Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Season 2026

Nutz

I’m pissed off about the scheduling of Thur nite @ the 8th.Any other day & id be there with bells on.
I think the knights will be tougher to beat than the broncos.If we win tom it will be a great opportunity to finally go on a proper streak
Are you relatively close to LO Ted?
I envy anyone who can go there.
I especially have fond memories of the Sunday arvo games with the gradual hype and energy that built up slowly as you got closer and closer to the entrance. It was sensational walk with the members and the enemy.
Friendly banter was had between rivals.
I doubt it has changed much since those days.
An upgrade awaits, but it still retains the hill and the old scoreboard.

Nutz

An issue in 2026 is starting to unfold.
Teams can now name six interchange players, but only four are allowed to enter the match, and the squad is only trimmed to the final 19 close to kick-off. That makes it much easier for a player to spend weeks around first grade without actually playing much football.
After doing some calculations, I've discovered that Tristan Hope has only played a total of 20 min footy this year in either KOE or the NRL. He played against Souths when he gave Api a spell. He's slso listed as 18th man against Newy tomorrow. Hope is a dummy half that requires fitness and heaps of body contact. It's probably the most dynamic position on the field regarding physicality. Players also risk injuries with the new extended bench.
I know that hope is not a marquee player but what if we were heading into the finals and Api goes down?
We would probably be ok because Latu has played dummy half before and has trained in that position prior his return from injury but it's something worth noting.
This extended bench might need some further managing that has not been an issue in the past. For example, could players like Afoa, Herbert, and Sukkar etc be effected.
Surely players like Hunt need a run every week. Big boppas lose fitness quickly if they are not regularly playing.

Tiger Ted

Are you relatively close to LO Ted?
I envy anyone who can go there.
I especially have fond memories of the Sunday arvo games with the gradual hype and energy that built up slowly as you got closer and closer to the entrance. It was sensational walk with the members and the enemy.
Friendly banter was had between rivals.
I doubt it has changed much since those days.
An upgrade awaits, but it still retains the hill and the old scoreboard.
I’m a 25 minute drive to the magnificent 8th.During the halcyon days of the 80’s when I hardly ever missed going to a game at LO I was only 10 mins away.It certainly holds enormous sentimental value.Theres no better sight than a packed & heaving hill in a sea of orange.

R1-bye
R2-Cows-LO-W
R3-Bunnies-A-L
R4-Wahs-A-W
R5-Slimes-A-W
R6 - Knights-H-W
R7 - Broncs-H
R8 - Faiders-H
R9 - Sharks-A
R10 - Storm-A
R11 - Sea Eagles-A
R12 - Bye
-----------
How good, they're all doable on current form.
But 3-4 more wins here and we are in a good spot, with the bye at the end of it.

R1-bye
R2-Cows-LO-W
R3-Bunnies-A-L
R4-Wahs-A-W
R5-Slimes-A-W
R6 - Knights-H-W
R7 - Broncs-H
R8 - Faiders-H
R9 - Sharks-A
R10 - Storm-A
R11 - Sea Eagles-A
R12 - Bye
-----------
How good, they're all doable on current form.
But 3-4 more wins here and we are in a good spot, with the bye at the end of it.
There's not a team out there out there that I don't think we can't compete with now. We've got the 2nd best defence and we look absolutely fit as the proverbial fiddle. We're starting to look very dangerous and composed in attack.

glockers

I’m pissed off about the scheduling of Thur nite @ the 8th.Any other day & id be there with bells on.
I think the knights will be tougher to beat than the broncos.If we win tom it will be a great opportunity to finally go on a proper streak
I hope with Luai back that gives us a chance to drop Hope back so he can get game time in NSW Cup. Api Latu Madden Doeuhii Luai should be enough halves and funny half cover l.

WHY TIGERS ARE NOW GENUINE TITLE CONTENDERS

Wests Tigers are not just a feel-good story.

The Tigers are genuine title contenders.

Recent history shows that if a team is placed in the top four after six rounds most often they don’t just end up playing finals, but finishing in the top four.

On the back of their 42-22 smashing of the Newcastle Knights, the Tigers are now joint competition leaders.

That is four wins from five games with their only loss to the Rabbitohs in round two (they also had the bye).

So heading into the Tigers’ round seven clash against the Broncos this Saturday, even if they don’t win the Tigers would need a massive 50-plus points differential swing against them to lose their spot in the top four after seven rounds.

Last year the top four after six rounds was Canterbury, Melbourne, Brisbane and Canberra. The Broncos of course played the Storm in the grand final, while the Raiders were minor premiers and the Bulldogs finished third.

927368_640x360_large_20260412183805.jpg

Tied 1st - Tigers blast past Knights | 03:11

The season before it was Cronulla, Melbourne, Canberra and North Queensland. Eventual premiers Penrith were sixth at that point, beating the Storm in the grand final, while the Sharks finished fourth, the Cowboys fifth, but the Raiders missed the eight.

In 2023 the top four after six rounds was Brisbane, Penrith, Melbourne and Dolphins. That was the year the Panthers beat the Broncos in the grand final, the Storm made the prelim final, while the Dolphins missed the eight.

But you get the point?

The Tigers aren’t just the story of the moment.

They have now put themselves in a position where they command respect.

Not only is the brand of footy Benji has them playing full of fun, flair, energy and excitement, it is also winning football.

On what we saw from the Tigers against the Knights it just confirms that the players are starting to realise that anything is possible no matter where they are attacking on the field.

Sunday’s game wasn’t just a clash between a perennial basket case and last year’s wooden spooners.

It was a clash between two teams that went into the round placed in the top four, and the Tigers won comfortably.

No doubt the Knights were missing some handy players in Kalyn Ponga, Dylan Brown and Bradman Best.

But Jarome Luai is also the Tigers’ $1.2 million marquee man.

And the thing about the Tigers this year is that they no longer look for excuses, they find answers.

The answer in Luai’s absence has been Jock Madden.

If Luai is fit for the Broncos, I maintain I’d play him in the halves with Madden and move Adam Doueihi to the centres.

Whatever way Benji goes, it’s a great headache to have.

Api Koroisau, 31, is also still playing as good a football as we’ve seen from him in years, while Doueihi is an absolute marvel for a bloke who has come through three knee reconstructions.

While the Broncos were brave in the loss to the Cowboys without Reece Walsh, Ben Hunt and Adam Reynolds, the Tigers have the talent and the tenacity to cause an upset here.

You don’t have to be a Tigers to be enjoying this.

It reminds me of watching the Raiders last year.

And the Raiders ended up winning the minor premiership before their luckless run in the finals.

The Tigers are every bit as capable to be the giant killers of 2026.

--------------
Everyone loves a winner.

I still think we should have won the bunnies game as well.

I agree but we also have to put the ladder into perspective. Penrith have 5 wins. Warriors, Cowboys, Knights and us all have 4 wins. Our for and against is 3rd best.

The Tigers are every bit as capable to be the giant killers of 2026.

This is a bit over the top as well. We just finished round 6 and we have Broncos, Raiders, Sharks and Manly up until our next bye.

In stating that our forwards have been fantastic. Our middle forwards are all weapons and our edge forwards are extremely good. Add to that our spine has been pretty good. AD, Bula, Api and Madden have been exceptional. Luai has been injured but he is a weapon.

Our outside backs with a lot of injuries and using our juniors have been more than good enough.

I can see improvement in this team. I think our outside backs can be a strength of this team. I think Luai may even spark our attack more.

As of todays top 6 sides:
We've beaten, Wahs, Knights & Cows.
Lost to the bunnies, I still think we were robbed.
And yet to play the pennies.

An amazing turn around.