last 15 or so seasons now (as certain well known posters have also logically pointed out).

My each way prediction for Sunday:

Eels will either blow us off the park being their first home game of the year. Or, Dragons get home in a desperate nail biter in order to avoid going 0-3 to start the season.

thebigredv

Hey BigredV

I feel the exact same way as you feel about being berated for pointing out how poorly run, we are.

The posters who sometimes just want to talk footy or feel a bit of optimism are also being smashed for it.

Your points are more than valid, but it’s the constant unconstructive, harsh criticism from some that’s turning this place into a toxic misery contest.

After over 6,500 posts, I just don’t believe you are one of them. There is a balance.

I know you are a true fan who feels the losses just as hard as we all do.

But you won't get much enjoyment on this site when only the stressful, overly negative, posters remain.

Misery begats misery!
Good post.

Forget 6500 posts. I was on here as an og when it was the WORL forum...we just had a lot more good footy and footy players to chat those days. We kept ourselves as a relevant and crucial club to the comp. I can't help but compare back to 'glory days' which were far from perfect themselves

Let's face it, when we are losing we all seem to turn on each other. I'm a bit of a pessimist when things never change but I do like to see the positives.

Agree with all you said. Definitely still good to see guys talking footy and that's what it's all about in the end.

No chance. Be lucky to win 4 games all season with this pathetic roster.
Same old dribble from your mouth as usual- you remind me of the poor old gentleman that I shared a room with at Wagga hospital , dribbling all bloody day long .Mind you it was not that he could not wipe it away as the nurses would do it , the reason was that he had a lobotomy - you are not related by some chance ? ? ? :rolleyes:

I generally move past the negative posts, everyone is entitled to their opinion BUT i really enjoy Old Timer’s & other supporters posts that are passionate supporters & only give their view on how this team can improve without being negative or in some cases abusive. I joined this forum as i have supported the Dragons all my life & always will but I have at times question whether i continue to be involved with some of the negative comments made. We are all disappointed when their performance is below par but i am confident we are working towards better results. Those who are as old as me will remember when Penrith were the easybeats. Lets give the current management some time to get our club back to where we should be & performing like we should I may not see it but we live in hope. I will no doubt get some flack for my comments but so be it, its my opinion & I stand by them.
From memory the ‘ Chocolate Soldiers ‘ beat us in their first ever premiership outing . Cronulla Sutherland also joined that year , whether or not they were also able to register a victory I do not know ?

Redvdragons21

Same old dribble from your mouth as usual- you remind me of the poor old gentleman that I shared a room with at Wagga hospital .Mind you it was not that he could not wipe it away as the nurses would do it , the reason was that he had a lobotomy - you are not related by some chance ? ? ?
Tell me I’m wrong ? Haven’t achieved anything in over a decade and you’re defending this rabble. Stop talking tough on the internet you flog. 0-3 bring on 2028

From memory the ‘ Chocolate Soldiers ‘ beat us in their first ever premiership outing . Cronulla Sutherland also joined that year , whether or not they were also able to register a victory I do not know ?
f**k you Gareth I’ll start having nightmares all over again.

I was there that fateful day, it was round 4 but the 1st time we had played them.

Maurie Raper and Chook played against other and both scored tries.

It was a long, long drive home from Penrith with hardly a word said.

jeffdragon

To avoid negative posts, the club needs to reflect on some of its past decisions and take measures to ensure this type of decision is not repeated in the future.

The salaries of Lawrie, Sloan, and Kyle would more than cover the purchase of a leading fullback.

If we let a player go, we should replace him with a player of equal or better ability.

Junior players such as Bosstock should alway b retained.
We dont usually replace for a better player like other clubs do.
RTS might be on the market he'd be a good signing.

Tell me I’m wrong ? Haven’t achieved anything in over a decade and you’re defending this rabble. Stop talking tough on the internet you flog. 0-3 bring on 2028
My days of talking tough as you put it would certainly be over - that is if I have ever talked tough in my life . As in my day a man was judged by his actions and most certainly never , ever by his words .

You however are currently the tough man of the forum , a most hearty congratulations , not bad for a 16 year old whom has had the time of his life off late .

Now you say that there is an ignore option available to the true believers of the St.George Illawarra team , my grand son will be over tomorrow so I shall get him to discover where it is and use it .

So there will be no need for you to reply to any future posts by me . Now get to bed before the big bad bogey man attacks you .👹

twinkletoes

If we lose against the eels we’ll be last or second last on table… and season could be slipping away. Let’s hope not!!

I was there that fateful day, it was round 4 but the 1st time we had played them.

The dragons seemed to have welcomed a few clubs in the competition by losing ( not suggesting for a moment that was their intention ) their games to the new boys of the competition - I believe Newcastle also beat St.George in their initial premiership match .

Too young for that game but I had many long drives from 1971 onwards from Penrith Park with my dad in the days it took 2 hours to get back home to Kogarah after a loss lol

Redvdragons21

My days of talking tough as you put would certainly be over - that is if I have ever talked tough in my life . As in my days a man was judged by his actions and most certainly never , ever by his words .

You however are currently the tough man of the forum , a most hearty congratulations , not bad for a 16 year old whom has had the time of his life off late .

Now you say that there is an ignore option available to the true believers of the St.George Illawarra team , my grand son will be over tomorrow so I shall get him to discover where it is and use it .

So there will be no need for you to reply to any future posts by me . Now get to bed before the big bad bogey man attacks you .👹
This is footy related. You know nothing about me. Stay in your own lane you flog. Haven’t achieved anything in over decade and you’re defending this pathetic club. 0-3 old man

jeffdragon

If we lose against the eels we’ll be last or second last on table… and season could be slipping away. Let’s hope not!!
That's why i wanted us to win at least one of the first 3.
We are not other stronger clubs who we know will come back from it.
Us on the other hand are not the strongest .
With our roster and playing skill and style.

Redvdragons21

That's why i wanted us to win at least one of the first 3.
We are not other stronger clubs who we know will come back from it.
Us on the other hand are not the strongest .
With our roster and playing skill and style.
Been saying that for over a decade now. 0-3 club is cooked

since77

Even though I was a Dragons fan a lot of my early teen years was spent watching the Panthers play out at Penrith Park courtesy of the free pass all kids who played footy in the local competitions got. The Panthers in their Chocolate Soldiers jersey usually got beaten by whoever visited but the crowd was always right behind their side through those times when they were everyone's whipping boys. Its one of the reasons why I find it hard to be annoyed at how they have dominated this decade. They've always been my "second team".
It's also a reminder that times do eventually change and fortunes turn - hopefully our mob will soon be giving us something to be excited about.

This is footy related. You know nothing about me. Stay in your own lane you flog. Haven’t achieved anything in over decade and you’re defending this pathetic club. 0-3 old man
I politely suggest that if you bother to have a close look @Gareth67 you will see he is anything but a flog.

He is a long time poster providing insight, history and much needed comedy relief into this glorified Greek Tragedy.

It all got a bit personal but take a deep breath and try to understand that everyone loves this club albeit in different ways, and us older fans have been through far many more downs than the younger ones can even begin to imagine, however we do have the luxury of having seeing some of the glory from years gone by.

As a lifetime supporter and part of the furniture in this place now in his twilight years he doesn't need to be bullied by people that are here for nothing more than to throw a few hand grenades.

For the record it's actually 0-2 and you'll look silly if it comes up 1-2 so best don't count your chickens too early.

I agree Since 77 but i almost died last year so do you think they could move the change
of fortune along a bit even a finals berth maybe.
I put a laugh emoji in because I'm very much in that same boat and need things to turn around quickly.

I always thought that I might like to be buried but as a premiership is not likely to happen in my lifetime I might have to get cremated and get the grandson to take me in an urn if it ever happens in his lifetime.

It would be pretty f**ked up if one day a kid turns up at the GF with 3 urns as he goes through the baggage check.

Security Guard: What have you got here in your bag Young Harry?
Relative yet to be born: Oh that's just dad, grandpa & great grandpa they all wanted to be here when we play in a GF.

Dragonsteve2

I don’t normally get involved when comments become personal. But your comment quoted about Gareth is quite unreasonable and shows no understanding of the qualities he has revealed on this Forum through the 10 years I have been a member. Despite the anonymity of posters, the personality of regulars can be gleaned. And consistently Gareth has been one of the best, able to provide a laugh at his own expense when things get a little too serious and always providing a meaningful perspective on his experience of a long term fan. Like many valued posters on here, he has helped me maintain my support for the Dragons despite the slim pickings for the club in recent times.